We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely medium sized hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Neptuno & Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Neptuno & Apartments
Ranked #13 of 43 Hotels in Calella
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely medium sized hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012

One minute from the shops and bars, two minutes from the beach, direct train to Barcelona, but still very quiet, the Hotel is in a great location. Local bars and busineses are friendly, with prices cheaper than the UK.
We were welcomed late by the night porter, who checked us in with friendliness and efficiency. The hotel rooms were extremely clean, and of a good size, as was the en suite. All the staff were extremely helpful, the pool and relaxation area always clean, and with no pressure to buy drinks or food. The dining area was pleasant and the service excellent. The evening buffet had a wide choice of hot food, vegetables and salads, always with local dishes. My only criticism is the quality of the coffe and fruit juice served in the morning. We were delighted when the 'coffee' machiene broke for two days, as a finer brew was served in flasks instead.
A minor niggle, overall we were more than delighted with Hotel Neptuno, and would whole heartedly recomend them.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank chrisjmoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neptuno2009, Director General at Hotel Neptuno & Apartments, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
many thanks for sending the reviw. we hope to see you again in our hotel next time.
regards from Spain. Marta Hernando, Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    122
    51
    13
    16
See reviews for
104
103
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
north ayrshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2011

Just came back from a weeks hols in Tossa de Mar and the Hotel Neptuno. Went with Alpha Rooms and had a GREAT time . Okay it was end of season and Tossa was closing down but the hotel was absolutely brilliant. Great staff, great food, great banter with the staff, what more could you want oh and great bar prices too and for doubles. We have been to Tossa before and loved it and it didn't let us down a 2nd time. It's a beautiful resort and has someting for everyone. There is nothing more i can say about Tossa, why not go and try it for yourselves...... you may be in for a surprise

Room Tip: choose a room from on the 3rd floor from 324- 329 great sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank klaza-w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beamsville, Ontario
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2011

When we got off the bus at the corner of the Hotel street, it looked a bit dingy, so when we walked in to the hotel we were surprised how nice it looked inside. Our room was small but very clean with a balcony and we didn't really need any more space since we take cruises and the cabins are small too. The town of Calella is very nice, lots of shops and restaurants and 1 hour by train to Barcelona (8.00 Eu.return) The food was very good at the hotel, lots of veggies, salads, fish,and at least 3 meats a day, pastas, kids corner with fish sticks, veggies sticks, french fries, the desserts were great with lots of melons. Yes, the food will repeat itself sometimes but it does at home too. The staff is very efficient and friendly, also most speak English too. In Barcelona we went to Montserat , Sagrada Familia, Barcelona Cathedral, etc. very impressive.
(We hiked in Montserat, great views)
So, if you are on a budget and want a great deal, I would definitely recommend this hotel, good food, great staff, very nice beach, spa, swimming pool, and close to many small towns reachable by go train. (inexpensive)
Tania and James

Room Tip: Balcony overlooking the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank moonBeamsville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2011

Booking mistake led us to this hotel as thought we were booked into Hotel Neptuno in Tossa de Mar-30 km away!An average 3 star hotel.Booked half board and food was plentiful,good variety and always warm.Calella,although quite large resort seemed to lack restaurants so ate in hotel most of the time.Noise was a slight problem in hotel as rooms built around a quadrangle and bedroom walls very thin!
Railway station in Calella very handy for travel to Barcelona _approx 1 hour away and trains every 20 minutes.
Overall good value hotel for price paid.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 36722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2011

fab for small children as the pool small and not over crowded the terrace got sun all day but pool didnt so great for kids to be in water all day. rooms very very clean. food great. entertainment fab. staff amazing. this hotel saved our holiday as we were booked in next door in the vila hotel which was a nightmare. so fab hotel neptuno thanks

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank john k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
90 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2011

Spent the last week of June (June 24 - July 2) here with my partner. Definitely very safe and people are very friendly.
Our package included buffet breakfast and dinner at the hotel. However, it does not include any type of drink (not even bottled water). I was pleasantly surprise with the food selection. Although, breakfast did get repetitive. Fresh fruits are available every meal.
The room itself was very lacklustre. Very very small. The safe was not working. We requested for 1 queen size bed and didn't get it ---so we pushed our 2 single beds together. There was not even a small fridge in the room nor kettle to make coffee/tea with. Overall, the facilities were clean.
Overall, ok hotel for the price we paid. But definitely, nothing to rave home about.

Now on to Calella itself. Calella is very small & quaint. Seems to be very popular with the Germans & Brits. The beach was very busy on the weekend, but was quiet enough during the week. The beach itself was not great ---especially because we have experienced great beaches in Cuba. The sand is very big (not fine) almost rocky. The water was nice, but very rocky as well at the bottom. It would be a great idea to bring some water shoes when swimming in the Mediterranean Sea there.

Calella is close enough to Barcelona that we took 3 day trips into Barcelona to take in some culture & architecture. The cost of a return train ticket to / from Barcelona was approximately 8 Euros per person & it takes about 1 hour (1.5 hours during rush hour).

We also took a day trip to Sitges & had a fantastic time! Sitges is very gay friendly ---comparable to Provincetown (in the US) and Brighton (in the UK). The beach in Sitges is much better than Calella ---with very fine sand. Although it's definitely more expensive than Calella ---as its proximity to Barcelona is much closer than Calella.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PatrickCA15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tillsonburg, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2010

This hotel was in an excellent location, step out the front door and your are steps away from the shops, cafes, and beach. We stayed here for one week, we had apt # 1,3 which had two bedrooms, a small kitchen a livingroom and a terrace with a table and chairs...excellent! This apt would sleep 6 people, but it was only the two of us so we had tons of room and it was great for my husband who smokes...he could go outside without having to leave the hotel! For some strange reason the maid only can twice to clean....not sure why.We purchased a package through Airtransat that included air, hotel, and Lunch and Dinner..The staff were very friendly and spoke English...I wouldn't bother with the food, we both thought it was awful..... we chose to buy food at the market and supermarket (DIA) and make breakfast in our apartment, sometimes we would eat lunch out or buy fresh bread and pate, chesse, sausages at the local shops and eat lunch on the terrace. The TV only had German, French and Spanish channels, so bring a book. This hotel is close to everything in Calella, the train station is a ten minute walk if you want to go to Barcelona. It takes about an hour and costs 14 euros per person return. Easy trip into Barcelona by train I would recommend the train. We also rented a car and drove up the coast to Girona, Figueres, Cadaques and Roses (stayed overnight here) and continued on the WINDING MOUNTAINOUS WHITE KNUCKLED(think Italy's Amalfi coast) roads into Perpignan France, where we had dinner and drove back to Spain (about a two hour trip on the NII hwy). I would stay at Hotel Neptune again, in an apartment though for the space, but wouldn't eat there! Shopping is excellent in this town, tons of shoe stores with great prices.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank 2dogs2kids2cats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calella hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kaktus Playa
Hotel Kaktus Playa
#2 of 43 in Calella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aparthotel Miami Park
Aparthotel Miami Park
#14 of 43 in Calella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bernat II
Hotel Bernat II
#8 of 43 in Calella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel President
Hotel President
#5 of 43 in Calella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
0.3 mi away
H.TOP Calella Palace
H.TOP Calella Palace
#24 of 43 in Calella
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,829 reviews
0.4 mi away
H.TOP Amaika
H.TOP Amaika
#10 of 43 in Calella
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Neptuno & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Neptuno & Apartments

Property: Hotel Neptuno & Apartments
Address: c/ Sant Josep 84, 08370 Calella, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Calella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 43 Hotels in Calella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Neptuno & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family hotel, in the town center of the nice city of calella, not far from the train station to the city of barcelona. Very confortable hotel specialy for beach holidays, families, couples,... All the meals buffet, all the rooms with air conditioning, tv sateleite, telefon, hairdryer,... Free entertainement programm for adults and kids. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Neptuno & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing