We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DISGUSTING ROOM, NASTY FOOD, WASTE OF TIME & MONEY.”
Review of Marina Elite

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Marina Elite
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“DISGUSTING ROOM, NASTY FOOD, WASTE OF TIME & MONEY.”
Reviewed April 8, 2011

Room - Ants crawling all over wall & furniture!! Like thousands of them!! The shower curtain was mouldy and brown. That night (my birthday night) when we were sleeping I kept hearing croaking noises from the wardrobe... asked my boyfriend to check it out and we couldnt find anything yet the croaking noise was still there every few mins - was soo freaky so I asked to change rooms, the receptionist said we couldnt until morning, meaning we had to pull the beds into the living area and I had to sleep with the TV full blast cause I was soo scared of the noise, still dont know what the hell kind of creature was living in there but moved rooms next morning which was slightly better.
Location - Was close to city centre/main attractions but you could not walk there because its directly onto a motorway which meant you had to pay for a 1min ride in a taxi or near enough the same price for a bus. If you think about it 3 Euros there and another 3 back, everyday... it really adds up!
FOOD! - Was appalling! My boyfriend didnt eat anything apart from chips! It was a small meer buffet with very small verity (salad, Meat, potato - THATS IT) food was recycled because the day before would be white rice and the day after paella or something made from the same ingredient used the day before. I regretted dinner time at this place, every other all inc hotel ive been to was never as low as this.
Facilities - The pool was ok, plenty of sunbeds so never had to fight. Not much for the kids. No entertainment at night time so you had to amuse yourselves. No other facilities that we knew of. No lift up to the cafe (where the food is served) you had to literally climb up a hill everyday in the heat - very exhausting.
Staff - some where pretty polite, nobody rude.
Overall - I would never stay at this hotel again. I think they need to have a big clean-up and introduce some nicer food. Some entertainment would have been nice too considering the price we paid. I could have gone away to a 4* hotel instead - wish I did now. Ill always learn from the mistake of staying here. If your looking for clean hotel with facilities, this hotel isnt for you!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeccieAnnexo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    110
    115
    59
    64
See reviews for
135
187
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2011

Over all holiday was lovely… about 5 minute taxi or bus from the main towns.. cost about ¾ Euros.. ammmmaaaaazzziiiinn view from balcony.. Rooms were very clean and spacious.. Rooms 4****..

Food wasn’t all that great.. edible most times… although its not an actual restaurant…more a café as you have to sit outside.. all inclusive stopped early.. but did so much walking was ready for bed by then.. Food 2**

Staff lovely..no real entertainment.. an animal show… although right next door is an amazing resort.. so took a walk there for their enetertainment… Used next doors private beach too… next main beach is probably in Puerto Rico



Only bad thing that happened was the pick up bus for our departure didn’t come.. well it did and picked up every one else on our flight but he couldn’t find our names,, luckily the receptionist who’s just finished the night shift dropped us to the air port.. luckily we made it just in time for our flight..

Probably wouldn’t go back only because of the food…also would not recommend to any one who is unfit… have children or walking problems.. a lot and I mean a lot of hills and stairs.. I actually lost weight on this holiday rather that put on weight.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kelly_554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edenbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 19, 2011

the welcome at reception and at the restaurant are warm and genuine; the maid service at all times seeks perfection and the restaurant provides arguably the best meals available anywhere on the island - their steaks are to die for! We have holidayed there for all but three years since it opened for business in 1993. It really does represent excellent value for money.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heatheronholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2011

Me and my boyfriend visited Balito Beach last year and were less than impressed. I have stayed in many all inclusive budget hotels, and sorry to say that this one was the worst by far. The hotel should not be allowed to sell an "all inclusive" pacakge. There were usually 3 or 4 dishes a night and the same few were repeated throughout the week. Breakfast was okay, as it was what we expected, but other than that we found ourselves having to eat out a lot. Considering we ahd paid for meals already, we weren't impressed. The bar also stopped serving all inclusive drinks at 9pm! ALL drinks had to be paid for, even just a lemonade to take to bed! In our opinion this was a ridiculous hour and they shot their prices up because they knew people would stay later than 9!

The hotel itself was undergoing refurbishment in some areas. It wasn't a terrible hotel; the rooms were good sized, clean and adequate for what we wanted them for - sleeping and showering. If you wanted to spend more time in your room then this is perhaps not the place to go. The hotel is built in the cliff face and we had a lovely view of the sea from our balcony. For what you pay, the room really can't be complained about.

The location is not the best. The hotel isn't on the beach as it is described. Although I am sure it was once a lovely beach, it is now no more than a stoney waste ground where many locals walk their dogs. Puerto Rico is a 6Euro taxi ride away or a 5 minute bus ride. The bus stop is opposite the hotel so you can get to town pretty easily. You would be mad to walk down the winding main road full of fast Spanish drivers! The resort of Anfi was the opposite way and we stumbled upon it by accident. It was like a dream town and we spent most of our days here. It is a 5 minute walk over the "beach" and round some dangerous looking rocks! But it's well worth it.

Overall, the holiday was what we made of it. We had a lovely time and went on a few trips from Puerto Rico, and just spent the remaining time relaxing. The main let down was the food and the bar. Sold as a self catering holiday, I would recommend this hotel, but it is not what I would class as all inclusive.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kari_burton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Arguineguin hotels

southampton
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2010

we booked a last minute holiday to balito beach hotel never stayed there before and we would never stay there again !
its in the middle of nowhere and right next to a main rd that is like a motorway day and night !!
we did not sleep for 3 days and then we asked to be moved the staff in recepton were rude and eventually moved us to a room away from the road and we slept.
the pool is horrible with green fake felt around it the drops around the hotel are very dangerouse i would not take kids and there is no beach.
teenagers were running arond the hotel day and night and you could hear everything as the walls are so thin every stomp every shout .....
in the end we hired a car as there is nothing there its in the middle of no where no shops nothing .

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hays1179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2010

I really can't understand what all the moaning is about. I've stayed in quite a few 5* All-Inclusives in the past, and I know that this place doesn't compare to a 5*, but for goodness sake, it's pretty darn good for a 2*! The rooms are great, the location is good and the price is brilliant! Ok, the food isn't up to Gordon Ramsay's standard, but I certainly didn't get any 'Spanish tummy' it always looked freshly cooked and there was always plenty to go around.

I heard from some other English guests that they are considering closing the All Inclusive option to the english because all we do is moan, whinge, drink our own weight in beer and pay half of what the other Europeans pay, so it sounds like they're getting fed up of us (who could blame them).

Couple of slight moans: The blonde woman who serves behind the pool bar tends to be a bit miserable and can't wait to cut your All-Inc wristband off (I think that she is nicer to the guests who are 'paying' for their drinks) and there's a guy who works there who grabbed my backside 'accidently'! Apart from that, if you want somewhere to stay with beautiful views, conveniently located for Puerto Rico and Anfi Del Mar, then don't hesitate to book in, it really is lovely (and for all the whingers who have moaned about the steps, well I was expecting an awful lot worse after reading the reviews).. there are probably 20 steps to get up to the pool and bar area, so all in all, it was great, book it whilst you still can.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janetteglynn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swansea
1 review
Reviewed October 29, 2010

Oh where to start. Booked this trip just 2 weeks before going, and reports were not that bad, then. Got to the hotel after a nightmarish bus ride from the airport to learn that we had to walk Kilamanjaro to get to our room. Luckily though, our room was situated next to the pool. Happy days, or so I thought. The room was clean and had a fabulous view of the Atlantic, though of not much else. When it came to meal times, after a few days, my poor stomach could just not take any more. I had to decline eating anything prepared by a chef who's tastebuds could not detect the amount of salt he was shovelling in to every recipe. Thanks God for Mcdonalds! As previously mentioned by other visitors, the A I bar stopped at 9.30, and unless you bought drinks at additional cost, they would promptly switch off all the lights and go, leaving guests in the dark at their outdoor tables. So the option of having a late night was definitely NOT on the cards for us. On the plus side, the weather was fantastic, so no grumble there. What would help this hotel would be a cash injection to upgrade facilities and frontal labotomies for the "happy" staff, maybe then they would crack some sort of smile. As the hotel is smack bang in the middle of nowhere, prepare for some walking and budget for taxi rides. Amenities advertised were all closed, so this wuold definitely not be a plce to take children, unless they really like to read (or watch Spanish TV).

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nevans18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arguineguin
0.6 mi away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#1 of 68 in Puerto Rico
3,044 reviews
8.3 mi away
Hotel Green Field
Hotel Green Field
#48 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
871 reviews
7.5 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#20 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
4,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Servatur Puerto Azul
Servatur Puerto Azul
#20 of 68 in Puerto Rico
1,734 reviews
6.8 mi away
Turbo Club
Turbo Club
#75 of 216 in Maspalomas
1,234 reviews
8.8 mi away
Beverly Park Hotel
Beverly Park Hotel
#109 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Elite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Elite

Property: Marina Elite
Address: urbanizacion Balito S/N | Playa Balito, Bco de Balito, 35129 Arguineguin, Mogan, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Mogan > Arguineguin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Arguineguin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Marina Elite 3*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marina Elite Resort is situated in a quiet location on top of Balito Beach offering spectacular views over the Atlantic Ocean. You will reach Anfi beach in about 10 minutes by a pleasant walk along the coast. At just a 5 minute taxi ride away, you will find the lively locations of Puerto Rico and Arguineguin, where you will find a big variety of restaurants, shops, bars, pubs and day or night leisure activities. The Marina Elite offers five types of rooms for all tastes and needs, from simple but cozy one-bedroom apartments to Deluxe rooms equipped with all the luxuries. At the buffet restaurant you can have breakfast, lunch or dinner while you observe the waves breaking on the beach. You can also relax in the two swimmingpools enjoying the sunny weather of the coast of Mogán with a refreshing drink from the poolbar. Children can enjoy the miniclub where plenty of activities will be held to ensure their entertainment. For sportsmen, the Marina Elite offers a tennis court, a gym and a sauna. The Marina Elite is all inclusive, therefore it includes all meals, snacks and drinks that you could desire. You will only have to worry about enjoying your holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marina Elite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balito Beach Apartments Hotel Arguineguin
Balito Beach Grand Canary
Marina Elite Arguineguin, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing