We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
H.TOP Calella Palace
Ranked #23 of 43 Hotels in Calella
Poole, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not bad”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed for 10 nights from the 22nd of July, We arrived at 10pm tired and stressed, as a family of 5 we were supposed to have a room with two double beds and a cot, we were accually give two rooms with a joining door, one room had two showers and a jacuzzi bath! and they other had a shower and a bath! and they were huge!! first massive thumbs up. Yes there was a lot of noise but as we had read the reviews we took ear plugs and asked for a quiet room. It didnt effect our holiday at all!
The card systems is a blood pain. You have an all inc card and a drinks card each. now when you have three kids and two adults thats a lot of cards 10! when you go the bar they swipe the all inc card and keep the drinks card. when you bring the glasses back they give you the drinks card back.

The entertainment was so bad but so bad that it was hilarious! lol. We dont go on holiday for all that anyway.

There is an easy 5-10 minute straight walk down to the beach which is great fun for the older kids as the waves break on the shore so my boys loved getting knocked over! (shorts came down a few times though! ha ha) There is also a Top hotels bar on the beach, not free but 50% off with your all inc cards)

The Pool at the hotel is great but most of the seating area is in the shade until around 3pm. we did the beach in the morning and the pool in the afternoon.

No problems what so ever with the students!

If you have little ones a trip to Marine Land is a must! we did the first day at 117euros and they had an offer if you want to come back it was only 45! Great day out and loads for little and big ones! Take a packed lunch from the hotel that you can book the day before though as its mega expensive for everything. The packed lunch from the hotel was lovely.

All in all a great holiday not luxury but what do you expect

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lucy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,913 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    558
    529
    294
    269
See reviews for
664
625
52
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

This has to be the worst hotel in Calella. I moved out after 2 nights to the Amaika which to be fair was very nice, clean, quiet and everything the Calella Palace is not. Why the Calella Palace is advertised as a 4 star and family hotel is beyond me, it's full of German kids while I was there and I had no sleep. Just basically a hotel which isn't for families or people wanted a relaxing break. You've been warned so enter at your own peril.

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
5 Thank JHarvey6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Calella hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Stayed here for two weeks this is over crowded two star hotel the food all I can say it is like a soup kitchen the bar staff are rude they say it is a four star family hotel this is not the case two star youth hostel this not a place to take kids the thing good I could say it was clean stay away the management need to get a grip

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Colmnierland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Advertised as 4 star suitable for families. This is simply not true, to fill beds they are packing the place with very large numbers of mainly German students in the 15 to 17 age range on 3 day breaks. They are unsupervised and behave very badly. The staff can't cope with the dynamics of very large groups 30 or more all wanting a drink or meal at the same time. This destroys the place as one where you can relax and chill out. Worst is yet to come as the building has the acoustic qualities of rice paper, every noise and I will not go into detail can not only be heard from adjoining rooms but those above and below. The students go out late get drunk and high on drugs then return between 1 and 4:30 in the morning . They exercise no restraint in noise level so we spent a week with massive sleep deprivation, several other holidaymakers flew home early. If you fancy an up-market youth hostel and enjoy sleeping off the effects of drink on the beach during the day so as to recharge the batteries to annoy the rest of the world during the night then this is ideal.

It is unbelievable that this company is indulging in this practice which I feel is at best very poor customer service and boarders on unethical business practice. I feel sorry for the staff who could be forgiven for being a tad grumpy given the actions of their employers. The only employee that was trying to maintain H-Top's reputation was the night manager who single handed was evicting noisy students from their rooms and keeping them in reception until they sobered up, he had some bottle.

Food was ok and rooms were clean and kept so by an excellent housekeeping staff.

Room Tip: best rooms are in other hotels
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jeffrey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

What's I liked!

1. The resort had a wide selection of pools for you to choose from
2. There are activities such as tennis, golf, karting at hand.

What I didn't like (apologies for grumbling, but I think people should be aware)

1. The staff were very unhelpful
2. The reception desk is at least a five minute walk away (depending on your accommodation block). There is absolutely no help within the apartments
3. You cannot get a sunbed at any time - my daughter had tonsillitis whilst we were away and I had to seek help at 6am. During my walk to the reception desk I noticed people placing their beach towels on the sunbeds at this early hour
4. The pool water was rather dirty
5. You have to queue for ages to get a drink as there was only one person serving behind the bar during my whole time there
6. It is very difficult to hire a fan - extreme shortage perhaps which makes me think they need to purchase some and maybe extra sunbeds too
7. This really is a very basic holiday location: chips, kebabs and tatty holiday souvenirs!

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the lower floors as we were absolutely roasting on the seventh. Make a list...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tiffany c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtownabbey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

i have been here 3 times with friends and each experience has been different but never bad. they do have a policy now were you can only get 2 drinks at a time so in a larger group it's a bit of hassle however for the cost it is clean, the food is more than edible and the staff can be very funny! on the last occasion we ended up being double booked so we only had 1 room instead of 2 on arrival. the staff were so helpful and within 10 mins we had a taxi to take all of us to the Amika for one night. they didn't even split us up. taxi back the next morning was arranged with no problems and the rest of the holiday was great fun

Room Tip: haven't had a problem in any of the rooms i've been in
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Berta0585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Have just had a holiday here with a friend. We loved our time here, food was good and it was so central to the town and beach. We were drinking good quality Cava on All Inclusive, which is not usually part of the package. There is wine and beer on tap in the restaurant which was very pallatable. Yes, there were a lot of German students but they didn't bother us at all, in fact I quite like to see young people enjoying themselves. There was a great mix of people and we met some that were good company and good fun. There were 2 double beds in the room which was kept very clean and toiletries replenished every day. The walls were thin but if that's all there is to complain about, lucky you. Pool area was kept clean, and the sunbeds were really comfy. Perhaps the only negative was they didn't supply pool towels.The beach is beautiful with lots of bars actually on the beach with live entertainment at night. Hotel entertainment......apart from a very professional magician one night, it was absolutely terrible!! It was so bad it was funny, with people in hysterics (including us). The most I've laughed in a long time. Perhaps the management should look in on it one night!! Just because you are qualified to do kids club during the day doesn't make you a dancer and entertainer at night. We had the feeling they'd been pushed into it. All in all a really good holiday with lots to do and fab weather. Don't listen to the moaners, makes me wonder what sort of a mansion they live in at home......................One more thing, there is a bar on the beach called Blue Bar which no- one tells you about. You can use your all inclusive there and get reduced price sun beds and loungers.

Room Tip: Choose a room as high as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pauline1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calella
0.2 mi away
H.TOP Amaika Superior
H.TOP Amaika Superior
#9 of 43 in Calella
1,347 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kaktus Playa
Hotel Kaktus Playa
#2 of 43 in Calella
400 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel President
Hotel President
#4 of 43 in Calella
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
H.TOP Pineda Palace
H.TOP Pineda Palace
#6 of 17 in Pineda de Mar
700 reviews
11.1 mi away
H.TOP Royal Star & SPA
H.TOP Royal Star & SPA
#87 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
1,802 reviews
10.8 mi away
H.TOP Royal Beach
H.TOP Royal Beach
#63 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
2,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H.TOP Calella Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H.TOP Calella Palace

Property: H.TOP Calella Palace
Address: Carrer Maria Cardona S/N, 08370 Calella, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Calella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Calella
#7 Luxury Hotel in Calella
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Calella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — H.TOP Calella Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 339
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The H·TOP Calella Palace hotel is located just off in the beach in Calella. The all-inclusive resort is in a great setting surrounded by a number of attractions including shops, restaurants, bars and a lot of cultural activities. The hotel is equipped with a number of facilities including a large outdoor swimming pool with a separate pool for children. Surrounding the pool is a large sun terrace equipped with sun loungers. The hotel also features an indoor pool and a roof top terrace with plunge pool offering stunning views over Calella and the coast. Rooms at the Calella Palace are bright and air-conditioned, with a balcony and satellite TV. All have a private bathroom with a hairdryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your H.TOP Calella Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
h Top Hotel Calella
Calella Hotel Palace
Calella Palace Hotel
Calella Palace Spain
Calella Palace Calella
Hotel Top Calella Palace
Top Palace Calella
h Top Calella Palace
Hotel Calella Palace Calella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing