We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worst holiday nitemare”
Review of Marina Elite

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marina Elite
Reviewed October 13, 2010

all inc well 9.30 bar finished no entainment yep on holiday. food first 3 days really bad then came spanish group booked in for a couple days wow food inmproved ,hard ernt money wasted here.no nite life only if you taxi just a waste of money. they need to re look at this all in policy they make you feel 2nd class when yet we should have had the same treatment as other guests,chicken severed with blood when my partner sent it back the chef came out and said it was ok well thats so bad my partner told him to cook all the chicken more several people notice the blood in the chicken
this apartments need a new look and a better attitude. oh by the way cockroaches there are.one remark i would like to make alexandra waitress very good she tried. if you like cold fried eggs this is the place for you .if you like to be treated differently for being alc this is for you . my worst holiday keep gran canaria the weather is the only worth thing going for

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
2  Thank palms2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (533)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

250 - 256 of 533 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2010

arrived to a sad looking face at reception,labeled with a band , long walk to appartment which ws diff to find,pool lovley and clean, food awful and being all incl hadnt budgeted to buy meals off site, but after 4 days was very hungry. evry neg thing in the reviews had proved to be true, staff resentful of plates left with food on!i used a small plate and it was not hard to leave food on it,no beach we cud sit on, tho the potential is there for an investa.
I have come home to no money to pay my bills becuz of the strike caused us to buy more stuff ie toiletries etc,double the price of things i had at home readily bought but was emailed 2 days b4 trip we cudnt have our luggage unless we took hand luggage, disgraceful. The whole place needs investing in, otherwise it will become a no holiday makers land! It has made me think for my next all inclu, but it wont be there! after waiting for 8 yrs to go away I feel cheated. A lesson i didnt need to learn after illness.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blondieone_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2010

Just re- turned from Balito beach appartments AI that is some sort of a joke, i have been to quite a few all inclusive budget hotels and this one is in a league of it's own it is absolutely awful! The food is worse than terrible, cold and you didn't know what you were eating. the food was not covered up and flys were landing on it not good!
The AI finished at 9.30 which i have never experieced before, you were served in [plastic cups which you had to take back if you wanted another drink and the service was not good!
There was suposed to be a sauna on site but it was shut down.
There was no entertainment what so ever and i was told when booking there would be!
The bath was hand painted and when you got out of it there was paint sticking to you got to admit i have never had that experiance before!
Has for the beach you are no where near it so if you are unfortunate enough to be going hiking boots would be a good thing to take with you, you will see what i mean when youi get there!
Final thought please please DONT GO (ps i am definateley not a fussy person)

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mariefleming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2010

where do i begin..... I have stayed at a few all inclusive hotels in my team but this has to be the worse.... the food was rubbish not much variety at all prob about 4 - 5 dishes a night... and if you dont like chips well you wont east as it was probaly the only edible thing there.... the breakfast actually was the only thing that would have been worth eating... so we ate out a fair bit... the apartments are good, nice and clean and spacious... the no air conditioning was tough tho...
If you dont like steep hills or steps you are in trouble here too...
the pool was nice think it would have been a bit small if place was crowded but not many there whilst we were...
the bonus is itts only 3 euro's to go into town/beach
the all inclusive finishes about 9.30 so really early.....
some of the staff are really rude... especially one of the reception team -- tony i think his name was...
the only good part was the great people we met there.....

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boso1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2010

After reading the reviews I had mixed feelings about this holiday, and if I had read the reviews before I booked it, I wouldnt have booked it. However it wasnt as bad as I expected. Dont be misled by the title Balito Beach...there is no beach. Its in the middle of no where. If your self catering your buggered, becuases theres no where to go unless you taxi to Peurto Rico every night. There is a on site shop but very basic, they sell frozen chips..god knows how you expect to cook them.
You can walk to Anfi beach which is 10 mins away but you have to climb rocks to get there. If your psychically disabled, old or have prams Balito Beach is not the place for you. Theres nothing for children to do and no entertainment at night. Its perfect if you just want to lounge around and do nothing.
We arrived at lunch time and it was extreamly hot. We checked in and the receptionist was very friendly, we were given a map and sent on our way. We had to drag our cases up a big hill to our apartment, and in the heat it was hard work. You would think that they would have a usher service or some sort of help. It was very confusing looking for our room but found it.
The rooms were good, a self catering appartment, which included microwave, fridge, kettle ect even though we were all inclusive. They were clean enough. The light fittings were hanging off the walls and ceilings with wires showing. The shower didnt fit to the wall so we couldnt shower properly. There was no air con or fans and it was stinking red hot, so we had to hire a fan. The towels were awful and full of holes and changed 3 times during the week. The bedding was years old, off colour and old fashioned. The pool area was clean enough but the sun loungers were dirty and broken. People had put their cigies out on the beds and hadnt been cleaned up at all since we were there. The pool side floor was great as it was like a green carpet effect so that you didnt fall when was wet which is great for kids and this had been cleaned twice in the week.
The resturant, well if you can call it a resturant, it was more like a roadside diner with plastic table cloths full of days old stains.
The food was very basic, cold and not labelled, so you hadent a clue what you were eating but I think that was a good a thing otherwise you would have been put off. However saying that there was a couple of evenings when the food was great, stews, peppered steak and potato wedges (which was the talk of the town the next day). One evening was whole sardines, they looked pittyful and another evening there was sprouts but with no other veg which was a bit weird. The deserts were tinned fruits, pink blomonge sort of thing and ice cream. Not very exciting. The breakfasts were ok, but the eggs looked like rubber, not very appealing. There were cereal but was covered up correctly and left to go soft.
The staff were friendly enough but if you were rude to them then they were rude to you. I think some people were struggling with the staff as they arrived demanding food when the resturant was closed. Sometimes when you went to the bar the staff looked at you as if to say "thats the 3rd drink you've had, greedy". They also seem to treat paying guests better then the all inclusive lot. I was stood at the bar waiting to be served and someone with cash was served before me (whom came to the bar after me). Im all inclusive I had already paid for my drinks, I should be served first.
Balito Beach shouldnt be all inclusive as all inlcusive shouldnt end at 9.30. It wouldnt be so bad if it ended at 10.30 but 9.30 is a bit too early.
We did not pay very much for our holiday and you can tell by the quailty, so you do get what you pay for, and its only 2 star.
Im not sure if I would go back but for a cheap last minute get away I may consider as I now know what to expect

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mozart063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2010

just got back from an 11 night stay at this hotel , the food is basic but as mentioned in other reviews it is only 3 star , all the drinks are served in plastic cups including wine and cocktails , how the hell you can enjoy a glass of wine in a plastic cup its ridiclious , most of the staff were unhelpful apart from a young lad who started work about 2 in the afternoon he was very pleasant and chatty but i personaly dont think this is anything to do with the hotel as i found all gran canarian people rude and therefore i will never return to this island ,the hotel has no entertainment at all so there is no choice but to go out at night and its not like you can walk anywere from this hotel as you would be walking on a motorway

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tony147f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2010

We arrived at 9-05 pm at reception we were given all inclusive wrist band and a map to our appartment and told that resturant closes at 9-00 pm. so after a long day traverling we were not allowed any food unless we were willing to pay.
We ordered a drink and were told you must bring your plastic cups back if you want another drink I went to the bar for a second drink and was told very abruptly that it is now 9-30pm and closed.
We went to our room which had a nice view looking over the sea.
We asked for two more pillows the receptionist wrote it down but did not acknowlege us.
A few hours later we found the pillows had just been thrown over the balcony.
Off to breakfast, full english looked very tasty but was stone cold as was most of the meals from then on. If they run out of anything and you dared asked for anymore we were told that was it finished.
Went to bar for a drink ordered pinacolada and a beer the young lady who was serving abruptly thrust her hand in front of my face and told me wait.
We were there for 9 nights the pool was out of use for three days.
Would we return to the BALITO BEACH APPARTMENTS again NO NO NEVER.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BWLW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arguineguin
0.6 mi away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#2 of 67 in Puerto Rico
3,352 reviews
1 mi away
Cabau Cala Nova
Cabau Cala Nova
#10 of 67 in Puerto Rico
659 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Riosol
Hotel Riosol
#17 of 67 in Puerto Rico
1,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Gran Canaria, Mogan
4.1 mi away
Cala Blanca
Cala Blanca
#11 of 16 in Mogan
484 reviews
0.8 mi away
Marina Bayview
Marina Bayview
#3 of 67 in Puerto Rico
1,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Elite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Elite

Address: Urbanizacion Balito S/N | Playa Balito, Bco de Balito, 35129 Arguineguin, Mogan, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Mogan > Arguineguin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Arguineguin
Price Range: $105 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Marina Elite 3*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marina Elite Resort is situated in a quiet location on top of Balito Beach offering spectacular views over the Atlantic Ocean. You will reach Anfi beach in about 10 minutes by a pleasant walk along the coast. At just a 5 minute taxi ride away, you will find the lively locations of Puerto Rico and Arguineguin, where you will find a big variety of restaurants, shops, bars, pubs and day or night leisure activities. The Marina Elite offers five types of rooms for all tastes and needs, from simple but cozy one-bedroom apartments to Deluxe rooms equipped with all the luxuries. At the buffet restaurant you can have breakfast, lunch or dinner while you observe the waves breaking on the beach. You can also relax in the two swimmingpools enjoying the sunny weather of the coast of Mogán with a refreshing drink from the poolbar. Children can enjoy the miniclub where plenty of activities will be held to ensure their entertainment. For sportsmen, the Marina Elite offers a tennis court, a gym and a sauna. The Marina Elite is all inclusive, therefore it includes all meals, snacks and drinks that you could desire. You will only have to worry about enjoying your holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Marina Elite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balito Beach Apartments Hotel Arguineguin
Balito Beach Grand Canary
Marina Elite Arguineguin, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing