We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Calina
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Misty(Cadaques)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Fonda Vehi(Cadaques)
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
Hotel S'Aguarda(Cadaques)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Playa Sol(Cadaques)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Octavia(Cadaques)
View Hotel
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Tarongeta(Cadaques)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (387)
Filter reviews
387 results
Traveler rating
201
147
31
4
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
201
147
31
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdali's housecap de creustapassalvador dalibook in advancemin walkbeautiful naturesmall fridgesteep climbhot watersmall baynice poolthe hotel staffspent one night hereself cateringhotel restaurantbasic room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
90 - 95 of 387 reviews
Reviewed July 12, 2013

This was a second visit to Hotel Calina within a few months, we enjoyed our first short break there so much we just wanted to go back, on the second visit we visited with two friends from France. The hotel staff made us so welcome, nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were nice and clean and with views of the sea . It was so relaxing sitting around the pool and soaking up the ambience, it is a lovely peaceful haven to return too after a day exploring the region or strolling around Cadaques . Breakfast was lovely and fresh with a variety of choice and we enjoyed sampling the tapas mid day by the pool. Parking for the car was good, with some shaded parking bays..... yes we would go back again when visiting that area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Limogne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Quite late leaving this review. Stayed here last September. On arrival became aware that the hotel was only within walking distance of Cadaques by someone quite fit (up and over a steep hill- and a distance of maybe 2 km) which applied to me but not my travelling companion which led to quite a dilemma as we had booked on for a week. Long story short we stayed and ended up having a very relaxing holiday in this low key but ambient hotel. The decision was made by the patience of the family and the fact that they really understood our dilemma and also that the atmosphere is very conducive to letting go and relaxing. The two beaches within walking distance are truely beautiful and great to swim in. Downside - no evening meal available and no satisfactory resturant in the area which means one has to travel into Cadaques at night.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rosceite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We chose Calina as a couple of our other choices did not have availability but to be honest I believe Calina might actually be a better option. Hotel is located about 5 mins drive from Cadaques, you need to be alert to the signs though otherwise you may end up at the front which does not have vehicular access to the car-park. Port Lligat is extremely quiet with no shops other than a beach-side food/drink kiosk, no bars and no restaurants. The serenity was extremely beguiling. The walk back to Cadaques takes around 20 minutes, stay quiet and you may be rewarded with the appearance of a wild Wild Boar. The hotel itself is very well presented. We had a room but there also appeared to be family-size apartments. Car parking is free and well organised. Reception was efficient and friendly. Our room overlooked the pool and the sea, the vista was even better than portrayed on the hotel's own web-site, absolutely stunning. Room was well decorated in a simple manner and spotlessly clean. The terrace came with chairs and mini sun-loungers. So far all perfect. Only slight down-side would be the breakfast. It didn't commence until 8.30am, we would have preferred slightly earlier, and whilst beautifully presented and fairly imaginative, it consisted primarily of bread and cakes with a small selection of cheese and hot/cold meats. Our preference would have included more fruit and vegetables but that is possibly just our taste. Overall, I think it proved to be an excellent choice. By the way I don't believe Anny M from Barcelona's review is actually of this hotel as none of it resembles in any way the hotel I experienced.

Room Tip: I think 301 - 308 would all provide the excellent views that we experiences.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RichMelBarnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We traveled to Spain towards the end of March, and planned to drive around Costa Brava and Rosas. This hotel was absolutely wonderful ! We had spent one evening in another absolutely horrible hotel, and were desperately looking for another hotel. Hotel Calina came to our rescue! Esther was so friendly, and spoke good english. We stayed for four days.

The hotel does accept pets (we were traveling with two). We had to book one of the studio apartments, but we're so glad we did. The studio was spacious, has a fridge, stove, microwave and cook ware. There is a large closet & safe as well. Everything was very clean (and is cleaned daily). The tile in the bathroom does look a little like something out of the 70's -brown tiles, but it was very clean and didn't bother us at all. There is a small yard/park area where your dogs can go to the bathroom. There is a variety of foods offered for breakfast. We just had breakfast one time as a treat, and the rest of the days we just made breakfast in the studio. We both agreed it would be a lovely place for a family to go on vacation every summer.

Salvador Dali's house is only about a 2 min walk. It's right around the corner from the hotel. You can also take a 30 min boat ride in Dali's boat 'Gala'. There is a scenic train that takes you around the nature park & near by Cap De Cruses. Excellent hiking in this area. There are also near by places for snorkling, and swimming (but probably in the shallow area only to be safe). The hotel also has a pool for swimming. The town of Cadaques is probably a 15 minute walk downhill, and the whole town is really so beautiful.

This was one of our favorite/memorable trips, and we really enjoyed our stay at the hotel.....we almost didn't want to leave, lol ;)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank globetrekkerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I have never written a review in tripadviser but after a visit to Cadaques. I felt obliged. The hotel had the advantage of a wonderful location about 10 minutes walk to the centre of Cadaques but literally next door to the Dali house, which is worth the visit.
The rooms are somewhat dated but well maintained. This is the only weakness of the hotel. The pool area and environs are so peaceful and relaxing. The real jewel of this hotel is the staff who work tirelessly to guarantee an enjoyable stay. They were fantastic.
Cadaques is a truely remarkable place and a must see destination.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnnyMary16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews