We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value, modern setting, knowledgable staff”
Review of Hotel Sol Ixent

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Sol Ixent
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Cadaques
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Perched atop a hill with spectacular views, the hotel offers easy access to walking trails. We were disappointed we didn't have enough time to do the 1-hour hike to the lighthouse. For the price, the ocean view from the terrace was a surprise and a plus. The hotel is well designed, especially if you're a fan of simple, modern architecture. Beds were comfortable, breakfast was lovely with plenty of options, and most of all the staff was warm and helpful. The property is about a 15 minute walk from town, which would certainly be a plus in the high, crowded season. Seems the object in this village should be to park and stay out of the car. Even in sparsely populated off season, driving into the village is a hassle. Signs to the hotel were clearly marked. We get lost easily--and had not trouble finding Sol Ixent. The parking lot is rough going through a narrow passageway, but there was plenty of parking in front of the hotel. A highlight of our trip.

Room Tip: Seemed like most rooms had terraces with ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Darcy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (483)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

93 - 99 of 483 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2012

Again, this is more my mistake - I had some expectations of what a hotel would be like on this coastline and one so near the Dali studio.
The purpose of staying at Cadaques was to dine at El Bulli and to visit Dali's studio but in hindsight I would have been better staying at Publo in the beautiful B&B (Unicorn Dorado).
This had been next to Galia's home and in fact was probably just as close to El Bulli as Cadaques.
I had assumed more of a beach atmosphere with the hotel but in reality it is more like a family hotel away from the beaches and away from the centre of town.
Even getting there was anightmare - it is not well signposted and we drove in circles for 20 minutes before we eventually fond it.
Being relatively modern, there is no history, no charm of a chateau - just relatively small rooms with no views.
I certainly had no sense that I was anywhere near any playground of the rich and famous.
Besides that, even the trip across and through the national park makes it a difficult destination - I would hate to go there in peak season.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RonWamberal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2011

Away from old town so it is a good place to chill out, relax and enjoy the pool and clean, comfortable room. Staff were friendly and very helpful and were among the best during my stay in Spain. There is a nice, quiet walk along the rocky coast about 2 houses away from the hotel.

Although it may be a little expensive for a single traveller, it is pretty reasonable for couples.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eracnud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2011

We stayed only one night off-season, before visiting Casa Museu Dali, and it rained hard most of the time, but it didn't prevent us from enjoying hotel, charming town of Cadaques, Casa Museu Dali and wonderful views from Cap de Creus. The hotel was almost empty and quiet, the rooms and service were quite nice. You could sit on the balcony and enjoy the grounds and see views. Better location than the centre of Cadaques. We enjoyed our short stay there, and would like to be back.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

This was a modern pleasant hotel most suitable for families with small children as the room were a little sparely furnished. However the breakfast room was lovely space with a view of the pool and sea . It was the end of the season so the public spaces weren't lit in the evening. Location is a way out of town but that means you get a car park of course. The walk is a pleasant 30 minutes to the centre on Cadaques which is the nicest spanish seaside town I have visited.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harriet g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2011

Although this Hotel is not in the centre of Cadaques it is well worth staying in. The staff are welcoming and helpful. Bedroom with a balcony looking out to sea allowing you to watch the sunrises. Pool and surroundings spotless as were the rooms. TV with French channels and possibility of watching films in VO. Dinners were delicious, good quality and well presented. We ate in town a couple of times but the Hotel served much better food. Breakfasts are generous and varied and being able to eat by the pool in October was a plus!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jotissot5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2011

This place is the best in Cadaques in terms of quality of the facility, price/quality performance and service attitude of the staf. Just perfect!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hvangrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cadaques hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Playa Sol
Hotel Playa Sol
#1 of 13 in Cadaques
654 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Calina
Hotel Calina
#4 of 13 in Cadaques
385 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Tarongeta
Hotel Tarongeta
#7 of 13 in Cadaques
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Boutique Horta d'en Rahola
0.9 mi away
Hotel Octavia
Hotel Octavia
#9 of 13 in Cadaques
257 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Blaumar Cadaques
Hotel Blaumar Cadaques
#5 of 13 in Cadaques
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sol Ixent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sol Ixent

Address: Sant Baldiri, 10, 17488 Cadaques, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Cadaques
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Cadaques
Price Range: $105 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sol Ixent 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Sol Ixent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing