We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Compartir

Compartir
Ranked #1 of 107 Restaurants in Cadaques
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The restaurant Compartir opened in April 2012 led by Mateu Casañas, Oriol Castro and Eduard Xatruch. As its name indicates, the cuisine is presented on central dishes for sharing. This transforms the concept of “appetisers” and takes it one step further, as well as creating a surprising and uninhibited ambience among the diners. The menu offers markedly modern dishes and also more traditional suggestions, such as rice dishes. The restaurant is in the historical centre of Cadaqués in an emblematic building that was refurbished at the beginning of the 18th century. One of its main attractive features is the large courtyard where visitors are welcomed and which is a clear example of the identity of this unique corner of the Costa Brava and the Creus Cape. The premises, the rapport with clients and the food, served in an informal and relaxed setting, all work together to transmit our philosophy to visitors, characterised by the search for clients’ greatest satisfaction in all aspects. Know-how that is passed on every day thanks to the team led in the kitchen by Marc, David, Víctor, Ander, Alejandro and Molins and in the dining room by Ramon, Roger, Sara, Marga and Tassi. Currently, Compartir is recognised in the most important gastronomic guides: Compartir has a rating of Two Suns in the Repsol Guide and is recommended by the Michelin Guide. In December 2014 Casañas, Castro and Xatruch’s second project was brought to fruition: the restaurant Disfrutar in Barcelona, with a different proposal to that of Compartir, clearly avant-garde and with a tasting menu format.
Benfleet, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

We went to this restaurant for my birthday and it was one of the best meals we have had! The food and the service was excellent! We had dinner for four for under €200 which was very reasonable for what we had! The chocolate liquid balls are a must as well as the red tuna! We will definitely be returning!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Clare N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,550 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,126
    291
    83
    29
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Compartir - Cadques”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

Having heard that the chefs here were those from El Bulli we had high hopes and were not disappointed. The food was superb with touches of the unexpected. Compartir means to share in Spanish and the dishes are placed in the centre of the table with sufficient portions for the number of diners. Each course was beautifully presented and very tasty. Well worth a visit and considering the quality of the food not expensive.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Liz P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpellier, Languedoc-Roussillon, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quality, simpclicity, originality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

"Well known ingredients, chosen carefully, arranged and coupled with creativity"

We had a lunch here when we took a trip to Dali's house, which is just nearby.
The restaurant is a bit tricky to find, but the townsfolk were very helpful and we found the street with little, if no difficulty at all.

I suggest you get a reservation if you want to check out this place, because it gets virtually flooded with people after 2pm.
The waiters are helpful and very progessional, the service is just great. The waiter explains that the meals ordered here are made to be shared, a concept i already applied since my more vulnereable years (not being a full-time misantrophe).

We ordered "amanido ajo blanco", a sort of spanish almond cream with beetroot and strawberries, a potato-cream with truffle and egg and some iberian ham (which is a must in spain). All of the above were completed with some bread dipped in olive oil and tomato and the whole of the meal was just the best one can imagine in mediterranean cuisine. One could tell that the ingredients were chosen individually, and then coupled together with great care and creativity.

Our main course was 2 orders of entrecote consisting of 40% white fat and 60% of actual meat (with felur de sel, nothing new here..), with mashed potato (with some great olive oil and barely tasteable paprika on it). Also, we ate some salmon, dipped in consommé and soja, which was just a great trouvaille and which was the definite summit of the main course.

For desert, we had a Catalian cream, ressembling creme brulee (only less dense) and an order of "liquid chocolate spheres" consisting of chocolate spheres with solid chocolate outside, filled with liquid dark chocolate inside, completed with a spoonfull of cassis ice-cream, none of which was too sweet (big plus in my book).

You can trust the waiters whith a choice of wine, unfortunately not with refilling your glass,
To sum up, this was a very unique experience in a great environment, with a restricted, but pleasing menu, with quality ingredients and a professional and yet creative way of using them.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kristóf K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Really perfect experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Love this place! The food was just exquisite. We had lunch for two and the bill was just under €100. Amazing value considering what we got. We selected three starters, two mains and two desserts and faulted not one. The desserts and starters were particular favourites. Look forward to returning.
Service was great, we sat out on the terrace which was very comfortable. Single tiny fault was that we felt the starters and half portion options were not explained well. This would influence your choice but in truth its all good so not something to cry about.
So, so worth a visit if you are close by.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elaine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roussillon
Level Contributor
102 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Outstanding tapas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

You can park in the main carpark of Cadaques that you see as you come into the town at the first roundabout. It's a 2 minute walk from there and there are usually spaces except maybe in July/August.
Try to get a table outside if the weather's good - there's no view but the terrace is a nice suntrap. Inside is roomy and I imagine in winter would be v nice.
It's my 2nd review of this place, but I really feel its worth it. The staff are young, hip and friendly and were happy to speak English and French to ourselves and the tables around us. If one person couldn't manage the language, they found someone who could. English and French menus are available, and the winelist had a French translation. The vibe is definitely laidback - noisy even - so families with young kids, big parties, romantic couples and serious foodies all seem to mix well.
It's worth speaking to the staff to understand how the place works and what you should order. Personally, I think the real strength is in the smaller 'starter' portions....I live v close to Spain and have eaten a lot of tapas, and I've never had a better take on the modern, fresh, full-flavour style than here. These guys will be famous.
Mussels with bearnaise sauce....sounds weird, dreadful even? Well try them - they're amazing! Tempura of probably the best prawns you'll ever eat - simple and delicious, but v hard to do that well. The fattest, juicest razor clams you could wish for, truffled cheesey eggs etc etc
Main courses are also great, but I just wished I'd had a second round of the smaller dishes. Desserts are original and beautifully done too, not just an after thought.
The winelist is full of some pretty obscure wines, but both times I've asked for help to choose and the knowledge of the staff has been great. The wines are REALLY cheap for the quality - many bargains under 20€ a bottle including a white made by the ex El Bulli sommelier.
You can come away from here spending under 30€ per head easily, including a glass of wine and coffee. Or you can have a blowout and rack it up to maybe 80€ per person with a good amount of booze. Either way it's well worth it, and for me it's the future of intelligent and adventurous dining, without the formality many of us loathe.
I only wish there were more like this the French side of the border.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Compartir also viewed

Cadaques, Costa Brava
 
Cadaques, Costa Brava
 
Cadaques, Costa Brava
Cadaques, Costa Brava
 

Been to Compartir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing