We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good, local restaurant”
Review of Es Raco

Es Raco
Ranked #16 of 108 Restaurants in Cadaques
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Very good, local restaurant”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Stumbled upon this place in the winding streets above Cadaques. Small, well run restaurant with a good selection of well prepared, tasty dishes. Friendly staff. Great views from the small terrace.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank skippy-rates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    74
    16
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Like eating at a friend's house”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We chose Es Raco after other reviews and were really pleased to get a table without reserving. Small restaurant which makes it feel like you are eating at a friend's house. Good to see the sea through the open doors to the terrace - which had two tables - worth booking to get one of these for the view and the breeze.
Food was stunning - not cheap but worth it. Cadaques Anchovies were beautiful served with tomato bread. The scallops were some of the best we have ever tasted anywhere - and you get six big ones - so a good serving. We both had monkfish (although done in two different ways) - so tasty, fresh, well cooked and presented. Friendly staff made the evening complete.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Travelboyz07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Charming little restaurant”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

This is a tiny little restaurant with excellent food. Every dish has the right combination of flavours and is made of excellent raw materials. Even the most common dishes, such as the chicken nuggets we had for our son, were great and different. A nice idea is to order several dishes and share, and not to miss the deserts!
They have a little balcony with only 2 tables (for 2 persons each), so if you want to enjoy the magnificent scenery do make a reservation.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PeDi08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swifterbant
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“its a pitty”
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Maybe it is us, but we go there around 20.30 and not many people where inside. The waitress was running for....... we do not know. she not look at us, not talk to us just running from nothing to nothing. Really just 2 people where inside. Because she also not take any attention to us by saying " one moment sir, I come to you" we go back to La Sirena just around the corner. Great staff

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank kees t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolangatta, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A must”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

My wife and I stumbled on this restaurant in early June,a small place in the charming village of Cadaques.We liked the look of the menu so we booked, it only holde about 16 people very cosy. The food is as good as i've ever eaten and I have traveled the world extensively. Everything we ate was outstanding and the service was exceptional. I assume it is a husband and wife combo. We went back twice unfortunately we had to continue on our trip if not we woud've gone back. YOU MUST GO!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony1952255336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Es Raco also viewed

Cadaques, Costa Brava
 
Cadaques, Costa Brava
Cadaques, Costa Brava
 

Been to Es Raco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing