We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostal Virgen de la Encina
Ranked #1 of 8 Ponferrada B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 7, 2013

I highly recommend this hostal. I was walking the Camino de Santiago. Don't be put off by the term "hostal". The tourist office gave me a list of accommodation and a few recommendations ranging from hostals, budget hotels to 3 star hotels which I briefly inspected before making the decision where to stay. I was not disappointed in my decision.

My room on the 1st floor had a renovated private bathroom, airconditioning, tv and balcony. The room had old fashion floral furnishing (not to my personal taste) but it was very clean, comfortable and quiet. There is a central lift for tired legs. Staff were very friendly and welcoming. The bar area was a great place to relax and unwind with tasty snacks and vino tinto and good for people watching. The hostal is located directly across from the tourist office and castle in the old part of the city. Great value for the price. The only negative was the patchy WIFI connection. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mahiwahoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (45)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 45 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2013

My husband and I spent one night at La Virgen de Encina Hostal Ponferrada while walking the Camino de Santiago de Compostela. We arrived in Ponferrada by bus and it was a half-hour uphill walk from the bus station. When the Castillo Templario de Ponferrada comes into view, it is very rewarding. It is the partially restored shell of a Templar castle for the knights who once protected the pilgrims on the Camino.

We had no accommodation when we entered the Ponferrada Tourist Office (located right outside the castle walls). The woman in the office told us there was a hostel across the street… I envisioned an albergue, with many people crowded into a room full of bunk beds. She assured me the rooms in the hostel were private with their own bathrooms, so I wandered over and liked what I saw. The rooms for the hostel were over a bar. They have a small elevator that can take you upstairs, if you want. Our room had a Juliet balcony that overlooked the castle. The room was a nice-sized, clean, quiet and had a comfortable bed. The bathroom had a tub/shower with plenty of hot water and good water pressure.

In the morning you can purchase a small breakfast before you continue on your way. The woman who served us breakfast was very nice and went out of her way to make sure we were satisfied.

I liked the Old Town section of Ponferrada… the rest of this town was (in my opinion) is hard on a pilgrim. The Camino signs are few and far between, the sidewalks were cracked and uneven. A lot of pilgrims complained about getting lost trying to get out of town and I can see where this would be a problem! I, myself had to ask for help from some locals. But the Old Town has a very different feel. I am very happy we were recommended this establishment. The staff was nice, the room was very good, and the view was great! I would recommend it to anyone… but it would be an especially nice treat for a pilgrim travelling the Camino.

Room Tip: If you like good views... ask for a room overlooking the castle..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NJoisygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Adintxo O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank nit23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank s0niamurcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled on business
Thank PedroTon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Mónica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ponferrada hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel el Castillo
Hotel el Castillo
#2 of 15 in Ponferrada
304 reviews
0.5 mi away
AroiPonferrada
AroiPonferrada
#3 of 15 in Ponferrada
190 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostal Rio Selmo
Hostal Rio Selmo
#2 of 8 in Ponferrada
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hostal San Miguel
Hostal San Miguel
#3 of 8 in Ponferrada
44 reviews
0.6 mi away
AC Hotel Ponferrada
AC Hotel Ponferrada
#1 of 15 in Ponferrada
269 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Temple Ponferrada
Hotel Temple Ponferrada
#15 of 15 in Ponferrada
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Virgen de la Encina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Virgen de la Encina

Address: Calle Gil y Carrasco 3, 24401 Ponferrada, Spain (Formerly La Virgen de Encina Hostal Ponferrada)
Location: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Leon > Ponferrada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Ponferrada
Price Range: $56 - $59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hostal Virgen de la Encina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing