We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food, great welcome from staff”
Review of Los Canarios 1

Los Canarios 1
Ranked #10 of 82 Restaurants in Arguineguin
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Los Canarios 1 er populær blant nordmenn i Arguineguin. Serverer fersk fisk, grillmat og en populær "meksikansk kaffe" etter maten.Stedet ligger i boligområdet bak det grønne senteret i Arguineguin.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, great welcome from staff”
Reviewed May 18, 2014

having travelled to arguineguin yearly this is one of the restaurants we always have to visit, you have a warm welcome from staff who always remember your face, with a huge selection of food from the menu it is difficult to chose from the delicious dishes. My husband and I give this top marks being a hidden gem off from the main area it is well worth a visit.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wobblyannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    269
    98
    31
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Mixed experience”
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Ok, so from the title we had a mixed experience here. First of all the restaurant is in the middle of a residential area so if you want pre dinner drinks have them somewhere else before you go to the restaurant. There is a flight of steps to negotiate. The staff were welcoming and had personality; a good thing. We ordered and then some bread arrived in what I can only say was a grubby basket. It's a while since I've been caught with the bread trick and I don't know why I fell for it this time. Probably not expecting it.

The starter of smoked salmon stuffed with boiled egg and avocado was good and so was my husbands tomato soup. My steak was cooked properly but had a fair amount of gristle. The jacket potato was good and veg equally good but in short supply. Husbands chicken in Mexican sauce came with what looked like tikka masala sauce to me, but he enjoyed it. His came with about 6 small Canarian potatoes so he had half of my jacket potato as well. I don't know where other descriptions of large portions came from.

The bill came with the addition of €3.50 for bread and aioli sauce. I checked the handwritten order and we had not ordered it even by mistake. Payment was given with the deduction of the tip to compensate. Overall, service was good, food was ok and the impression I got was that they were very friendly but a bit complacent.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Spence19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballerup
Level Contributor
73 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very nice food”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

The food was very nice and service was average.
Remember that the restaurant is on first floor so you need to walk up the stairs to first floor.
The family have been there many times and will return again :-)

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Been_there_dk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Finn E”
Reviewed March 21, 2014

It was OK but not as expected. We have been at Los Canarios several times and been very satisfied.
The food was OK but the vegetables was too much cooked.
They where very bussy that night.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Finn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food and wine”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Both the meat and fish dish we got could not have been better! The wine taking from th upper group of the list, corresponded very well with the price.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Los Canarios 1 also viewed

 
Arguineguin, Mogan
 
Patalavaca, Gran Canaria
 

Been to Los Canarios 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing