We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to go back”
Review of Hotel Playa Sol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Playa Sol
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Cadaques
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

Great location & views of Cadaques; delicious poolside lunches; helpful staff; small and simple yet still private; renovated this year, so everything new & clean. With all this it seems churlish to complain about the slow (but at least free) wi-fi.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (637)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

205 - 211 of 637 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2013

I sent an email to this hotel to cancel my 8-nights reservation (4 months in advance) as we had decided to rent a house instead. I was still interested to keep the one last night (as rentals are for 7 nights), so I asked if they could do that, but they refused as it was high season. Well, too bad. The problem is that by doing so they kept my whole reservation !!!... And 4 months later (without ever trying to contact me the whole time despite my cancellation) they billed me a full night for a week where I had confirmed in writing I would not be staying at their hotel. I went to the hotel in person four times to explain myself to a manager, the first three times they promised to ask somebody else to consider my demand, but the fourth time an employee just laughed at me nastily telling me I could just forget about it (although the manager never officially replied to my request)... Never seen such poor customer service.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
4  Thank TravelBestBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Recently returned from the Playa Sol - Lovely Hotel. Location great. Rooms very clean, beds and bedding very comfortable. Staff friendly. Pool area calming together with nice breakfasts. Hope to return soon

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shezb0510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Had always wanted to visit this hotel after about 15 years coming to Cadaques and we loved it. The position is ideal and the pool area lovely. A drawback - like everywhere in Cadaques it's expensive in high season but worth it. Only one thing - children shouldn't be allowed to play in the jacuzzi. I couldn't use it as there were 3 little boys playing in it and to not make a fuss lost out on enjoying it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marymireia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

This hotel is a good choice in Cadaques . Rooms were clean , adequate size and modern with great bathroom. We had a terrace overlooking the water which was lovely . Pool area nicely done . I thought this was reasonable value for money and would stay again. This town is gorgeous !

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RLAJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

This is a very good hotel, with great service. The hotel pool and tennis court maid this 5 perfect days in Cadaques for the children and parents. This is a 4 stars hotel and worth the price. Loved it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pablito73_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

My husband & I arrived at this beautiful hotel on Sunday 30th June, we wanted a 3 night stay - a double room with breakfast and a view of the sea if possible with balcony, (unfortunately they only had a double room with balcony for 2 nights so we changed rooms after the first night), the room was quite expensive 195 euros per night & 12 euros to park our car but it seemed so quaint & charming we went ahead & booked up.

The first morning whilst we sat having breakfast enjoying the most fantastic views one of the bar staff arrived & asked us to sign the bill 14 euros each for breakfast......... to say we were both very shocked is a understatement , my husband went to reception & they said it was all on your reservation papers that breakfast wasn't included !!!! but we were never verbally told which we felt was unfair - we had asked for breakfast but reception staff said they couldn't remember, anyway the lady who my husband spoke to said because it had been unclear to us we could have a coffee & croissant foc in the bar area - the following morning we went to the bar & ordered coffees didn't bother with croissants !!! can you imagine our surprise when again bar staff produced us with a bill ( 5 euros for 2 coffees) !!!!!

Be sure to make it clear when booking this hotel that breakfast is included, it seemed at every twist & turn they wanted to charge for something, we talked to other guests & they felt the same a beautiful hotel but dodgy reception staff. BEWARE

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cadaques
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sol Ixent
Hotel Sol Ixent
#4 of 13 in Cadaques
477 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Calina
Hotel Calina
#3 of 13 in Cadaques
384 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Boutique Horta d'en Rahola
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tarongeta
Hotel Tarongeta
#7 of 13 in Cadaques
297 reviews
5.2 mi away
Vistabella
Vistabella
#2 of 37 in Roses
487 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Blaumar Cadaques
Hotel Blaumar Cadaques
#5 of 13 in Cadaques
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Playa Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Playa Sol

Address: Platja Pianc, 3, 17488 Cadaques, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Cadaques
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cadaques
#1 Family Hotel in Cadaques
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cadaques
Price Range: $139 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Playa Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have been renovating during this last winter two thousend then and eleven quite all of our rooms. Quite all rooms have been completely rebuilt and redecorated changing distributions, creating a complete new atmosphere in our brand new rooms. We have double rooms, rooms for three people, family rooms for four people and also communicating rooms for five to six people. We also offer a brand new Jacuzzi suite and junior suite. All rooms with Internet access Hotspot one hour free.With the beach in front and spectacular views to the village the hotel is well situated in town. The large garden with pool area, invites you also for lunch beside the pool from June to end of September. The hotel offers you two bars, a large open-air swimming pool with Jacuzzi, Hammam and hydrotherapy shower. Sport activities like basket, ping-pong, petanque, kayak rentals, mountain-bikes rentals, tennis-court (paddle size)are free of charge. The hotel offers also surveyed garage places. Hotel closed from middle December to middle February. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Playa Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Sol Hotel
Playa Sol Cadaques

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing