We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
H.TOP Amaika Superior Adults Recommended
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Neptuno & Apartments(Calella)(Great Value!)
$67
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Kaktus Playa(Calella)(Great Value!)
$67
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
ALEGRIA Espanya(Calella)(Great Value!)
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Volga(Calella)(Great Value!)
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Hotel Mar Blau(Calella)(Great Value!)
$54
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$53
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Hotel Bernat II(Calella)(Great Value!)
$137
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Les Palmeres(Calella)(Great Value!)
$65
$59
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$56
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
GHT Hotel Maritim(Calella)(Great Value!)
$55
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (1,435)
Filter reviews
1,435 results
Traveler rating
394
537
315
101
88
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
394
537
315
101
88
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstitanic themeshower cubiclebar staffh toptrain stationpool areablue barsaladbeach barlunch and dinnersauna and jacuzzipineda palacehigh floorfish dishesplenty of choiceon an all inclusive basismagic show
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
717 - 722 of 1,435 reviews
Reviewed July 11, 2011

We also booked this hotel due to good reviews on tripadvisor. The weekend before our holiday, travelrepublic got in touch with us to say that due to overbooking we were to be moved to the Calella Palace. The Calella Palace does not have very good reviews and was priced at £325.00 less than what we paid. We said that under no circumstances were we moving, eventually after numerous phone calls travelrepublic sent us a email to say that we could stay at the Amaika.
Once we arrived at midnight the night porter said that we were to move to the Calella Palace. We showed him our email but he was insistant that they had no room for us. We stuck to our guns and eventually they found us 3 rooms. The view from these rooms was terrible, overlooking an old apartment block. Two of the rooms smelt of sewage. It appears that if you are English they do not want you in this hotel, my husband spotted a list of all English people that they intended on moving. If we wanted a 'allocation on arrival' hotel we would have paid a lot less.
Having said that the food was ok, the hotel was clean, bar service good but pool too small.
We will not be going back.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andreajane190737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2011

We chose this hotel because of the good reviews we found on trip advisor. We had a family room which was ok, great air conditioning and the room very quiet. Although the fourth bed (we are a family of four) was a pull out. It was generally a good standard but the bathroom was a little dirty. The food was not fantastic and there was little in the way of food orientated towards children. On the upside, as we were all inclusive, we were given unlimited bottles of wine and soft drinks that we didnt have to get from a pump dispenser! There was nothing for children to do at all and I feel this hotel would suit couples and older people more than a family with children. The htop pass allows you to visit any other htop hotel in the area as long as it is the same or a lower star than the one you are staying at, this is a great idea as it meant the kids had more to do at other hotels. Going all inclusive means you also get a free drink each at the beach bar and also half price parasol and sunbed hire, which is a bonus. The beach is very close and clean.Callella is a beautiful place and very central to barcelona and many other beautiful places. Some reviews we read said that thebar staff were grouchy, we didnt find this at all! The entertainment was totally pants, but I guess that depends on personal taste! We would definately go back again, but as a couple, as it isnt really a family orientated hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms 121 and 122 have enormous balconies!
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cornishbird76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2011

Recently returned from a second stay at the Amaika.

Another excellent holiday!

After booking I had contacted the hotel to ask for a similarly quiet room to the one we had on our first stay as Hubby has serious health isues and needs to rest each afternoon. On arrival we were delighted to find that we had been given exactly the same room - 904 - that was so lovely and quiet again and had a good view from the balcony for me to sit on whilst Hubby slept.

Food was, if anything, even better than during our first stay - the restaurant is beautiful and A.I. local Wine very drinkable. The Staff were, without exception, helpful and polite.

Yes - the pool is small and we thought this would be an issue in high season when we visited in March. However, this was always quiet during our stay with no more than a dozen people in at any one time and always sunbeds available - this is probably due to the very close proximity of the lovely long/clean beach that is ideal for sunbathing and swimming.

We had a short walk into the town centre each evening after Dinner - no motre than 5 minutes into the old town centre. We had another day in Barcelona that was excellent - return train fare still less than 8 Euros per person - trains are very frequent and the Calella station is around a 10 minutes walk from the hotel.

We used the free HTop Shuttle Bus to visit Santa Susanah on two occasions. Had drinks right by the beach on the terrace of the Hotel Sun Beach (that name may be slightly wrong - blame my aging Brain Cells!) that was very nice and lunch at the Sun Beach Suites (again that name may be slightly wrong) that was very poor compared to what we got at the Amaika. The bus was comfortable and arrived right on time.

We also had our daily free drink at the HTop Beach Club which was most enjoyable.

All in all we cannot fault our stay and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Campolady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2011

4th visit first time not on our own.Again all the staff fantastic(boules on the beach in feb with renaldo is a laugh)the food and drink very good for the money.Tried to re revue in feb but was not allowed so here goes again.Take the gold card option much better for drinks. magic act one night looked good but only came in towards the end.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rutland-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2011

I spent one week in April in H Top Amaika Hotel.
The place is very nice for the it's money. Rooms are clean and large enough. The beach is only 50 m away. The main street is also at walking distance.
Only downsite is the pool. It's really small. However, given the beach, this not a big issue.
The personel i s friendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank xsenedra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews