We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is paradise”
Review of Hotel Sol Ixent

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Sol Ixent
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Cadaques
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 6, 2011

The owners of this hotels choose a perfect concept of design meeting comfort.
The hotel is located just outside the city center of Cadaques. Because the city is located in a natural park environment, no tall buildings are allowed, which makes it a great place to stay.
Even when I got sick from a virus, or bad gambas in a dodgy restaurant in the center of Cadaques, the staff did everything to make me more comfortable.
We will definetelly go back there!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EriW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (477)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

108 - 114 of 477 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2010

My wife and I spent six nights here at the end of Sept. into Oct. and thourghly enjoyed our time at the Hotel. We found all the Hotel staff friendly and helpfull, especially Carmen on Reception.
You own car is required as away from the centre of Cadaques but this provides the advantage of a quiet location. Breakfasts good and resturant provides a good choice.
We found the La Gritta Restaurant in centre of Cadaques "The place to Eat" with good mix of locals and visitors all enjoying the varied menue and local wine at very affordable prices.
We will return!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IAN201237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2010

plus side:
modern clean building
lovely pool and surrounding area (shame someone's built a house between it and the sea but hey, that's Spain...)
great view nonetheless from our 1st floor balcony
didn't feel crowded despite being high season
large beds
free (if slow) WiFi
very friendly staff
plenty of parking
not full of Brits

ok:
breakfast adequate
20 minute walk into town (don't even think about taking the car into the one way maze!). Some beach snack/bars within 10 mins walk
restaurant hit and miss- the evening we had a huge plate of mussels followed by a good lump of steak cooked to perfection and it wa sa great meal. At lunchtimes the menu was limited and portions mean. (tip-drive 2 minutes to the beach shacks in Port Lligatt for lunch instead- decent food, decent portions and half the price)

not so good:
decor minimal - quite sparse and austeer, pretty characterless away from the pool
at breakfast time they were frequently running out of things and I had to ask (teabags, cups etc)
god those sunbeds are uncomfortable!
expected more for the money - no kettle/fridge/glasses in the room/warm and fluffy touches, all quite minimal and poor value

We had a very pleasant stay here, but would look around for better value if we came back

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jumbobelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2010

If you're after a clean, minimalist, hipster hideout then this hotel is perfect.
It's very clean, friendly, stylish and quiet. Could also be described as slightly antiseptic, but that might suite some people.
The neighbouring town Cadaques is delightful - as are the nearby beaches . But you'll need a car/moped to get to them.

This is one of the best parts of Catalonia - I urge anyone to go. Dali house is a must.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank willhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2010

This is basically a summer tourist hotel - there's no much to it other than rooms, restaurant and pool - but it has a classy feel to it that makes it a great place to do nothing for a few days. Rooms have nice little deck areas with beds of lavender giving a rural atmosphere. The staff were very helpful. We didn't have a car and the hotel offered to give us a lift into town when we left rather than have us walk for 15 minutes. The guys in the restaurant were very patient with our bad Spanish. Food was good. This is an excellent summer holiday hotel.

The location is its only possible drawback - it is a fair 15 minute walk from the town and there is no bus - but the walk is pleasant, and it means the hotel is quiet. It is also a short stroll in the opposite direction from the town to a lovely headland area with a couple of small beaches.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saddlers88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2010

Went to Cadaiques to visit Dali Museum and house.Did not book but was given choice of several different rooms when we arrived at 4pm.Excellent smart modern hote lwith well appointed rooms .Large pool.Great restaurant with reasonable menue and a la carte .Well priced wines and good service.
Hotel arranged reservation( a must) at museum which is a five minute drive away.Hotel is short drive from centre of Cadaques which has several restaurants and is very pretty.Lots of walks around coast which has stunning scenary.
We decided to stay another night and even though the hotel was fully booked,found us a room.Reception staff very helpful and charming.
No beach so not good for young chidren but very accommodating.
Could not fault this hotel.Even the beds were comfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexander67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2010

We spent a night at Sol Ixent between Barcelona and Carcassonne after spending a few hours at the Dali Museum in Figueres. In some respects it is like a midrange motel in the US, but it has beautiful gardens off the terraces of many rooms and it has a wonderful pool and pool area. It also has a terrific restaurant!

Good wifi and free parking are pluses. Distance from the town of Cadaques is a negative.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grayray1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cadaques hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Calina
Hotel Calina
#4 of 13 in Cadaques
384 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Playa Sol
Hotel Playa Sol
#1 of 13 in Cadaques
638 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Tarongeta
Hotel Tarongeta
#7 of 13 in Cadaques
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Boutique Horta d'en Rahola
0.6 mi away
Hotel Blaumar Cadaques
Hotel Blaumar Cadaques
#5 of 13 in Cadaques
250 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel S'Aguarda
Hotel S'Aguarda
#8 of 13 in Cadaques
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sol Ixent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sol Ixent

Address: Sant Baldiri, 10, 17488 Cadaques, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Cadaques
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Cadaques
Price Range: $94 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sol Ixent 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Sol Ixent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing