We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice and very cheap”

Groucho's Tapas Bar
Ranked #20 of 169 Restaurants in Calella
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Spanish, Mediterranean, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“nice and very cheap”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Food was good ? And sangria was made fresh tapas was good and also Mexican food was good thanks very helpful staff and we enjoyed watching people trying to drink them tall bear glass things like a yard of bear

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank keith w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    69
    21
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
birmingham
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“good value”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

great value for the money. people warm and friendly.
well worth the visit. tapas very nice.could be in a better location

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank angela g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An all occasions restaurant”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

My husband and I went to Groucho's a few times this summer while spending our vacation in Calella. The food was the best we had in Calella, the service was fantastic and is the place where you can go on a date, where you can go with a group of friends and with the family. The prices were lower than expected compared to the quality and freshness of the dishes.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Miruna N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Ace!!!”
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

We headed to Grouchos after reading the reviews and couldn't have been more blown away! The service was amazing, our waiter, saltero, was extreanly welcoming and gave us complimentary olives and a taster of the palmer ham they also sell in their deli. We ordered small tapas starters which were very generous, we then ordered the meat paella for 2. The paella was perfection, cooked fresh and authentically presented, all washed down with cava sangria.

Our experience of Grouchos was fantastic, couldn't have faulted a thing and will be back before our holiday is through!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kristabella1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Didnt meet expectations...”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

I went to the restaurant following positive reviews read on here and have to say I wasn't impressed, I was looking for authentic top quality tapas and unfortunately this wasn't it, few gripes are patatas in the bravas were clearly frozen and not home made, croquettes were over cooked, meats and cheese were fine. It seemed more diners here opted for Mexican but I went to the tapas bar for tapas :) 60eur for tapas and a jug of sangria, for the quality I didnt think it was good value. Staff are friendly but I won't rush back

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SunmerSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Groucho's Tapas Bar also viewed

Calella, Province of Barcelona
Calella, Province of Barcelona
 
Calella, Province of Barcelona
Calella, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Groucho's Tapas Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing