We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great recommendation!”
Review of Es Balconet

Es Balconet
Ranked #8 of 109 Restaurants in Cadaques
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great recommendation!”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We asked a local waitress where to go for some great seafood. We couldn't have been happier with her recommendation. The fish was fresh and prepared perfectly. Cozy and quaint, loved it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WanderMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    327
    217
    56
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Delicious seafood”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Very delicious and fresh seafoods. The rice (arroz mar y montaña) is also very good. We ordered lobster for dinner and it was really delicious. If you are lucky enough to get one table on the balcony it should be really a good experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maplekf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
378 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Special authentic restaurant”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We had dinner at this quaint restaurant in beautiful Cadaques , Spain. The atmosphere is lovely, service is excellent and the food is exquisite. Delicious local favorites prepared to perfection. The portions are generous, and the price is moderate to expensive. but worth every penny. The fish is delicious. If you reserve, you can sit out on the little balcony overlooking the street. You will not be disappointed

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank canada777-1207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Genuine Catalan seafood cuisine with charming service”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

I had originally dined at Es Balconet and rated it average on the basis of both the cuisine and service (the atmosphere itself had been very pleasant, especially for an intimate dinner). I had the pleasure of returning to Cadaques and give it a second try over an April weekend. We were warmly greeted by the staff and offered a nice table near the balcony. We had a foie gras salad as a starter, with generous slabs of rich foie and a rich salad. We followed with red prawns, grilled, and scallops. Both were extremely fresh (the prawns locally sourced) and delicious. To top things off, I had a homemade lemon sorbet, which was both zingy and refreshing. The chef came to speak to us after the meal which I greatly appreciated and we left contented. Top of the crop in Cadaques and worth the second visit.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank slickricspain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We really liked this restaurant, it has a lovely atmosphere especially on a cold windy night. We imagine it would also be lovely on a hot and sultry night with the fans and doors open to the balcony especially if you are lucky enough to get a table on the balcony. The food is excellent and the service friendly and helpful. The only down is that it is slightly more expensive than other restaurants in Cadaques but we only tried two and this was the one we liked best despite paying a little more.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank enlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Es Balconet also viewed

Cadaques, Costa Brava
 
Cadaques, Costa Brava
Cadaques, Costa Brava
 

Been to Es Balconet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing