We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just right for Cadaques!”
Review of Hotel Sol Ixent

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Sol Ixent
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Cadaques
Certificate of Excellence
Ariège
Level Contributor
172 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Just right for Cadaques!”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We asked for and received a room with sea view. Balcony with the room. the room was nice size, lovely bathroom with full bath, very comfortable. the breakfast was awesome, from eggs, bacon, sausages, etc, to all kinds of sweet rolls, cakes, several different breads, juices, even the coffee was good! We also sampled the restaurant in the evening, it was not in season, so only a menu was available, which was very good, but we would have preferred more choices. To go to the restaurant and to breakfast, you walk through a lovely garden with a lot of herbs (rosemary, laurel leaf, etc) and olive trees. You pass the pool, it was too cold to sample but very nice and tempting all the same. The hotel is outside of the town, they will tell you where to park when you go to town and from there it is all by foot, nothing is very far. All in all, a lovely experience, and the welcome is warm and full of smiles!

Room Tip: Need to ask for a room with sea view, which are slightly more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiricol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    175
    27
    3
    7
See reviews for
78
296
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

This is our second time here. We repeated because the first visit to Sol Ixent hotel was wonderful, so this is. It's necessary to mention that the hotel's name means literally Rising Sun. The reason is obvious, when you wake up in the morning you can see the sun just rising from the sea, you need to enjoy this experience. The room is perfect, both with a nice terrace and a roomy bathroom. Breakfast takes place by the pool, the sun embraces the atmosphere and you just let the time going by. Don't you forget to "talk" to the hotel's pet, a roman cat that will catch all your senses. I hope we can stay here for some more times in the future.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NOWAYJOSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsdale, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Sol Ixent. It was excellent, ask for a room with terrace overlooking the Mediterranean. Magnificent sunrise. It costs more, but worth it. The room overlooks the sea and a nearby olive grove. The staff was courteous and extremely helpful. The food in the restaurant was great and breakfast was included, it was very good too. It is not in the heart of Cadaques which provides a more private and quiet setting. We were there in October and found it to be great place to be off season. There is ample free car parking.

Room Tip: The rooms with terrace overlooking the sea. There are three on the floor above the reception area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Columbia400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in September, 2013. The staff was SO helpful-- we had booked an apartment for our stay in Cadaques but there were some issues upon arrival and we needed a place to stay right away. My husband was also worried because it was not only our honeymoon, but my birthday the next day and we wanted our time to be special. The front desk staff were able to accommodate us at the last minute, even though they were almost fully booked, and made arrangements so that we could have a nicer room with a view for the first two nights of our stay (and then we had to switch to a nice room without a view for the third). The hotel is incredibly clean-- the bed was comfy, the bathroom was quite large, and we had an awesome patio with a view of the pool and ocean. Nothing is fancy or ornate, but it was incredibly comfortable. VERY quiet at night, too. Breakfast was great, though dinner wasn't the best, unfortunately.

Despite looking like it's far from town on a map, it's actually a quick walk. One of my favourite things about my time in Cadaques was the walk along the water from the hotel into town. You can find an awesome little trail right along the sea that will take you into town in about 30-40 minutes and it is beautiful (it's a shorter walk if you stick to the roads). We found some quiet places to swim and sunbathe along this path, too. It's a bit rocky and narrow in some parts so watch out if you are mobility impaired (I did it wearing my birkenstock sandals so it's not that challenging). Also, it's quite dark around the hotel so we were able to see the stars and the milky way at night when it was clear.

My husband speaks Catalan, but I don't, and I found that all of the staff were able to speak English.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the ocean. They may be more money but it is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura_Alison9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
216 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Firstly, if you are new driving on the right and are not a confident driver (or nervous passenger)you should be aware that the only road into Cadaques involves a drive over mountains with blind bend and huge drops. Stunning scenery but I wouldn't personally do this at night.
My sat-nav struggled to find the hotel, fortunately I'd printed off a map on the town beforehand, suggest that you do to.
The first room that we given by the unsmiling receptionist was 109 which was really awful. It was dark and pokey and the window was on the path to the car park so that anyone entering or leaving the car park looked directly into the room. We paid an fee of 15 euros a night to upgrade to a pool facing room (room 119). Money well spent. It was big and airy, had a small terrace with a couple of chairs overlooking the pool and with a side view of the sea. Strongly recommend that you ask for pool or sea facing room.
Parking is free in their car park via a very tight alley. There is plenty of parking outside too which seemed very safe.
The hotel is in a very quiet part of the town just by the sea.
You should be aware that although the 25 minute walk into town is very scenic it is also VERY dark on the way home. Do NOT attempt walking back along the beach route at night without first finding your way in daylight. Take a spare torch too. It is a very safe and beautiful walk especially on a clear night. There is an alternative walk only to road but it is much further and unlit too. There is a small taxi rank adjacent to the 'Casino' on the sea front if you don't fancy the walk back.
Breakfast was about average though with a lovely outdoor setting with views over the pool to the sea. Nice fresh bread and coffee, cheap cheese and hams.
Other than the unsmiling receptionist that checked us in, all the staff were great especially the lady who was on reception most of the time (have a great time in London)

Room Tip: Only go for a pool or sea face room. Ours was on the ground floor which was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank TKPUNK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

What a great find - came to Cadaques to visit Casa Dali and enjoy a break on the coast; in retrospect really pleased that we stayed there! This is a fabulous place; lovely staff, relaxed, quiet, well set out, and located far enough away (but an easy scenic walk) from the tourist hussle of the town centre. The hotel's restaurant is really good - great food at a reasonable price in a superb environment. It got our vote for every night of our 3 day stay. Good off street parking, at no cost!

This was one of the highlights on a nine week circumnavigation of Spain / Portugal.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RTWer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palatine, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed in Sol Ixent for 2 nights June 25-27. The staff was extremely welcoming and understanding that we had a little bit of a hard time finding the place. The staff seems to know how special this place really is, and their calm, friendly way of treating guests and meticulousness in maintaining the public areas and rooms is evident. The hotel is a little gem, set within sight of the brilliant sea, in a great location away from the main part of the city (though not too far, maybe 10-15 minute walk) and close to other parts of the peninsula if you like to walk or hike.
The room was spacious with a big bed, balcony, and huge bathroom, and everything was pristinely clean. The main guest area of the hotel seems to almost touch the coast, and has a large pool and a gorgeous seating area for breakfast, drinks, or dinner. Nothing was over assumptive - rather understated but so elegant, reflecting the beauty of Cadaques.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cadaques hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Playa Sol
Hotel Playa Sol
#1 of 13 in Cadaques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Calina
Hotel Calina
#4 of 13 in Cadaques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Boutique Horta d'en Rahola
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Blaumar Cadaques
Hotel Blaumar Cadaques
#5 of 13 in Cadaques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Octavia
Hotel Octavia
#9 of 13 in Cadaques
3.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Llane Petit
Hotel Llane Petit
#6 of 13 in Cadaques
4.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sol Ixent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sol Ixent

Property: Hotel Sol Ixent
Address: Sant Baldiri, 10, 17488 Cadaques, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Cadaques
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Cadaques
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sol Ixent 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Sol Ixent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing