We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
H.TOP Amaika Superior Adults Recommended
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Neptuno & Apartments(Calella)(Great Value!)
$67
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
ALEGRIA Espanya(Calella)(Great Value!)
$55
Hotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Kaktus Playa(Calella)(Great Value!)
$67
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Hotel Volga(Calella)(Great Value!)
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$56
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Hotel Mar Blau(Calella)(Great Value!)
$54
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$53
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Hotel Bernat II(Calella)(Great Value!)
$137
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Les Palmeres(Calella)(Great Value!)
$65
$59
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
GHT Hotel Maritim(Calella)(Great Value!)
$55
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (1,435)
Filter reviews
1,435 results
Traveler rating
394
537
315
101
88
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
394
537
315
101
88
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstitanic themeshower cubiclebar staffh toptrain stationpool areablue barsaladbeach barlunch and dinnersauna and jacuzzipineda palacehigh floorfish dishesplenty of choiceon an all inclusive basismagic show
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
841 - 846 of 1,435 reviews
Reviewed April 17, 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Amaika for a week, all inclusive, at the beginnning of April and found it to be absolutely faultless. The room was spotless and quite spacious with everything that you could want, and we had a massive balcony, although not everyone's is the same size. Food was fantastic every day and we always went up for seconds. There is always plenty of staff to wait on you in the restaurant and when it was full one night and we couldn't get a table straight away, the next night the staff remembered us and seated us as soon as we got through the door. Facilities at the hotel are great, it has a private sauna and jacuzzi that can be booked out for an hour at a time, although we recommend booking the day before you want to use it as it got really busy when the season kicked in. The all inclusive facilities are fantastic, especially the bar and we didn't find the 2 drinks per person per time rule hard at all, there was only 2 of us. Everyone was friendly and we also booked a really good barcelona city tour at reception, but I recommend finding out the times and days for the tour at the beginning of the holiday because it would be a shame to miss out on it. The rooms were cleaned every day with fresh towels and bedlinen and the hotel really does offer amazing value for money, especially as it is only a stones throw away from the beach - we got a week's all inclusive with flights for £236. There is some work being done to the road outside, but this didn't affect our stay in the slightest. The weather was also really good and we can't fault our stay in the slightest. Can't wait to go back, had an amazing, romantic holiday :D

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank annyapple90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2009

Just returned having had 3 days a the Ameika. Hotel Spotless, rooms comfortable and staff were friendly. Not much happening around Calella but took this as read still being out of season. Great location 200yds from beach. Pool a bit small and was freezing cold !! Although food was heavily weighted towards the spanish guests we didn't go hungry and didn't need to survive on salad !!. Definately recommend the AI option as outside the hotel everything seems really expensive due to the current poor exchange rate. All in all a great place to stay and the AI option is value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BirminghamElvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2009

My friend and I spent a very enjoyable week at this hotel. Food was varied and plentiful and there was entertainment provided every night. Rooms were clean and comfortable, bed linen changed three times during our stay and clean towels provided on request. Real value for money - we can't wait to go back

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizabud_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2009

We booked our stay at the Amaika in January via teletext holidays and were amazed at the cost, £250 pp all inclusive for 4 nights (that included flights with RyanAir). We had never flown with a budget airline as we usually have package holidays, however it was a pleasant surprise. Flight was very comfortable, plenty leg room etc.

The hotel is situated c.200 metres from the beach in Calella and is central within the resort. There are lots of shops nearby (some independent boutique types and the usual souvenir shops) and the train station is only a ten minute walk from the hotel. We visited Barcelona, the train was only 6 euros for a return ticket to the centre of Barcelona (placa de Catalunya) which was fantastic - the journey was c.1hr. A stay in Calella is a cheaper alternative for those intending to visit Barcelona without paying city centre hotel and food / drink costs, definitely recommended. If we had been staying longer we would have made a few vists to Barcelona as it was so easy to get there. The trains seem to operate up and down the entire Costa Brava at regular intervals meaning it's pretty easy to visit the area. Plenty to do in Calella though for those who want to stay close to the hotel, the beach is fantastic and you can walk along the coast to the neighbouring resorts.

We found that on the whole the hotel was of a good standard. The grounds and rooms were very clean and tidy. The all inclusive buffet was nice with lots of choice (a lot of people have complained that the food caters for the Spanish guests, but you are abroad after all - if you want to eat English food then why not holiday in the UK!). There were lots of different foods to try such as shark steaks and pig cheeks, which we both really enjoyed! We have been on many all inclusive holidays in the Caribbean and they tend to be bigger resorts hence more food choices. The choice of food was fine considering the small size of this hotel.

The entertainment usually consisted of some elderly hotel guests dancing, which was pretty inoffensive but not great. We tended to wander out into the town at night as the shops and bars stayed open pretty late - although the place was not as lively as it would be in the height of summer there was definitely a good atmosphere and we felt as though we were on holiday abroad. Calella has definitely retained some of its local charm unlike some other resorts.

Although we found the hotel to be very good, the bar staff are a bit hostile towards foreigners, they tended to do a fair bit of grunting at us. That came as a surprise as we have always found staff to be friendly and welcoming on previous holidays. I am not sure we saw any of the bar staff crack a smile during our stay. That said, we found all of the Spanish guests to be much the same. Not sure if that's just their way or whether there is a genuine dislike of foreigners. We didn't really let that bother us to be honest, it shouldn't put you off staying at the Amaika.

All in all, we would visit Calella again and stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrAndMrsBeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2009

My friend and i had agreat holiday at this hotel, food was fine, there was entertainment every night, we had a gret holiday with lots of laughs.......... we will be going back next year

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlasgowEsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews