We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Little cat cafe”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of El Gato Azul

El Gato Azul
Ranked #42 of 107 Restaurants in Cadaques
Price range: $13 - $32
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
1 review
“Little cat cafe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

We found this place occasionally when it was raining on the street and it seemed so pretty, calm and warm. And it is fully so. The only thing is that you receive your order not very quick but like in 10-15 mins, but this was ok. Food is good, we tried toasts, really good. atmosphere is very pleasant, one cat is walking between tables. Highly recommend.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cheviana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    65
    19
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A tucked away find - a great addition to the options!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Having been lucky enough to come to Cadaques for over 20 years, we've seen many restaurants come & go so it was great to try this new addition! Just up from the latest 'hip' bar in the town, don't let the twee cat theme put you off! The food was excellent and quite unusual for the area, and decently priced too. Do not go here if you expect, in fact demand, tip top service as this is a foody restaurant run by normal people who can make mistakes like the rest of us, not a fast food joint run by false smiles!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beanhoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenade, France
Level Contributor
210 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“The only thing special was the attitude”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

We went to El Gato Azul for dinner. The place is small, I would say less than 30 seats, but nice. The food on the menu is not your typical restaurant food, and this was a clear plus, but the taste was more ok than good. The only reason why the restaurant gets 3 stars instead of 4 is the attitude of the owner which I would define highly inappropriate for a business owner

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank seifer1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Colorado
Level Contributor
351 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Funky atmosphere, fantastic food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

Well, the location is wonderful. Tucked away on a hill on a cobblestone street, below the church. The server/ owner is French and so elegant. But the restaurant is tres casual. The famous cat lady lives a few doors up the hill, and there are cats in the kitchen here in the restaurant. The cook is Bolivian. All that said, we had an incredible meal. I had Indonesian green chicken curry, with Cointreau poached figs for dessert. It was incredible. They were out of the Tagine,of lamb...next time. The food was really incredible

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank canada777-1207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivanovo, Russia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Pretty place to spend a lunchtime”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Very small restaurant with authentic dishes. Lacks English menu translation, so it's not easy to get what the catalan fish name means. Fortunately, the waitress speaks English a bit, and we got something to taste. Food is something different from our habits, but of good quality and size of portions. Prices are not too big, but we spend about 15 euros per person, not including the drinks.
Obvious minus was the lack of airconditioning, it was really hot at daytime and we couldn't get a relaxation at the table. The plus is the Pepita cat (not blue, anyway), which walked in and said 'hi folks' :)

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Serge M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Gato Azul also viewed

Cadaques, Costa Brava
Cadaques, Costa Brava
 
Cadaques, Costa Brava
Cadaques, Costa Brava
 

Been to El Gato Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing