We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT HOTEL”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
H.TOP Amaika Superior
Ranked #10 of 43 Hotels in Calella
Reviewed April 22, 2014

This hotel is absolutely fabulous.... ,food,rooms,service,value for money,location, all are top class and i defy anyone to find a better hotel in Spain with such character and high standards ,do not have any reservations about booking here as i can tell you your in for a treat and i should know i have been 6 times its BRILLIANT.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have sun all day
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank tony k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,421)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

496 - 502 of 1,421 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2014

H.TOP AMAIKA which is near to the beach and 4star. It is a 5 star actually. Every things are very nice. Good food, Good Rooms, Near to beach, Good service, best for all inclusive. Bottle of wine with the food, Jacuzzi, sauna etc., and discounts for all day tours for AI. Its definitely worth to say here. We will go back here. Very clean, looks like a ship interior, its a 5 star facility hotel, good for families. We have paid 350 euro for 4 of us ( 2+2, 3 & 6 years) for 4 nights AI.

Room Tip: Top floor has good view, First floor has very big balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jobin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

Stayed with my little girl for 7 nights in mid April. Could not fault it for the amount we paid for all inclusive. Arrived at midnight and was checked in efficiently by a cheerful elderly gentleman. The room was very clean, with complimentary shampoo, conditioner, soap & toothbrushes being topped up every day; as well as towels being changed every day also. Ok, it's not the 'hip trendy city centre chic boutique' sort of 4 star hotel, but bear in mind I didn't pay for that either. It's a traditional family /business sort of hotel and everything was just really pleasant and enjoyable.

Food was good. In fact we've been to 5 star all inclusive in Egypt and what Amaika provided was sometimes comparable and definitely a plenty. Yes it's Spanish, but we were in Spain and we always found something we'd like to eat there. Also, like others had commented, all drinks were served in bottles / cans with wine glasses available on the tables, including wine and water. Ice cream and fresh fruit was plentiful for the little one. Tables were cleared and all places were set as soon as the waiters could physically get round to it, and the maitre d tried his best to get everyone seated as soon as he can.

Didn't bother with the pool much as it's a bit small & the beach is 3 minutes walk away. Did use the jacuzzi and sauna a couple of times, which was free with the a i package. Like some mentioned the entertainment was more European but the old timers were lovely and made sure we were able to join in if we wanted to. Drinks were again aplenty. We both tried their cocktails as a treat a few times (yes there was extra charge with those but only 2, 3 Eur at a time, depending on alcoholic or non alcoholic for the lil un). They were amazingly done and it was lovely to have a nice cocktails without having to pay 6-8 Eur for them like most places in town.

However what compelled me to actually bother to leave a comment about this hotel was its staff. All of them, receptionists, bar staff, restaurant staff, cleaners, maintenance, every one of them whom we encountered were professional and friendly. Even when they were under great stress they remained courteous. We had a really stressful situation in regards to our return transfer, thanks nothing to Resort Hopper and its hopelessly useless Spanish counterpart (yup, car hire next time!!!). The receptionist Montse went above & beyond her duty to help. Another lady at the reception helped us with our bags when the driver couldn't really be bothered, because she can see I was struggling with 4 bags and cases with a little child. And for the people who complained about staff being rude, just to remind you one thing - try treating others how you would like to be treated. A little tip and a genuine thank you goes a long way :-)

Calella was gorgeous. And this time of the year meant that whilst it's quiet enough, it's not absolutely dead, as it's still occupied by locals and Spanish tourists alike. Tonnes of shops, cafes, restaurants, lovely beaches. I had tapas on the beach at La Garbia whilst her majesty played at the directly adjecent play park and made new friends with the local. We even found the Municipal Mercat where there was a bar that sold lovely cheap wine from local vineyards from the barrels, by the litre or by glass. Also a stall that sold herbs, spices, dried fruit liked the ones in La Boqueria in Barcelona but for less money. I brought some home and it made such lovely, cheap prezzies! If you need more excitment, Barcelona was just under 1 hr train ride away. Girona about 1.5 hr via Mataro. Also on the opposite end of the main stretch there was a soft play centre that opened till 9pm. 3 Eur for 30minutes, 5 Eur for 1hr. Near the hotel there's a crazy golf / bowling place. All were opened whilst we were there. Nice change of scenery for the little ones.

All in all Amaika and Calella fits the bill for my little girl and myself. Whilst strangely enough there's no 5 star hotel in Calella, this very much cheaper 4 star alternative will do nicely.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
10  Thank Catherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

We came here for 4 nights for our honeymoon. We loved every minute of it. The hotel is beautiful and everywhere is spotless. We were all inclusive. The food was lovely. You also get proper bacardi and baileys as part of ai which was a bonus. There wasnt much entertainment but the season hadn't started. It was more catered to the spanish guests. The pool is tiny I think it would be crowded peak season bit was fine when we were there. The jacuzzi and sauna are also free to all inclusive. If you come here you have to go to mama mias pizzeria that it up the hill from the hotel. The food is to die for.

I will be definitely coming back with the kids next time.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank lisagary_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Just visited this hotel for the second time. It is really good value for money. Staff are knowledgeable friendly and very helpful. Food and drink is plentiful and very good. Plenty of choice at all sittings breakfast lunch and dinner. Lots of people there were regular visitors. Very Spanish.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice but those facing the town mean you get a view of the sea town and mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jedlots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Stayed at this hotel in March 2014. Food fantastic so much variety, location the best for the beach and main part of the resort, staff so friendly and professional, Animation in the hotel brilliant. Had a great time and would certainly recommend.

Thank you to all staff at the Amaika.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank joanne w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

we were a group of 11 and had a fantastic week, cant fault this hotel. Staff are so helpful and friendly, Rooms are cleaned daily to a high standard, Rooms are very comfortable with bath and shower, hairdryer, heating,tv, etc . restaurant staff always tried to reserve a table for us to be together.Plenty of food and plenty to choose from, Bar staff and Eva (entertainments Lady) Made our evenings...We all had a fantastic week, all 11 of us will be back next year.
Thank you to all the staff in the Amaika hotel

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JulieChilos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calella hotels
0.2 mi away
H.TOP Calella Palace & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bernat II
Hotel Bernat II
#11 of 43 in Calella
559 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Volga
Hotel Volga
#1 of 43 in Calella
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kaktus Playa
Hotel Kaktus Playa
#2 of 43 in Calella
459 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Neptuno & Apartments
0.1 mi away
B&B El Pekinaire
B&B El Pekinaire
#3 of 43 in Calella
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H.TOP Amaika Superior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H.TOP Amaika Superior

Address: Carrer de la Diputacio 2, 08370 Calella, Spain (Formerly H·TOP Amaika)
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Calella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Calella
#2 Luxury Hotel in Calella
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Calella
#9 Romantic Hotel in Calella
Price Range: $44 - $1,210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — H.TOP Amaika Superior 4.5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-Star Superior H·TOP Amaika hotel ADULTS RECOMMENDED is inspired by “The Titanic” and the ideal place for couples looking for a romantic getaway without the stress, next to the beach, very close to the city center, personalized attention and the maximum comfort. FACILITIES Rooms • Social room (ping pong) • Restaurant • Bar • Swimming pools (one for adults and one for children; unsupervised pools) • Sun terraces • Laundry room Children • Baby cots and chairs Spa area* • Hot tubs • Sauna • Fitness room Staff • 24 hour Front Desk services • Multilingual staff • Housekeeping • Tour desk Others • Meeting & banqueting spaces • Currency exchange • Fax & copy service • Air-conditioning • Heating • Safe boxes (in each room)* • Wi-Fi* • TV • Luggage storage • Lifts • Bikes* • Parking* *Some of these services are extra or require a deposit (ask at the Hotel) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your H.TOP Amaika Superior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
h Top Amaika Calella
Hotel h Top Amaika
Amaika Hotel Calella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing