We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant hotel close to beach and town” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of H.TOP Amaika

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
H.TOP Amaika
Ranked #10 of 43 Hotels in Calella
London
Level Contributor
37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Pleasant hotel close to beach and town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed 4 nights ( March 2013) Half Board basis.
About 15 mins from station. Arrived early afternoon and checked straight in. We had 2 rooms adjacent to each other. Small balcony and partial seaview.
Good sized rooms, cleaned daily. Adequate towels and toiletries.
Evening dinner had choices but lacked taste. Chefs should improve their skills.
Breakfast better.
We had an early checkout and they organised tea and coffee and some snacks in bar. This was very courteous and deserve credit.
Overall good stay.

Room Tip: Upper floor, facing sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anjulifrancis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    467
    273
    89
    76
See reviews for
410
487
31
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

This hotel is near beach and is very posh. Staff in tuxedos et c. Staff can be stand offish. Hotel is magnificent. YOU think you are on the Titanic because of the layout. Small pool but night time entertainment.

Room Tip: any room. try top floor for view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank nobbyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

Booked the Amaika through "deal of the day" holidays. We have stayed in Calella four times now in last three years but first time in Amaika. The location is excellent. Right by beach and shops. The hotel is well kept and well presented. The room was cleaned to an excellent standard every day. The room was large enough with two double beds and seperate bathtub and shower cubicle. Decor in room a little tired but cleanliness, decent bed and size of room outweighed that. Fridge in room was a nice touch.
Reception staff polite, professional and immaculate. Bar staff efficient but not very sociable (don't know why but I have found that bar staff in all inclusive hotels are less welcoming than others). Maybe it's because all inclusive guests unlikely to tip at a bar.
The restaurant was well laid out, tables very well presented and the food was excellent. Plenty of choice at mealtimes. From cooked breakfast in mornings to lunch and dinner. Plenty of fish and meat dishes. At all mealtimes the was always a good selection of salad, vegetables fruit etc.
waiter service for all inclusive drinks and you can have whatever you want with your meals from water, cola etc to bottles of wine and bottled beers.
Special mention here to Anas and Nacho two waiters in the restaurant. Great guys, very friendly professional and polite. Extremely efficient.
Smaller pool than most and chairs and sunbeds could fill up quickly but get your timings right and your ok if that's what you want.
Check out the Hotel's jacuzzi gym and spa, all bookable at no charge for AI guests.
Also you can book sunbeds and parasols for the beach bar at the hotel up to 3pm and get 50% of drinks served on the beach which is fair enough.
The Amaika hotel is clean and well presented and we can thoroughly recommend it to couples young and old. Maybe not too suited to families with children.

Room Tip: Ask for high room with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank icutv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

We booked a short stay all inclusive with H Top Amaika Hotel and must say we thoroughly enjoyed our stay!! The staff were brilliant, hotel was lovely and clean and food good. What most people fail to realise is that 4 stars in any other country is not the 4 stars in England. We have no complaints....food buffet was good - all the food was fresh, even the chef cooked us fresh fish!! ok if its buffet style, it is not going to be piping hot as some on here would wish, but at least they provide microwaves in the restaurant to heat up you food if you so wish. There is a great selection at each mealtime, and I dont eat meat!! You are served a bottle of wine of your choice (you can ask to change whatever bottle is on the table) with every meal and water. You can visit the buffet as many times as you wish and dirty plates and cutlery are cleared away rapidly. The staff are extremely pleasant and a little smile and 'thankyou' go a long way for them. The bar staff were again very nice and we enjoyed a few good laughs with them! Towards the end of the evening they knew what drinks we wanted! We met some fantastic people also staying there and had a great time in the evening with the entertainment - our motto is 'you only get out what you put in' - we very rarely got to bed much before 2am. There is a private jacuzzi & sauna which is bookable at the reception. Calella is a lovely place and I bet buzzing in the summer! All in all we had a fantastic stay - well done Amaika we are definately going back!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sotira, Cyprus
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

Just got back from a week at the H Top Amaika. There were some good points and some not so good.
On arrival we were checked in immediately and were treated very well by the reception staff. Everything was explained with clarity and during the entire stay I found them to be helpful and pleasant with any queries that were asked of them.
I found the rooms to be of a good standard with everything you need for a pleasant stay. It was also a bonus to have a fantastic sea view. ( We were on the 8th floor) The cleaning staff were excellent and the Hotel in general is well kept.
The Hotel is in an excellent location and only a short walk to the shops, beach and train station.
The down side to the Hotel was the all inclusive package. Firstly, the bar staff seemed to be more interested in paying guests than the guests who already paid. Not meaning to sound petty, but is a slice of lemon in gin too much to ask to all inclusive guests. Paying guests got lemon, so why not put it in all servings of gin? The bar staff also appeared unfriendly, not willing to indulge much in conversation unless you really pushed it.
The staff in the restaurant were okay but again it never felt welcoming, possibly a language barrier. The food on the other hand was not good. There was little taste to much of the food and 90% of the time it needed a few minutes in the microwave to make it warm enough to eat. There seemed to be a good variety of food, fish, rabbit, pork, goat and chicken but it seemed to be not of good quality, usually a lot of bone or excessive fat. Salads were good and desserts were not bad but the main meal was usually a let down.
I don't think I would book this Hotel again, unless as a bed and breakfast option.

Room Tip: The higher up on the floors the better the view out to sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harwich, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

We were looking for a good hotel and location for 9 of us for our friends birthday. We didn't originally book the Amaika, our original hotel was late opening in Santa Susanna so they sent us here. At first we were very disappointed but to be honest it couldn't have been any better. The Hotel was really nice and Calella was a lovely, lively and clean place. The hotel is very close to the beach and although it was out of season the weather was warm, however the pool was like an ice bucket!!!! We all enjoyed ourselves and I'm sure the hotel will pay for us to return next year because we were the best entertainment they'd seen in a long time :) ... Food was ok and drinks kept flowing so all good. Rooms were basic but clean and being at the top of the hotel we had perfect views. Would definitely go back again in high season.....Oh yeah and the hotel has a theme of the Titanic which feels quite special.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank simbad3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midlands
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

had a nice time staying here recently. Nice room, requested a sea view and got one. The food was nice and drinks were served in proper glasses which were allowed to be taken outside. Staff were friendly. Hotel was very clean. Hotel is in a lovely location which is close to shops, beach, bars and train station. You can also use the other HTop hotels for drinks. Waiter servIce was also good here at meal times. There was also gym which was adequate. Now for the negatives, the poolside area was tiny and only had 24 sunbeds, spanish people always got served to drinks first, and the entertainment was a bit boring however I got a bargain price to stay here and if I could get a good price I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cazWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calella
0.2 mi away
H.TOP Calella Palace
H.TOP Calella Palace
#24 of 43 in Calella
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,829 reviews
2.0 mi away
H.TOP Pineda Palace
H.TOP Pineda Palace
#5 of 17 in Pineda de Mar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kaktus Playa
Hotel Kaktus Playa
#2 of 43 in Calella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bernat II
Hotel Bernat II
#7 of 43 in Calella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Volga
Hotel Volga
#3 of 43 in Calella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
0.2 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Santa Monica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H.TOP Amaika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H.TOP Amaika

Property: H.TOP Amaika
Address: Carrer de la Diputacio 2, 08370 Calella, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Calella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Calella
#3 Luxury Hotel in Calella
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Calella
#9 Romantic Hotel in Calella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — H.TOP Amaika 4.5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-Star superior H•TOP Amaika hotel is a thematic hotel inspired by “The Titanic” and the ideal place for couples. It is located in a lively area of Calella, in the Costa Maresme-Barcelona (north-east of Spain), positioned just a few metres from the beach and very close to bars, restaurants, shops and the city center. The 229-room provide amazing town and sea views and many facilities and services for adults and children. It is situated 65 Km from Barcelona – El Prat Airport and 35 Km from Girona Airport.Calella is a family tourist destination where you will find plenty of things to do including water sports, cultural activities and nightlife. Clients from H•TOP Amaika can visit Blue Bar Beach Club which offers sun beds and parasols with special rates for clients with All-Inclusive service. FACILITIES Rooms • Social room (ping pong) • Restaurant • Bar • Swimming pools ( one for adults and one for children; unsupervised pools ) • Sun terraces • Laundry room Children • Miniclub (really is children's activity room ) • Baby cots and chairs Spa area* • Hot tubs • Sauna • Fitness room • Staff • 24 hour Front Desk services • Multilingual staff • Housekeeping • Tour desk Others • Facilities for guests with disabilities • Meeting & banqueting spaces • Currency exchange • Car hire* • Fax & copy service • Medical service (external service)* • Air-conditioning • Heating • Safe boxes (in each room)* • Wi-Fi* • TV • Luggage storage • Lifts • Bikes* • Parking* *Some of these services are extra or require a deposit (ask at the Hotel) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your H.TOP Amaika reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
h Top Amaika Calella
Hotel h Top Amaika
Amaika Hotel Calella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing