We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Truth about "Calella Palace"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
H.TOP Calella Palace
Ranked #23 of 43 Hotels in Calella
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Truth about "Calella Palace"”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

What can I say, well just got back after 1 week staying here, it was full of German students and rude guests! I went with my best friend and 2 daughters 16 & 19 the resort and beach was lovely, we had a fab holiday but only because we made it that way, I would strongly recommend if you want to rest at night and get some sleep then stay away, we only averaged 3 hrs sleep at night due to the noise of the young guests coming in at all hours. The bar staff are rude, reception not much better but the cleaners were lovely and rooms were spotless, the food was good enough to keep us going, drinks card was a nightmare but you just get on with it, entertainment was, well they tried but we went into Calella most nights to the beach bars. This is lucky if it is a 2* hotel 3 yr pushing it, I went to Corfu in a Thompson 4* in July and there was no comparison, so yes we had a fantastic time but no I would never ever return I don't go on holiday to be rude to kept up all night and if I had wanted a youth hostel we would av booked one. Be very careful what you pay we payed £298 for a week some guests paid up to £600 but I think if you pay anymore than £300 you have been robbed as it is not worth anymore! Oh and no lifeguard at the pool in you have small children. (WALLS ARE PAPER THIN YOU CAN HEAR EVERY LITTLE THING FROM NEXT DOOR!!!!!!! EVAN UN ZIPPING A SUITCASE!!!!! sHOCKING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RachelBartup73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,852 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    534
    511
    283
    263
See reviews for
639
608
51
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norway
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Went here on a group trip in June... Hotel looked good when we entered, the staff is friendly, but when you get to the corridors leading to the rooms you see that it is really a run down and tired place. The room was clean, and spacious, also the bathroom- thats why it get two stars, BUT : PAPERTHIN walls - you could hear everything!! I can sleep through a bomb,( had to be wakened before cancersurgery- no pills ;) ) - but was kept awake every night, listening to people snore, puke and you could hear things from both way over you, and beside you...It is also a place where teens go to stay for a party holiday obviously....And the food...they use some bacon substitute, and the juices are purely concentrate...I think they had little fruits to choose from etc.. It is the worst hotel I have stayed in, and I have tried a few...Just dont go- find another!! Callela is a beautiful place and worth a visit!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marithja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Calella hotels

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a weeks stay all inclusive. The hotel itself is not too bad..... Rooms are very large with 2 double beds and were spotless, hotel possition is excellent 5 mins to shops and bars and 10 mins to beach. The food at the start was good but got very repetitive and boring towards end of week. Hotel staff are so so.... Some nice some miserable! Entertainment at night is very poor and not worth watching! The big thing that lets this hotel down is the guests and by guests i mean german students running wild! No consideration for other guests when running and screaming down corridors at 4am! Very rude, pushing in front of ques not making way on stairs etc, can understand why some of the staff of miserable when they get no please or thankyous! Overall this hotel was good enough for what we paid, would i return? Probs not! Or if i did would make sure it wasnt the same time as the students had there holidays!!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank leebec10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunderland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 9, 2013

stayed here for a week from the 26th june to the 3rd of july I found the staff very rude and ignorant had I phone 5 stolen and staff didn't want to no. Rooms were clean and comfortable but air conditioning only came on at intervals it was turned off at 12 and the hotel was full of youths who were very noisy which didn't help when the balcony door was open. The walls were very thin could here everything in the rooms next door. The food was poor my children could eat it so for all I was all inclusive still had to eat out most of the time found the food wasn't good for children. There wasn't much entertainment for children definetly wouldn't recommend the place and wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I stayed here for a week between 27th June and 4th July,with my wife and 2 children aged 9 and 15, on arrival I was pleased with the hotel, the rooms were comfortable and clean, the staff friendly and the food was very nice, however on day 3 hundreds of teenage German youths turned up, and sadly the holiday went downhill from there. They were rude ignorant and intimidating, pushing in constanly and basically taking over the bar and communual areas, the last 3 nights were horrendous with said youths out on balcony playing music till 5am , shouting across balconies at 3 am and running around shouting and banging doors at 6am , this wasnt helped with the aircon being turned off at 12:00 every night and having to leave balcony door open slightly,it really is a shame , very disappointed as could have been a fantastic holiday

Room Tip: If you want a good nights sleep even only a couple of hours pick another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Richie Voltan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here as a last minute holiday with my girlfriend.it had a pool on the roof, and 3 at ground level and a couple inside too. There was a sauna and jacuzzis and indoor pool if weather was rubbish. Nightlife was catered for kids though and the walls are very thin(great if you like lying there listening to people's conversations), food was excellent, and so much choice. Very quiet place so not for a lads or lasses holiday . If your with kids it's ideal.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrBenBurnley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timisoara, Romania
1 review
Reviewed July 5, 2013

!!! THE HOTEL IS NOT ONE OF 4 STARS !!!

Rooms have thin walls without phonic isolation - it hear any noise from near rooms, including any normal conversation; you don't have intimity and the nights become insuportable - without being able to sleep if any neighbor see Tv, or talk in a whisper with partner of room.
If you have the misfortune that in your period of stay to be accommodated near your room childrens or youngs with "lust for life", your nights will be whites - without being able to sleep - and your nerves will be tense. Staff not maintain the silence in hotel area.
In the rooms you have a old type Tv, but one of just 37 cm diagonal, with CRT and the existing infraredcontrol is a simply one, without timer to stop, or other facilities (have just start, stop, programs and volume); have a small number of Tv programs, specialy in Spanish language.
Yes, the rooms have air conditioners, but there work only in the periods when hotel staff consider to start the system, specialy in the midle of the day.
In the bath, the dish tub is narrow.
If you need to be three persons in a room, or sleeping all three in two bonded bads, or you have another mattress, narrowest, that you can sit on the floor. So, you pay 3 places in a room, but in this case the beds are not as wide how they say. The conditions are not the same for 2 or 3 persons in a room.
Otherwise, the rooms are OK.

All iclusive system is provided only based on two cards that must-have with you permanently; one of these is for your recognition and the other one is for glass warranty (remain at the bar until you return the glass).
You have much food, in large variety, but not very tasty, and the drinks and juices are not very good quality.

In all spaces of the hotel, the smoking is forbidden; smoking is permitted only outdoors, but surprise, the outdoor space of bar opens only at 10 o’clock, practicly you don’t have the possibility to drink a cofee while smoking a cigarette.
Outdoor bar space have just 24 tables with 4 chairs eachone, total 96 places for over 330 rooms.
In the early days of July 2013, in the outdoor space speakers don’t work, and under them were hung deflated balloons.
If you want to drink a good wine, bought of you from another place, and smoke a cigarette, with your friends, is not possible in the outdoor bar space, just in a room or on a balcony, or … in other place.
In the last day, you must to leave the room at 10 o’clock, and the all inclusive card will be inactive to 12 o’clock. The dinner is between 13 and 15 o’clock.

Pools are too small for over 330 rooms.

You pay for other services, like Wi-Fi, safe in your room, resort fee.

The beach is at a distance of 600 meters from the hotel, OK when you go, but when you return to the hotel, tired …

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TuristRomania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calella
0.2 mi away
H.TOP Amaika
H.TOP Amaika
#9 of 43 in Calella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,292 reviews
1.9 mi away
H.TOP Pineda Palace
H.TOP Pineda Palace
#5 of 17 in Pineda de Mar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bernat II
Hotel Bernat II
#7 of 43 in Calella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kaktus Playa
Hotel Kaktus Playa
#1 of 43 in Calella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
11.1 mi away
H.TOP Royal Star & SPA
H.TOP Royal Star & SPA
#90 of 125 in Lloret de Mar
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,733 reviews
10.8 mi away
H.TOP Royal Beach
H.TOP Royal Beach
#76 of 125 in Lloret de Mar
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H.TOP Calella Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H.TOP Calella Palace

Property: H.TOP Calella Palace
Address: Carrer Maria Cardona S/N, 08370 Calella, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Calella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Calella
#7 Luxury Hotel in Calella
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Calella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — H.TOP Calella Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 339
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The H·TOP Calella Palace hotel is located just off in the beach in Calella. The all-inclusive resort is in a great setting surrounded by a number of attractions including shops, restaurants, bars and a lot of cultural activities. The hotel is equipped with a number of facilities including a large outdoor swimming pool with a separate pool for children. Surrounding the pool is a large sun terrace equipped with sun loungers. The hotel also features an indoor pool and a roof top terrace with plunge pool offering stunning views over Calella and the coast. Rooms at the Calella Palace are bright and air-conditioned, with a balcony and satellite TV. All have a private bathroom with a hairdryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your H.TOP Calella Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
h Top Hotel Calella
Calella Hotel Palace
Calella Palace Hotel
Calella Palace Spain
Calella Palace Calella
Hotel Top Calella Palace
Top Palace Calella
h Top Calella Palace
Hotel Calella Palace Calella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing