We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good holiday :)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Dorado Beach & Spa
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Arguineguin
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Really good holiday :)”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Quite nice hotel with excellent food. Not so crowdy, so we were able to find free sunbeds every day. And excellent SPA swimming pools - my daughter loved it!

The only one minus was "miniclub" (playground). It was dirty and a lot of equipment was broken and sometimes dangerous. And the external part of the "miniclub", with a nice swimming pool for babies, was closed very early - that is around 16:30.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ewa Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    199
    46
    13
    12
See reviews for
202
189
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
leeds
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Just returned from a lovely holiday, views were super from pool area, hotel is very nice, most staff friendly, bar staff could be a bit abrupt at times, food very nice and i am a fussy eater abroad (try the meat sauce yummy) pool very clean, room large and very clean ,beach was pebbles and not sand which made it hard to go into the sea, we were the only British there, went to Puerto Rico 7 euros in a taxi and Mogan which was 20 euros in a taxi. would i return - yes. all in all great place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wdowd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

If my first afternoon was great in the Wellness center, reason to come to this hotel in particular, I quickly regretted my choice.
At my arrival, I was said that I would have a better room as my category was full. So, I had great expectancies... quickly turned down. And even worse, I wonder what would it be without "upgrading".
My bedroom was above the kitchen (not only with fish smell but with awful noise (I ignore how many plates are broken per day!) in the evening and morning), at the level of the road + pavement and, more precisely, just under the entrance/exit of the parking of this hotel.
Yes, you read well: there are bedrooms under and above the parking : I wonder how healthy are the gas of the cars, as they manoeuver to park or just started their engines.
I did not find anything particular in the restaurant (at least it is agreeable to have the choice to eat outside) or the swimming-pool (nice but like in so many hotels).
View of the bedroom : in front of a corridor (no way to be "alone" on the balcony) ! lateral view on swimming-pool and sea.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Fantomette O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

The only positive thing about this place is the location and their spa. That's it. The hotel is run down and the rooms are so-so. The kitchenettes are so tiny and with very bad utensils. It takes ages to cook anything and it all burns in the bottom of the casseroles because they are such bad quality. We paid extra and booked a partial sea view room. When we got to our room we opened the balcony door and our view was directly into a brick wall! We complained right away and were told that if you hang yourself over the balcony rail you'll see the sea, so that was a partial sea view room. We specifically called our travel agency, who then called the hotel directly, to confirm what kind of room we had booked. We were shown pictures of the rooms that are on the side, facing the pool. We got a room facing the city (a busy roundabout) and a brick wall. We asked to change rooms and were told we wouldn't be able to get a room for at least another 3 days. They offered us a new room on the same side and we accepted it, as we thought it couldn't get any worse. The previous guests had smoked cigarettes inside the room, and i am allergic to cigarettes, so I got very sick. We slept with the balcony door open to air some of it out which made me catch a cold. We complained again the next morning and they were no were near service minded. We finally got another room which was smoke free, but still on the city view side of the hotel. By then we were so tired we didn't bare to change rooms again. The rooms are run down, the bathrooms are very old and the beds are not comfortable.

The worst thing about this hotel is the food! It is so bad I don't even know where to begin. All of the food is either dry, like it was chopped the day before, or so over-cooked it's watery and bland and has no taste. If you are a vegetarian do not choose their all inclusive deal! Their idea of vegetarian food is warm peas and corn. It's so bad it's not even funny. You'd also think that a place like Gran Canaria has delicious fruits & veggies, but their selection is so far from good, it's really a disgrace. The staff is also very rude. I was pouring water in a baby bottle from a cup at our table, that I had used to poor the water in and one of the staff got so angry telling me bottles weren't allowed in the dining room. I couldn't believe it!

Their so-called snack bar at the pool bar is so bad. The only value you can get from this hotel is to drink as much alcohol you can. I am pregnant, so what I got out of their all inclusive deal was close to nothing, since the food was so bad.

The hotel is supposed to be smoke-free, but everyone smokes all around the pool area and on all the balconies, so it's not a good place for small kids.

This hotel experience ruined our holiday and we will never recommend this place to anyone. Think twice before staying here, it looks nice in the pictures, but that's it!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank travelagentoslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bydgoszcz, Kujawsko-Pomorskie, Poland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Myself and my husband we spent a lovely Christmas in Dorado Beach ( 19-28th of Dec 2012). We are in our late 20's, which meant we were among the youngest guests but it was not a problem for us.
It was our 5th time in Dorado Beach, and each time we loved it. Honestly I do not understand how people can complain????? It is an all inc hotel, meaning there is plenty of food( a huge variety of food, starting from breakfast!!!!with pizza, hot dogs, steaks, cakes between meals available at all times until 6pm), alcohol ios branded- fo example black JW which does not come cheap !!!!And you have to tell the bartender to stop pouring it into your glass, otherwise you'll end up with 250mls of alcohol!!!!

The pool- it is heated with two whirlpools abd a little "island" in the middle, approx. 1.7 m in the deepest place. Plenty of sun beds; showers are available both outside and inside of the building.
Spa- great service, luckily children are only allowed until noon, afterwards you can relax in many jacuzzis, steam or finnish sauna, u can use a sunbed, massage and other tratments. Note that only treatments are payable, pools, saunas, sunbeds are free of charge.

Restaurant- great food, wine, freshly squeezed juice for brekkie etc. We got a meak late at night on arrival- it was 3 am and they opened the restaurant for us.

Bars- pool bar ladies are great!!!!And they remebered us which was very nice. Piano bar - also nice, as well as disco bar.

The roof- it has a solarium with a whirlpool and sunbeds, no kids there which was relaxing

The rooms- enough for us, we do not go on hols to be sitting around in the room to watch telly or complain like some people do. The rooms are cleaned daily even on christmas Day, bedsheets changed at least 3 times in a week, towels changed daily. If someone has got a problem with not enough english tv channels, perhaps you should have stayed back home to watch corrie....plus who walks around the room with a camera to take photos of a bit of rust in the bathroom? Silly people only.

It is a fact that the hotel caters for a lot of German, Norwegian, Swedish etc. people. Few Brits, plenty Spanniards. We're Polish and were the only ones in the hotel at the time. On Christmas Eve we were given a goody box and a greeting letter from the hotelmanagement. The box had a bottle of 2007 red Rioja wine, a champagne, and two boxes of choclate.

Christmas dinner was arranged smoothly, food was brilliant and lovely.

The director of the hotel- a lovely lady who had helped us with a late booking- we booked our stay 5 days prior!!!!

Each time we ask for a room on the 9th floor with a stuning sea view- and each time we get it.

Moreover, hotel is suitable for disabled, with 3 main lifts plus one glass lift with spectacular views.

Arguinegin is a little cute town, with a fish industry operating there. Meloneras is 15 mins away by taxi, Puerto Rico also close.

All in all- if you wish to stay in a great hotel where guests are welcomed and treated like VIPs , with no loud noises but an close opportunity of casino or discos near by you should definitely choose this hotel. As we are a single couple no children we would love the hotel to be children free but if u have patience and a witt you can handle it!!!!!

Room Tip: We always stay on the 9th floor- close to solarium on the roof and no noise and smell from the resta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Aisha_W84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Just got back from and excellent hotel. The rooms were clean, lots of cupboard space and beds were comfy apart from pillows. The food in the hotel (including snack bar) was brilliant, something for everyone (even the fussy eaters). The Wellness Centre was something I had never experienced before it had everything. You could go with children upto 12 noon which was good. There was also a games room and the childrens entertainment room was great for children up to say 12 years. It had everything for them to do during the day. All the drinks at the bar were named (never had that before) and there was no queing at the bar. There were hardly anyone from the UK at this hotel which we did not mind at all, it was quite entertaining without alto of Brits. The entertainment at night was not that good but you could sit by the pool at night and just listen to the music. Would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Ask for direct seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank gail_bowker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Where do I start,on arrival we had a speedy check in and got our past ports photocopied and back straight away and were given directions to our room.we were blown away by the size of our room which had a separate sleeping area for us then a pull out bed in the lounge for our son.Full bathroom even a hair dryer large lounge and a large balcony with a sea view. And all spotlessly clean.The view overlooked the pool and the sea it was stunning, we used the wellness center which other than massage everything else was free including sauna, steam room sun bed massage bed whirlpool etc also rooftop solarium and whirlpool and gym all free fab free wifi even in your room , not many hotels offer this .food faultless lots to choose from breakfast included full English various cheese and. Bread cereal juice etc buffet lunch and evening meal vege pasta chicken meats lots of choice .Drinks even included branded , wine beer and soft drinks self serve from the pump , spirits from the bar , lots of icecream also snack bar with chips hotdogs spit roast chicken and salad. The resort is quiet but lovely only 5 euro into puerto RICO and 2 euro each into maspalomas on the bus .

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pigpen111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arguineguin
2.0 mi away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#2 of 69 in Puerto Rico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,990 reviews
2.6 mi away
Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel
3.1 mi away
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Cordial Mogan Playa
Cordial Mogan Playa
#1 of 3 in Puerto de Mogan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,960 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sheraton Gran Canaria Salobre Golf Resort
6.1 mi away
Hotel THe Puerto de Mogan
Hotel THe Puerto de Mogan
#2 of 3 in Puerto de Mogan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dorado Beach & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dorado Beach & Spa

Property: Hotel Dorado Beach & Spa
Address: Crrta. Arguineguin, s/n, 35120 Arguineguin, Mogan, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Mogan > Arguineguin
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Arguineguin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Dorado Beach & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TravelUp, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Dorado Beach & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorado Beach Aparthotel Hotel Arguineguin
Aparthotel Dorado Beach Arguineguin
Aparthotel Dorado Beach Hotel Arguineguin
Hotel Dorado Beach & Spa Arguineguin, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing