We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply perfect in every way...”
Review of Hotel Playa Sol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Playa Sol
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Cadaques
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

I had booked this hotel as a surprise for my girlfriend who would later become my fiancée that evening in Cadaqués! I reserved the room with Eva who was superb.

The hotel is located on the sea front with its own little beach. The car park is accessed just to the right of the entrance, it's a little tight but very secure. They have great grounds with a lovely pool & tennis court, everything is well maintained.

It appears the hotel has been very tastefully refurbished, elegant decor, great colour schemes, relaxed yet refined public areas. We had a partial sea view room on the 2nd floor and it was perfect, very spacious, big bathroom, small balcony and still a great view over the bay towards the old town.

Eva recommended some great places to eat, especially 'Compartir' which is a must visit, really really excellent. Also Eva recommended driving a few miles to the Cap de Creus lighthouse and eating in the restaurant up there which has stunning views of the Costa Brava coast.

All in all, a super little hotel in a magnificent location in a really, really beautiful artistic & cultural town on the sea with super service by the fantastic Eva!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MickD75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (655)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

240 - 246 of 655 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2012 via mobile

we just checked out of this hotel with our teenage family and my only complaint was a slightly annoying towel system for the poolside, everything else was great.
the staff were very attentive, the facilities (especially the pool, jacuzzi, & hammam) were never overcrowded and set in beautifully kept gardens...all this on one facade, on the other, breath taking views out to sea....
good value but try and get more modern room with a fresher feel.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bu11seye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Stayed for two nights as part of a walking holiday. What a super little hotel. We loved it. Our room faced the pretty bay and had a lovely enclosed balcony to sit and just chill out on while enjoying the scenery. Loved the decor of the hotel which was on a coastal theme and felt very relaxing. Staff were friendly, cheerful and efficient. Breakfast very good with wide choice and also small selection of hot food eg scrambled egg. Superb swimming pool and pretty surrounding gardens at the back of the hotel with plenty of sun loungers to relax on. Would stay at this hotel again at the drop of a hat!Thought Cadaques was a lovely little town which was just right for strolling around and trying a selection of bars and restaurants.

Room Tip: We asked for a sea view which we got and were not disappointed! However, a pool view would also have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MelandSteve56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Our stay at Hotel Playa Sol was a very relaxing two days, "a vacation from our vacation", so to speak. I had visited Cadeques in 1983 during a 6 week trip to France and Spain and was amazed at the changes/growth since then. We took the SARFA bus from Fugueres after visiting the Dali Theater; the hotel was a short walk from the bus stop. It was great having so few decisions and being able to walk all over the village. The restraurant choices in the village were amazing. Our room was very modern and comfortable. We had an outside deck which we enjoyed. The staff were very helpful in recommending restraurants and making reservations for visiting Dali's home. We enjoyed our stay very much and hope to revisit some day in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iatrav999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

I am loathed to write a review of the Playa Sol in some respects as I really don't want the whole world to know about it!! We absolutely love this hotel. It has everything - beaches, lovely garden and pool and a typical town within 5 min walk. We have been going for 3 years and the staff of the family run hotel greet us like old friends.I think it says a lot when all the waiters etc are the same year after year. The lunchtime restaurant serves a variety of delicious food including locally caught fish. Some of the rooms are a little small but if you have a view of the bay that really doesn't matter. My advise is to book early for a room with a sea view and balcony. You will pay slightly more but will never regret it.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Olivers12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

I stayed two nights at the Hotel Playa Sol in a relatively small yet comfortable room facing the water. The hotel was lovely in all respects, so much so that I did little else in town so I could swim in the pristine pool, rest in the hammock, and eat at the fine poolside restaurant. The staff was lovely and the breakfast was excellent. A real gem.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Globetrotter1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Hotel Playa Sol was able to accommodate our family of four at the last minute following an impromptu visit to Cadaques. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful (although one late night receptionist told hubby there was nothing open after 11pm which we discovered to be untrue). Beautiful facilities, great location. If you have time, booking and bagging a balcony would be the way to go.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dcorbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cadaques hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Boutique Horta d'en Rahola
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sol Ixent
Hotel Sol Ixent
#3 of 13 in Cadaques
486 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Octavia
Hotel Octavia
#9 of 13 in Cadaques
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Calina
Hotel Calina
#4 of 13 in Cadaques
385 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel S'Aguarda
Hotel S'Aguarda
#8 of 13 in Cadaques
165 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Blaumar Cadaques
Hotel Blaumar Cadaques
#5 of 13 in Cadaques
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Playa Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Playa Sol

Address: Platja Pianc, 3, 17488 Cadaques, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Cadaques
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cadaques
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cadaques
Price Range: $144 - $315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Playa Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have been renovating during this last winter two thousend then and eleven quite all of our rooms. Quite all rooms have been completely rebuilt and redecorated changing distributions, creating a complete new atmosphere in our brand new rooms. We have double rooms, rooms for three people, family rooms for four people and also communicating rooms for five to six people. We also offer a brand new Jacuzzi suite and junior suite. All rooms with Internet access Hotspot one hour free.With the beach in front and spectacular views to the village the hotel is well situated in town. The large garden with pool area, invites you also for lunch beside the pool from June to end of September. The hotel offers you two bars, a large open-air swimming pool with Jacuzzi, Hammam and hydrotherapy shower. Sport activities like basket, ping-pong, petanque, kayak rentals, mountain-bikes rentals, tennis-court (paddle size)are free of charge. The hotel offers also surveyed garage places. Hotel closed from middle December to middle February. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Playa Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Sol Hotel
Playa Sol Cadaques

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing