We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
H.TOP Calella Palace & Spa
Ranked #24 of 43 Hotels in Calella
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Stayed at the HTOP Amaika, which was fantastic but ate here on a couple of occasions, as it was included as we stayed All Inclusive. The food extremely good at the Calella Palace and the hotel itself is very tidy and clean. After enjoying a good lunch here I would recommend you relax on the roof terrace which is equipped with hot tubs and bars and the view is awesome. HTOP have 3 hotels in this area and this is the 2 very very good of the HTOP, just DO not stay at the Olympic.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Markdubya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,953)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

590 - 596 of 1,953 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2013

cheapie holiday,you have to expect wot you pay for, all the meals were very good, plenty of choise,meat fish and plenty of salads,also sweets very good,staff very pleasant,hotel very clean and tidy, went a.i so drinks were free but you could pay for the better drinks at a cheaper price.only complaint was the paper thin walls.close to the beach and shops and bars,also the railway station which was very easy to u se if you wanted to go to barcalona,all in all a very good holiday.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank stephen g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

Cheap week out of season which was great. We have stayed here before and it's apparently a 4*. Maybe this means something else in Spain?
Having read some of the other reviews I am inclined to agree totally about the paper thin walls. We were unlucky enough to have 2 young football teams staying there part of the week and there was no chance of sleeping before 3am one night, nearly 5am another night!
Yes, the food is repetitive after the first few days but not inedible as someone reviewed, the staff were friendly and very helpful also unlike some of the reviews. Treat them with respect and they will do likewise we found. Saying that, there is one particularly glum looking Barman but then when you see some of the guests and what they have to put up with is it any wonder?
We found out we could hire bikes for free which was a bonus as we spent a wonderful few hours cycling along the seafront.
Everything was very clean if a little tired looking but a good cheap base if you don't intend spending all day and night in the hotel.
Probably wouldn't go back as this is the second visit and would prefer to try somewhere else but great for a 'cheapie' out of season.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank susie114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

I stayed here in November 2008 and in March 2010, out of season which was good. The hotel provided us with shelter, kept us fed and supplied us with lots of beer. Just what we wanted - we used it as a base for going to go Barcelona. It was very cheap to stay here, so don't expect it to be like the Hilton. You get what you pay for, definitely. I don't think I'd go during peak season, but it's ideal for a little out of season break.

Calella itself is lovely. The train station isn't too far away if you want to go to Barcelona for the day, or the other resorts.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kyliec88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

came back from this hotel last night.20th january after 1wk.this hotel is not for people with walking problems as it is situated at the top off a steep rd.overhall we did enjoy our stay.but i must say the walls between the rooms are very thin and you cant help hearing the other guests.the food is ok and the staff are very helpfull we would go back to this hotel again.

Room Tip: try toget a room over lookinng the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrgbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Weekend trip to Calella Palace very pleasant. Rooms are big and clean, two double beds in each room, lots of hot water.
Dining room a bit chaotic, it was quite busy. Food good on the whole but as a vegetarian I would appreciate more information about how and in what things are cooked, I had to choose very carefully.
Staff friendly on the whole, head barman was a bit grumpy and took several days to cajole him to a smile.
Unfortunately the walls are thin and spent first night listening to conversation and hair washing at 1am from (Scottish) couple next door, didn't sleep very well.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Hate negative reviews because everyones experience is difference! Honest opinion!
The only hotel open in the area, resort like a ghost town!

Bored.com glad we only there for 3 days, Thank god for the sauna /jacuzzi! Food, im fussy and like my food very hot, it is Spain! No comment!

Service in the restaurant wasnt good, honest! Tables full of 'dirty plates' often whilst people looking around for a clean table and the two staff chatting. Although they were short staff they were not working 'flat out'.

Cutlery/crockery were 'dirty' almost as if they had come out of dirty washing up water with tiny bits on them, honest!

Barstaff were so miserable it was painful asking them for anything! neither smiled at us the 3 days we were there! Sorry Calella Palace!

We picked the wrong Hotel!

Room Tip: Book somewhere else! I shouldve!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julie l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calella
0.2 mi away
H.TOP Amaika Superior
H.TOP Amaika Superior
#12 of 43 in Calella
1,398 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kaktus Playa
Hotel Kaktus Playa
#2 of 43 in Calella
441 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel President
Hotel President
#4 of 43 in Calella
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
H.TOP Pineda Palace
H.TOP Pineda Palace
#5 of 17 in Pineda de Mar
730 reviews
11.1 mi away
H.TOP Royal Star & SPA
H.TOP Royal Star & SPA
#82 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
1,857 reviews
10.8 mi away
H.TOP Royal Beach
H.TOP Royal Beach
#76 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
2,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H.TOP Calella Palace & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H.TOP Calella Palace & Spa

Address: Carrer Maria Cardona S/N, 08370 Calella, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Calella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Calella
#7 Spa Hotel in Calella
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Calella
Price Range: $45 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — H.TOP Calella Palace & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 339
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The H·TOP Calella Palace & SPA ***S hotel is located just off in the beach in Calella. The all-inclusive resort is in a great setting surrounded by a number of attractions including shops, restaurants, bars and a lot of cultural activities. The hotel is equipped with a number of facilities including a large outdoor swimming pool with a separate pool for children. Surrounding the pool is a large sun terrace equipped with sun loungers. The hotel also features an indoor pool and a roof top terrace with plunge pool offering stunning views over Calella and the coast. Rooms at the Calella Palace are bright and air-conditioned, with a balcony and satellite TV. All have a private bathroom with a hairdryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your H.TOP Calella Palace & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
h Top Hotel Calella
Calella Hotel Palace
Calella Palace Hotel
Calella Palace Spain
Calella Palace Calella
Hotel Top Calella Palace
Top Palace Calella
h Top Calella Palace
Hotel Calella Palace Calella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing