We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for money one night stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel el Castillo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel el Castillo
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Ponferrada
sheffield
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good value for money one night stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for one night during a biking holiday. The staff were friendly and helpful. Room was basic, clean and quiet (room on the side of the hotel). Good, secure underground parking. Downside was the almost non-existent breakfast in the public bar. However, this is not a problem, as there are plenty of bars in the area that provide good breakfasts. Would stay again if in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the side of the hotel and a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deborah030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    111
    61
    16
    1
See reviews for
44
89
21
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Hueneme, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

This is the second year we have stayed while walking the Camino. Nice modern hotel with reasonable prices. English language channels on the telly.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PHPHIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

Some pluses: the shower was great and it was close to the castle.

The minuses: unwelcoming check-in process, hard beds, and generally unfriendly staff.

As we were walking the Camino, we wanted to relax. As soon as we arrived, we were treated as unwelcome guests. Trying to sleep, we were assaulted by super hard beds.

It was not a pleasant experience. Stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SeaJonathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrevieja, Spain
Level Contributor
60 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2012

Location is the best! It`s trifling matter to go to the casttle from the hotel! Just 1-2 minutes! Hotel is good. Big room and clean, good bath. Breakfast and stuff not so. You should ask what you want in Spanish(because it`s one Lenguage here) and may by(if you`re spell all the all correct ) you can got it! Because, they haven`t any of menu! For me, it`s not the problem.... for you.. i don`t know... Don`t think that you can to go there only with English, you MUST speak Spanish))))... Young lady from the reception didn`t know the where is the iron`s bridge... Gave me the 3 places and every time, with "may be"...))))))))))))))))))))))) But the city, in Spanish, has name, because of that bridge!!!!!!!!!!!! I found... Except this, all is good- you can find a parking in hotel or near without problem(winter time), not much people in the city.... Great castle and great view.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luluka35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2011

Good value here, secure car-parking, nice room, light breakfast ok. We had a nice dinner in the restaurant of the hotel.Not much English spoken but we all managed.

Room Tip: Back room was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SydneyMarka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2010

Recently I and my other half were walking a part of the Camino; Ponferrada was our final stop after six tough enough days! We arrived at the hotel after a 17km trek, that thankfully took us around the city so avoiding main roads, etc., to be 'greeted' by three young 'widows'. Neither look us in the eye, smiled, welcomed us or in anyway made us feel welcome - quite extraordinary really. We got our room which was on the first floor and facing on to the noisy main street - this wasn't going to work and so a change was sought. After much 'huffing and puffing' we finally got a quiet alternative. We slept OK but breakfast the following morning and our check-out followed a similar pattern of warmth!
Avoid for sure, not unless of course you like being made feel unwelcome!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jiffer14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
144 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2010

Staff were helpful. Hotel is clean and that is the positive!! Rooms on the road side are noisy and the rooms are very basic. The beds are the worst I have ever slept on since I went camping as a kid. They felt like the "old straw mattress" and when you woke up after no sleep you realise why!!!

If you are passing through, give it a miss!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank handyspanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ponferrada hotels
0.6 mi away
AC Hotel Ponferrada
AC Hotel Ponferrada
#2 of 15 in Ponferrada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.6 mi away
AroiPonferrada
AroiPonferrada
#4 of 15 in Ponferrada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bierzo Plaza
Bierzo Plaza
#3 of 15 in Ponferrada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Temple Ponferrada
Hotel Temple Ponferrada
#15 of 15 in Ponferrada
3.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
2.8 mi away
AS Hotel Ponferrada
AS Hotel Ponferrada
#12 of 15 in Ponferrada
3.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Alda Novo
Hotel Alda Novo
#9 of 15 in Ponferrada
3.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel el Castillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel el Castillo

Property: Hotel el Castillo
Address: Avenida Castillo 115, 24401 Ponferrada, Spain
Location: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Leon > Ponferrada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Ponferrada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel el Castillo 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel el Castillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing