We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Calella - Nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Mediterrani Express
Ranked #11 of 43 Hotels in Calella
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 13, 2011

Hotel Mediterrani Express was a nice, tidy place to stay. Calella has all ingredients for a holiday stay. Barcelona (fountains, churches, parc Guell) around the corner, some dance clubs, restaurants and shops in direct neighbourhood. Top floor of hotel was renovated which was done with the right materials for a spatious and modern hotel suite. I would recommend this hotel, good value for money. Pool included.

Room Tip: Book top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Couple_Holland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (99)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 99 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2010

Great value for money, ideal for beech, bars and shops.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bgronnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2008

I stayed there for a week! It was a nice hotel, but if you think of how much you pay it could be said that the hotel was great!
The staff is friendly and helpful. Rooms are basic but clean. Breakfast... well, it was just ok, coffee, tea, cornflakes, bread, milk, cheese and ham, croissants and jam.
The situation is very good, just right in the centre of everything.
Taxi from the airport of Bcn to the hotel cost around 70eu.
I would definately stay there again!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank manzana_azul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2008

We stayed at this Hotel during late August and it was great for the price. It was clean, though a bit shabby but the sheets were changed everyday and staff was friendly.

Its a great hotel if you're not going to spend a lot of time in it, because the room was quite basic and although it has a TV there is a charge to use it.

It has a swimming pool and small outdoor area for kids, which is nice, though we did not go with children.

Did not have breakfast there so can't comment on the food, but there was a small bar and it had a 24hour reception.

As for the area, Calella is a lovely little village, with loads of shops and very convieniant for the beach. Only two nightclubs, a few bars (Kuaui was the best) but loads of places to eat and a great market three times a week.

If travelling here, make sure you arrive when the metro is still running because Calella is an hour away from Barcelona city centre on the train (and the airport is further out on the other side), so otherwise it would be a night bus, which you can catch from the city centre.

The beach was very very very accessible but the sand was quite grainy and the water got very deep vey quickly so not sure if its good for children.

Overall I would say a lovely hotel and area for a short break where you'll be outdoors shopping, eatin and sunning it up.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank IntBubble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Benjamin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled solo
Thank Ekaterina_19851605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank chisporrotin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calella hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Volga
Hotel Volga
#1 of 43 in Calella
517 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mar Blau
Hotel Mar Blau
#5 of 43 in Calella
432 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bernat II
Hotel Bernat II
#9 of 43 in Calella
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel President
Hotel President
#4 of 43 in Calella
506 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kaktus Playa
Hotel Kaktus Playa
#2 of 43 in Calella
458 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Neptuno & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mediterrani Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mediterrani Express

Address: Riera 25, 08370 Calella, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Calella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 43 Hotels in Calella
Price Range: $59 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Mediterrani Express 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We will like to present our familiar hotel located in Calella, turistic town next to the seaside , nearby Barcelona centre. ( only 50 minutes away by train ) . The Hotel its in the centre of town, only 200 metres away from the sunny beach. We have a patio where you can enjoy our outdoor swimming pool and at the same time have a cold drink from our bar-cafeteria. We serve buffet- breakfast in the morning for a reasonable price or just a cup of coffee or tea. We have different type of rooms, from a studio room to double, twin or single rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Mediterrani Express reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing