We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Solid value for the money, with an excellent location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Octavia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Octavia
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Cadaques
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Solid value for the money, with an excellent location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2011

We were in Cadaques at mid-tourist season, so the hotel was not very full or (as a result) very noisy. I think in high season, noise from other rooms might be a problem. The air conditioner was extremely weak and the room was a bit stuffy -- again, not a problem in May but likely a problem in mid-summer. But it had some good strengths: balcony on street side offered a nice view toward the water and of the city commerce; excellent location in central Cadaques, close to everything and opposite a big grocery store; spacious, very clean room with decent beds; black out curtains made sleeping in easy. During high season I would not recommend this hotel, but in the off season it was perfect. Also, the hotel has a locked parking lot for cars, free to hotel guests. Staff weren't particularly warm, but were very helpful when asked.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sfchefmaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    110
    59
    13
    7
See reviews for
53
105
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2011

First the good points: the Octavia is only a very short distance from the seashore, and a stone's throw from all amenities (including a supermarket handily located across the street). The rooms, (large) bathrooms and common areas are all spotlessly clean.
However: I agree with the remark made by another reviewer to the effect that the hotel lacks those little touches that should come with a three-star rating. In fact, it looks and feels more like a good, if characterless, two-star hotel. Also, breakfast was completely tasteless (I think they must have organised a call to tender for the most insipid croissants to be found south of the French border), and coffee was basically black water.
The worst aspect, though, was that one definitely felt the absence of anybody that could be described as the person(s) responsible for the running of the hotel: this was left to a handful of South American girls who were quite polite and performed their routine duties well, but who were not exactly hands-on and gave the impression of not having a great deal of initiative. I am not blaming them: it is up to management to make itself present and pro-active, and I'm afraid in this particular case management was nowhere to be seen. Perhaps they were too busy attending to their two other businesses in Cadaqués (a hostal and a restaurant) to bother with the Octavia. If such is the case, I suggest they downsize.
Would I recommend this hotel to a friend? It depends on what they'd be looking for. I suppose it's fine if you just want a clean place to sleep and are not too bothered about breakfast, but I do think the wonderful place that is Cadaqués deserves a lot better.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ccona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2010

We loved our time in Cadaques staying at the Octavia. We had trouble finding the hotel, driving across a 'square' to get to the street to the Octavia seemed unusual. However once there all was good. Car parking was easy and it was a very good central location.
Rooms were very clean and the staff were relaxed and helpful. We had a little balcony, you could see the sea to the right down the street. Here we enjoyed drinks bought from the supermarket over the road. Breakfast was adequate.
There were better hotels in Cadeques right on the water but I would guess they would be quite a bit more expensive. Octavia was good value for money and we had a great stay here.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sailaway007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2010

The first thing to know, is that Cadaques has the most confusing street layout of anywhere I have ever driven. Street names are difficult to find or read. Maps are useless. That’s not the Octavia’s fault, however, and once you find it, it is easy to get back to.

The hotel is clean and simple. Our room (3rd floor, front) was large, had a comfy bed and large bathroom. From the balcony, it was possible (just) to see the sea at the end of the street. Street noise was minimal and the shutters were very effective. Breakfast was good.

Two recommendations while you’re in town: do not miss the interior of the church. It is boring on the outside but, boy, do they make up for that inside. It is stunningly ornate. The food at Casa Nun (turn left onto the seafront) was outstanding and the tempura appetizer was one of the best dishes I have ever eaten anywhere!

Two cautions: our food experience at T’Aronger (?spelling) was not the best – the food went back, but the staff were very pleasant. To console ourselves, we went to the Hostal Bar / Night Club. Great and very famous interior, but stratospheric prices: €24 for one cocktail, a glass of dodgy red wine and a water.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1bar2far
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
68 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2010

Firstly this is a cheap hotel with a fantastic location and also free parking. The breakfast is minimal and pretty basic but there is a supermarket opposite and hundreds of restaurants in the area. The town itself is beautiful and would totally recommend a visit. There are not many high class hotels but as we hardly spent any time there it was no problem. The rooms are large enough, clean and as I say great location.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank plainchoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2010

Hotel Octavia was a welcome surprise compared to other hotels of the same rating. They are perfectly located in the center of Cadaques. The rooms were clean, the shower was great (not always the case in Europe), the staff was friendly and the breakfast bar more than adequate. If you need anything else, the market is directly across the street. Friends came to visit and they were able to park in the hotel's complimentary parking lot nearby. (This helps tremendously, as parking is limited in Cadaques.) The two drawbacks were: 1) the internet access was only available in the lobby; however, it's a comfortable lobby with plenty of room and 2) it's a bit noisy in the mornings due to delivery trucks in town. Regardless, I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aquasib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights. The hotel has an excellent location close to everything, but lacks the small touches that could make it outstanding. Whilst clean, there were absolutely no frills that merit the price being charged. The breakfast was barely acceptable and consisted of tea/coffee, cornflakes, a small selection of rolls, a plate of cheese and some sort of sandwich meat, tomatoes, plain yogurt and fruit. The yogurt was the only nice bit and the quality of the fruit was unforgivable (considering that right across the street in the little store you could buy amazing fruit!) The apples were old, soft and wrinkled, the plums were overripe and bruised and the kiwi was underripe. I think this hotel is fine if you want a no frills stay, but I seriously think you could do better.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CA_expat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cadaques hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Playa Sol
Hotel Playa Sol
#1 of 13 in Cadaques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Sol Ixent
Hotel Sol Ixent
#2 of 13 in Cadaques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel S'Aguarda
Hotel S'Aguarda
#8 of 13 in Cadaques
3.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Residencia
Hotel La Residencia
#10 of 13 in Cadaques
3.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Calina
Hotel Calina
#4 of 13 in Cadaques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Blaumar Cadaques
Hotel Blaumar Cadaques
#5 of 13 in Cadaques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Octavia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Octavia

Property: Hotel Octavia
Address: St Vicenc s/n, 17488 Cadaques, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Cadaques
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Cadaques
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Octavia 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Octavia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing