We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
GHT Balmes Hotel, Apartaments & Splash
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Neptuno & Apartments(Calella)(Great Value!)
$61
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Kaktus Playa(Calella)(Great Value!)
$67
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Hotel Volga(Calella)(Great Value!)
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$56
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Hotel Mar Blau(Calella)(Great Value!)
$54
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$53
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Hotel Bernat II(Calella)(Great Value!)
$137
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Les Palmeres(Calella)(Great Value!)
$65
$59
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$82
$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
GHT Hotel Maritim(Calella)(Great Value!)
$55
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (322)
Filter reviews
322 results
Traveler rating
64
153
63
27
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
64
153
63
27
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsquiet areareception staffpool barair connice hotelself cateringminute walkno trouble gettingfew issuesgirls holidaytable tenniswe stayed half boardevening mealdouble roomshops barskids poollong weekend
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
105 - 110 of 322 reviews
Reviewed August 19, 2012

booked weeks holiday in short notice in august and would reccomend this hotel. clean , spacious room with big terrace and friendly staff. good entertainment for kids,good food.nice outdoor pool close to city centre and beach. will visit again

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank halik1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josep_Gibert, Director of Sales at GHT Balmes Hotel, Apartaments & Splash, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2012

Dear guest,

We are very glad to thank you very much for the time it took you to write these comments. As our goal is to keep improving our services, for us is very important the feedback from our customers and so be able to get continuous improvement. As we want to know the needs and dislikes of our customers, we are doing a continuous, comprehensive monitoring of feedback from you, both in establishment and on-line.

In the Hotel Balmes in Calella and also in the rest of the GHT Hotels hotels, a high rate of customers repeat every year and this fills us with pride, but we are not satisfied and we strive every day, so our guests can get with us a great vacation.

Again, thanks for your kind remarks and look forward to see you soon again in the Hotel Balmes or in any other of our hotels located along the Costa de Barcelona-Maresme and Costa Brava.

Josep Gibert
Commercial Manager
GHT Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Booked this hotel for 4 nights as a last minute holiday. Was expecting a quadruple room, staying on room only basis and was delighted to find that we had been given a 1 bedroom apartment, with kitchen area. Apartment wasn't huge but was big enough for what we required and there were 5 of us!! Myself, my husband and our 3 children, aged 6, 4 and 8 months. (We had told a little lie when we booked and said we only had 2 children, as they wouldn't let us book a room for 5, but upon arrival they didn't bother at all.) A cot had been placed in our room as requested and the staff were all friendly and very helpful. We found that everything in the apartment worked well and we found it clean upon our arrival.
The surrounding area to the hotel is quite residential and very 'Spanish'. This suited us well, but if you like to go on holiday to places that sell egg and chips and The Sun newspaper, you would struggle here. There are bars, restaurants and shops very close by, but they are all Spanish and all menus are in Spanish and Catalan only, although many have photos so you have some idea of what you are asking for. Luckily the word 'pizza' seems to be the same in most languages which served our kids well, whilst we were able to go for more traditional tapas.
The beach is a short walk away and is gorgeous. The train station is also only about 10 minutes walk away, where you can get the train to Barcelona for around 8 euros. It takes about an hour. A half hour walk will take you to the centre of the resort of Calella which is much more tourist orientated. Here you will find many bars, restaurants with english menus and a McDonalds!!
Thought The Hotel Balmes was a great little hotel. Good value for the price you pay. Good facilities, especially for kids (outdoor playground, indoor soft play area, games and jigsaws, arcade games, pool). The swimming pools were lovely. Can't comment on the food there as we didn't eat in the hotel. Good location for an authentic Spanish holiday.
Only down sides to the hotel - balcony was very small and you do not get your apartment cleaned or beds made, they just give you clean towels. If this allows them to keep the prices down, then that is fine by me.
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MKEDSManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josep_Gibert, Director of Sales at GHT Balmes Hotel, Apartaments & Splash, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2012

Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you the time it took you to write these comments. As our goal is to keep improving our services, for us is very important the feedback from our customers and so be able to get continuous improvement.

As we want to know the needs and dislikes of our customers, we are doing a continuous and comprehensive monitoring of feedback from you, both in establishment and on-line.

In Hotel Balmes in Calella and also in the rest of the GHT Hotels, a high rate of customers repeat every year and this fills us with pride, but we are not satisfied and we strive every day, so our guests can get with us a great vacation.

Again, thanks for your kind remarks. We look forward to see you soon at the Hotel BALMES or to any other hotel of our group, located along the Costa de Barcelona-Maresme and Costa Brava.

Josep Gibert
Commercial Manager
GHT Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

I was disappointed with my stay here for a number of reasons. Firstly, the reviews on tripadvisor were overwhelmingly positive.

The hotel is very basic and dated. Most things barely work, like the air conditioning and hot water (only hot in the morning). The staff literally don't care about your holiday experience and for the most part ignore you. Their local knowledge is non-existent.

The food is simply appalling. To be honest the food is so good and non expensive in Calella that it's not a problem.

Positives are swimming pool with good shading.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happydaz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josep_Gibert, Director Comercial at GHT Balmes Hotel, Apartaments & Splash, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2012

Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you the time it took you to write these comments. As our goal is to keep improving our services, for us is very important the feedback from our customers and so be able to get continuous improvement. As we want to know the needs and dislikes of our customers, we are doing a continuous and comprehensive monitoring of feedback from you, both in establishment and on-line.

In Hotel Balmes in Calella and also in the rest of the GHT Hotels, a high rate of customers repeat every year and this fills us with pride, but we are not satisfied and we strive every day, so our guests can get with us a great vacation.

We would like to say that all the reviews in TripAdvisor reflects the opinion of several persons, as your opinion reflects your impression of the hotel. In our opinion you should not say that the reviews are "overwhelmingly positive" because this is only your opinion which we respect and ask you please to respect the opinion of the other clients.

Air conditioning works perfectly fine, as these past days we have had very high temperatures and nobody has complained about it.
We can't understand your opinion about the staff, as all of them have been working in Balmes for, at least, 10 years and they are very well considered by our guest (an important number of them coming bakc every year), as we can see in our internal surveys and in review pages such this one.

The same with the food. Most of our guests do like and enjoy our food, as it is fresh and daily cooked and good quality. We always try to make a menu that suits everyone and every nationality but this is hard to reach, due to the several cultures we host. But food is never "appalling" as you point in your review.

Again, thanks for your kind remarks. We look forward to see you soon at the Hotel BALMES or to any other hotel of our group, located along the Costa de Barcelona-Maresme and Costa Brava.

Josep Gibert
Commercial Manager
GHT Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Hotel was clean,the staff were very friendly,entertainment was good,the breakfast could have been better but that could just be us being fussy,the swimming pool was decent enough & a good mix of nationalities that stay there.
Some previous reviews state that the walls are thin but we had no problems as such.
There is a long stretch of shops just 5 mins walk away containing some good places to eat & also some not so good, if you like authentic pizza's then you must go to Don Carlo's but do not go to places that advertise Pizza D'Angelo as they are horrible!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank review092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josep_Gibert, Director Comercial at GHT Balmes Hotel, Apartaments & Splash, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2012

Dear guest,

We are very glad to thank you very much for the time it took you to write these comments. As our goal is to keep improving our services, for us is very important the feedback from our customers and so be able to get continuous improvement. As we want to know the needs and dislikes of our customers, we are doing a continuous, comprehensive monitoring of feedback from you, both in establishment and on-line.

In the Hotel Balmes in Calella and also in the rest of the GHT Hotels hotels, a high rate of customers repeat every year and this fills us with pride, but we are not satisfied and we strive every day, so our guests can get with us a great vacation.

Again, thanks for your kind remarks and look forward to see you soon again in the Hotel Balmes or in any other of our hotels located along the Costa de Barcelona-Maresme and Costa Brava.

Josep Gibert
Commercial Manager
GHT Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We have just got back from 10 days stay and I would recommend this hotel to anyone.
There is a problem with thin walls which I read on previous reviews, we could have a normal conversation with our children in the next room via the bathroom but the food was very good, plenty of choice, fruit particularly good. We were leaving at 6.30am which was before breakfast so asked the evening before for something to take along with us which was plentiful and saved us buying anything at the airport. Staff were courteous and hardworking, rooms cleaned to a high standard, aircon very quiet and free along with good wifi reception. Plenty of sunbeds but we did notice that it was getting busier as our stay continued so it may be a problem in high season. There were lots of German students staying but they were no problem, leave going to Dinner until 8pm as they are first in at 7.30 after their debrief/planning next day so you will have to queue if you do.
All in all a really nice and relaxing break, will return again as we really like Calella, it is our second visit.

Room Tip: We were on 4th Floor overlooking outside bar area so got afternoon sun. Downside is the lift only goes to 3rd so you have to drag your case up one flight on stairs.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jakkles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josep_Gibert, Director Comercial at GHT Balmes Hotel, Apartaments & Splash, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2012

Dear guest,

We are very glad to thank you very much for the time it took you to write these comments. As our goal is to keep improving our services, for us is very important the feedback from our customers and so be able to get continuous improvement.

As we want to know the needs and dislikes of our customers, we are doing a continuous, comprehensive monitoring of feedback from you, both in establishment and on-line.

In the Hotel Balmes in Calella and also in the rest of the GHT Hotels hotels, a high rate of customers repeat every year and this fills us with pride, but we are not satisfied and we strive every day, so our guests can get with us a great vacation.

Again, thanks for your kind remarks and look forward to see you soon again in the Hotel Balmes or in any other of our hotels located along the Costa de Barcelona-Maresme and Costa Brava.

Josep Gibert
Commercial Manager
GHT Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews