We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic stay at Playa Sol”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Playa Sol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Playa Sol
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Cadaques
Certificate of Excellence
Cadaques, Spain
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic stay at Playa Sol”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

This is a very good hotel, with great service. The hotel pool and tennis court maid this 5 perfect days in Cadaques for the children and parents. This is a 4 stars hotel and worth the price. Loved it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pablito73_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    163
    9
    5
    4
See reviews for
132
319
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fence, Lancashire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

My husband & I arrived at this beautiful hotel on Sunday 30th June, we wanted a 3 night stay - a double room with breakfast and a view of the sea if possible with balcony, (unfortunately they only had a double room with balcony for 2 nights so we changed rooms after the first night), the room was quite expensive 195 euros per night & 12 euros to park our car but it seemed so quaint & charming we went ahead & booked up.

The first morning whilst we sat having breakfast enjoying the most fantastic views one of the bar staff arrived & asked us to sign the bill 14 euros each for breakfast......... to say we were both very shocked is a understatement , my husband went to reception & they said it was all on your reservation papers that breakfast wasn't included !!!! but we were never verbally told which we felt was unfair - we had asked for breakfast but reception staff said they couldn't remember, anyway the lady who my husband spoke to said because it had been unclear to us we could have a coffee & croissant foc in the bar area - the following morning we went to the bar & ordered coffees didn't bother with croissants !!! can you imagine our surprise when again bar staff produced us with a bill ( 5 euros for 2 coffees) !!!!!

Be sure to make it clear when booking this hotel that breakfast is included, it seemed at every twist & turn they wanted to charge for something, we talked to other guests & they felt the same a beautiful hotel but dodgy reception staff. BEWARE

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level Contributor
104 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed in Cadaques for one week. Playa Sol is excellently located close to the Centro - but quiet.Nice and clean pool with good service from the friendly staff.
Wi-Fi was a disaster, so if you need to work during your stay - you will need other solutions.
We were also slightly disappointed that the tennis court was not full size.

Room Tip: You should try to get a room with sea view. But towards the back if sensitive for sounds from the st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HerrEgg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

Excellent choice in a beautiful town with lots of lesser properties; very friendly, funny, knowledgeable staff works hard to anticipate and meet every need. Location (across the street from the beach) is perfect. Reserve early for ocean view room with balcony (and parking, too). We had a garden view double (overlooking the beautiful pool) for 4 nights (206 Euros/night [including breakfast] via Hotels.com) in June and were very pleased. Highly recommended.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JKS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marin County
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

This hotel is in a magical spot overlooking a sandy cove and fishing boats. The rooms are updated, clean, nicely appointed, and the beds are very comfortable. What a wonderful place to relax and hear the sound of crashing waves. Of course rooms with sea views are just spectacular.

The hotel has a nice pool area with a hot tub and sauna. It's a lovely area to have lunch and just relax. My only criticism -- and this seems to be a common issue in Spain -- is the lack of service around the pool area. It would be so nice to be offered drinks and snacks while lounging around the pool.

My whole family was thrilled that the hotel had some nice mountain bikes for hire. We saw the village via bike and then rode out to the lighthouse. It was an unforgettable experience!

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are really worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarinTravelDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDUBILU, Gerente at Hotel Playa Sol, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Google Translation
Estimado cliente,

Agradecemos su estancia en nuestro establecimiento y su critica positiva acerca de nuestras instalaciones. Queriamos solo aclarar el tema de los servicios que ofrecemos en la zona de piscina. Normalmente abrimos el Bar de la Piscina y el restaurante a principios del mes de junio e incluso un año abrimos el 20 de mayo por que el buen tiempo lo permitía. Esta año 2013 es un año particularmente differente ya que hemos tenido por Ascensión una semana de temparaturas muy calurosas, con los clientes bañandose en la piscina y después ha vuelto el invierno con frio y lluvias hasta principios del mes de junio. Es por esta la razón por la cual tuvimos que posponer la apertura del servicio de restaurante ya que servimos al aire libre y necesitamos temperaturas agradables para que el servicio sea un exito. Lamentamos si durante su estancia no hayan podido disfrutar de nuestro servicio de restaurante junto a la Piscina. Los horarios del bar de la piscina son de 12h00 a 18h00 en junio y los meses de julio y agosto el Bar abre de 10h00 hasta las 20h00 ininterrumpidamente con un servicio de restaurante de 13h00 hasta 15h30. Este año hemos abierto el bar de la piscina el 28 de mayo y el estaurante junto a la piscina solo el 12 de junio 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

What a lovely hotel! I stayed here for 2 days recently and very much enjoyed the waterfront location, front porch overlooking the water, clean room, and serene surroundings. It was a big plus that the hotel had parking for 10 euros/day. Breakfast was good and the breakfast room offers the most beautiful view of the harbor. Staying at the Hotel Playa Sol definitely enhanced my trip to Cadaques.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank panamacruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed at Playa Sol at the start of June - I would imagine under normal circumstances the town of Cadaques would be a lot busier than it was, but it's been a long winter and many establishments were still prettying themselves up for the summer.
The hotel website says it's had a revamp lately, and whatever they did, they did very well indeed. It's modern without being cold, clean without being stark. The lounge and bar areas are comfortable (even if the bar does close a tad early for some tastes) and welcoming, a good place for a late morning coffee to plan the day, or an evening glass of wine before you set out for dinner.
The rooms are equally comfortable: not particularly large, but clean, functional and with touches of style. Rooms have balconies with chairs or even sunloungers, though the sea-view rooms are clearly preferable to the rooms facing inland over the (very large) garden and pool area.
The pool was a little chilly at the start of June, but the jacuzzi and steam room were in fine order. There's even a basketball/tennis court for more active sun worshippers.
The staff are pleasant and very helpful - they can arrange boat hire, trips, restaurant recommendations and so on. Playa Sol is at the farther end of the port, a five or ten minute walk from the very centre of Cadaques seafront, but it's very much part of the town. There's lots of parking behind and below the hotel, and the wi-fi is free, though you have to ask the front desk for access codes.
All in all, a really pleasant place to stay for a few days of total relaxation.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea-view room - yes, you get the odd car or motorbike passing by at any hour, but you do h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peripateticus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cadaques
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sol Ixent
Hotel Sol Ixent
#2 of 13 in Cadaques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Calina
Hotel Calina
#4 of 13 in Cadaques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Boutique Horta d'en Rahola
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Blaumar Cadaques
Hotel Blaumar Cadaques
#5 of 13 in Cadaques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Octavia
Hotel Octavia
#9 of 13 in Cadaques
3.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
5.2 mi away
Vistabella
Vistabella
#2 of 36 in Roses
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Playa Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Playa Sol

Property: Hotel Playa Sol
Address: Platja Pianc, 3, 17488 Cadaques, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Cadaques
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cadaques
#1 Family Hotel in Cadaques
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cadaques
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Playa Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have been renovating during this last winter two thousend then and eleven quite all of our rooms. Quite all rooms have been completely rebuilt and redecorated changing distributions, creating a complete new atmosphere in our brand new rooms. We have double rooms, rooms for three people, family rooms for four people and also communicating rooms for five to six people. We also offer a brand new Jacuzzi suite and junior suite. All rooms with Internet access Hotspot one hour free.With the beach in front and spectacular views to the village the hotel is well situated in town. The large garden with pool area, invites you also for lunch beside the pool from June to end of September. The hotel offers you two bars, a large open-air swimming pool with Jacuzzi, Hammam and hydrotherapy shower. Sport activities like basket, ping-pong, petanque, kayak rentals, mountain-bikes rentals, tennis-court (paddle size)are free of charge. The hotel offers also surveyed garage places. Hotel closed from middle December to middle February. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Playa Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Sol Hotel
Playa Sol Cadaques

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing