We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strictly average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radisson Blu Resort, Gran Canaria
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Arguineguin
Certificate of Excellence
Europe
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
“Strictly average”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

This hotel advertises itself as all rooms having a wonderful view of the sea with large balconies. Really? Not the room we received which had a dirty piece of lawn (cigartette ends and paper dropped from higher floors which remained there the 7 days we were there) in front of our small terrace (not balcony)and a potential view of the sea behind a wall blocked by palm trees. The room was average and as there is only a see through piece of glass between shower and room, anyone sitting on the sunbeds on the dirty lawn outside can watch you have your shower. Only one complimentary water on the first day (is that 5 star treatment?) The room was cleaned (not very well) at around 3.30pm everyday and just over an hour later the turn down came. Breakfast buffet was average with many of the hot food (especially the bacon) always cold. The evening buffet we only tried once and it was OK but far too expensive and sitting a cold unromatic yellow light outside with a terrible singer did not want to make us come back for a second evening buffet. There are much better and cheaper restaurants if you go out of the hotel on the beach side, turn left and walk along past the first set of restaurants including Valentinos to a further set of three restaurants of which the best is the Tapas Restaurant Cabo Suroeste. Fantastic food, beautiful sunsets and friendly service.
Positives for the hotel was fast WLAN, friendly staff (especially reception) and the great spar supermarket which is remarkably cheap. I would recommend the hotel but the room price is too high for level of service and room quality.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 101-106 (no view) and 200-211 direct in front of restaurant and noisy swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank melita1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enrique S, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Resort, Gran Canaria, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear melita 1,

First of all, thank you very much for sending your constructive opinion.

We do take this cleaning issue highly seriously. We always pride ourselves on offering a clean environment for all our guests. However, we extremely value your comments.

Thank you very much again for helping us improve day by day.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    842
    230
    55
    10
    4
See reviews for
470
504
33
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Absolutely fabulous - accommodation, setting, food and weather, all brilliant. We were upgraded to an enormous suite and it felt like we were in a luxury liner stateroom. Try the Restaurant Sagitario for authentic, fresh Spanish food - go out of the tunnel onto the beach walkway and turn left. It's the first one you come to. Doesn't try to impress on appearance so don't be put off, we ate there all the time and loved it.

Room Tip: All have a sea view but the ground floor rooms, balconies are a bit close to the other guests if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judithNorthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enrique S, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Resort, Gran Canaria, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear judithNorthYorkshire,

Thank you very much indeed for the opinion and tips posted.

Should you consider to visit the island in the future, we would be looking forward to welcoming you again.

Greetings,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Just returned from an amazing weeks break at the Radisson Blu in Gran Canaria. Upon arrival we were met by friendly and efficient reception staff and offered a glass of Champagne. We were informed we had been upgraded and found ourselves in a fabulous suite on the 10th floor. Everything was spotlessly clean and spacious and although we had envisaged hiring a car for a few days we did not leave the complex for the whole week! All the staff were so friendly that we came away feeling we had made some lovely friends.......... we will definitely be returning!
Special mentions to Tamara on reception and Juan in the Canaria Restaurant but all staff made our stay extra special..........

Room Tip: Higher the room better view and room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nvclassics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enrique S, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Resort, Gran Canaria, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear nvclassics,

We are extremely happy to read your compliments.

It is amazing to know that you felt our team as part of your friends. All of them want to thank you for this remarkable comment.

Besides, you are very welcome to come to the hotel in your next visit to Gran Canaria.

Looking forward to it.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We are just back from a week at the Radisson at Arguineguin. We had planned to do a bit of touring around the island but we never got further than the beach a minute away from the hotel.

The hotel itself is only open less than a year - it is right on the waters edge, with a great pool - both sea water and fresh water and lovely gardens facing the see so you can get shade from the trees if you want. The hotel never felt busy or crowded, with plenty of sun beds, tables, etc and when we were checking out we were told it was at 90% occupancy ( because we are thinking of returning but were worried it might get too busy if it was full!)

Our room was lovely - we stayed in a one bedroom suite - this had a full kitchen, seating area, bedroom and ensuite (no bath) and a great balcony - only drawback there were no sunbeds on our balcony.

I suppose the best way to describe the facilities is to describe our day - walk out the gate onto the promenade, turn left and walk a 100 metres and we are on the beach for an early morning swim or turn right and walk along the promenade for a walk for about 20 minutes to the end of the prom with the option to stop at three other swimming areas or a number of restaurants and shops. Back to the hotel for a buffet breakfast catering for everyone.

Head to the garden area for sunbeds and shade via the spar shop that is in the hotel and before lunch another swim either in the sea or in the pool - decide on lunch by the pool, the local restaurants or in our suite supplied from the shop.

After a tough day in the sun, decide on dinner - in the two restaurants in the hotel or some of the local restaurants recommended by the staff. A nightcap in the rooftop bar, overlooking the bay.

The only faults we had with the hotel was there was a TV in the bar on all the time and the shower heads are annoying. But there is one problem with the resort and which is out of the hotels control, and that is that on two afternoons party boats came into the bay and moored up for a few hours and the boom boom noise and loud music was really off putting - this would make us think of going somewhere else as it really spoiled the relaxation.

With regards to the staff they were all very friendly and helpful, nothing was too much for them and everything was done with a smile and good form.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Majimkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enrique S, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Resort, Gran Canaria, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Majimkk,

Thank you for sharing your useful thoughts both for us and future guests. We take all of them very seriously.

Should any external happening disturbed your relaxing experience with us, we do apologyze in advance. To ensure a peaceful and comfortable environment is very important for us.

Anyhow, we do hope that you consider us when coming back to the island in the future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim. Norway
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Me and my family stayed on the Radisson Blu for 8 nights this New Year. And we are all very satisfied with the stay. The rooms are perfect. The view wonderful - especially the sunset! We had wonderful breakfast every day. The staff is very polite and always eager to please. The pool area is nice and You can easy walk out to the sea. The only thing to comment i s the lift capasity. But when You are on holiday: who cares about waiting some seconds?

Room Tip: I think most rooms are good. But of course: the higher in the building - the better view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank helgeandreas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enrique S, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Resort, Gran Canaria, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear helgeandreas,

Your comments are very much appreciated.

We are very happy indeed to hear that you chose us to start up the New Year and that your impressions about the hotel are that good.

Please feel free to visit us anytime in the future. We will do our best to make you enjoy your next vacation break.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We were looking for somewhere to recover from a hectic few months, where we could relax in the sun, enjoy a couple of trips but not feel pressured to do anything if we didn't want to. This was the perfect spot!
We had booked a one-bedroom suite but on arrival were upgraded to a superior one-bedroom suite which was lovely and very spacious. The balcony alone had two wicker sofas with a coffee table and a dining table and chairs for 6! All rooms have a seaview, so you can listen to the sea as you go to sleep.
This room did however have a problem - a horrible drains smell in the kitchen area which permeated the whole suite. So on our second day, as soon as we mentioned it they sent a technician to have a look. He thought it needed a repair which would take a couple of days to get the parts. So we were offered a change of room ... to a 2 bedroom suite, which was larger than the 2 bedroom house I used to live in! This time the balcony had a jacuzzi, 2 sun-loungers, a dining table and chairs for 4, and 2 more easy chairs.
And actually, a standard room would also be fine, just smaller, but still with luxury bathroom and a balcony plenty big enough to relax on. You would maybe spend more time round the delightful pools and in the gardens than we did.
The staff were all friendly, helpful and very efficient (with the one exception of a less-than friendly waiter in the pool bar, but I guess there's always one). The design is what I would call modern-hotel-chic - nothing fussy, everything sleek and well put together. We spent a lot of time just reading on the balcony, admiring the view etc.

The only thing that I thought could be improved was the evening buffet in La Canaria restaurant. It was fine but a bit dreary and 'mass-catering'. We had booked only B&B so for us it cost 30 Euros. You can get better value and more charm elsewhere for that price (see our separate reviews of The Palm Garden, Le Petit Lyonnais, Valentino, and Fernando's). But if you booked half board, I believe it would work out at only 15 Euros each, which would be good value, if you like that kind of food/ambience.
We ate on our last evening at 222 degrees SSW, their posh restaurant, which was a treat. Prices nudging London levels, but superb menu, delicious food, good service: well worth it.

In terms of things to do, we had a car and drove round the west coast (and goodness the roads are twisty and slow) to Galdar, to see the Cueva Pintada - lovely new museum, but not the most thrilling cave I've ever seen; and on to Teror, charming as advertised. Another day we went to Maspalomas and walked along the dunes, very picturesque until you get to the nudist beach - not picturesque at all! Had a drink in one of the big hotels. Then drove to Puerto de Mogan, which we really liked. The port area is low rise and charming and you could take a boat from Anfi if you didn't have a car. We walked into Arguineguin - not a particularly lovely walk, clambering over boulders at some points. Got boat back to Amfi and walked back to the hotel. Nothing very strenuous, which was what we wanted.
All in all, highly recommended if you do just want to relax and are looking for a quiet place where everything you need is within walking distance.

Room Tip: Rooms on the lower floors more likely to get noise from the pool and restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Su B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enrique S, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Resort, Gran Canaria, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear su523,

Thank you very much for taking the time to send all these deep and highly valued opinions.

For your information, we are working on improving our Buffet Restaurant. We do hope that you will come back and will give us the chance to surprise you with some developments.

Besides, we are sure that future travellers to the island will appreciate a lot your tips.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed for a week at this hotel in december -12. The hotel is really nice and the junior suits are perfect. We would however have prefered to have had sun beds instead of table and chairs on the terrace. The view is spectacular. The kitchen offers everything you need, top class. An instruction manual on how to work the cooker would have been nice, it was not as straight forward as one would think. The pool is relly nice, very big.
Negative: upon arrival the room was really dusty, we had to change our socks after just walking around the suit. House keeping did not live up to a five star rating during the week. We had a room close to the lifts, it was noicy. The two restaurants are superb, the food was delicious, but in the breakfast restaurant there was a problem with pigeons...this was really not nice. Nobody did anything about it - hard to understand. They do spread disease and poo everwhere.
When we arrived the hotell it was rather quiet, but after a few days more people arrived and we noticed an increase in the number of babies (under the age of 2). We don't mind children in general but this turned out to be a real nightmare. Babies would scream through breakfast, no getting away from it for the other guests, and through the day at the pool. They even manage to ruin the dinner buffé (superb). How can anyone enjoy dinner with your spouse or your friends with 10 small children either running around or sitting in babychairs screaming? It is not possible. This is our lasting memory of the stay at this hotel and I don't recommend it if you are looking for a peaceful, relaxing holiday. Shame, because the hotel itself has great potetial.

Room Tip: Choose a room from 4th floor and up, away from the lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Anmael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enrique S, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Resort, Gran Canaria, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear mariaf358,

We are truly sorry to hear of the disconfort you have experienced while staying with us.

We always pride ourserlves on offering a clean and relaxing environment for all our guests.

Should you be willing to have a deeper explanation of some of the aspects mentioned, please feel free to send us your contact details to info.resort.grancanaria@radissonblu.com and we will be glad to exchange feelings with you.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arguineguin
5.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Gran Canaria, Mogan
1.3 mi away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#1 of 68 in Puerto Rico
3,110 reviews
2.4 mi away
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia
2.6 mi away
Sheraton Gran Canaria Salobre Golf Resort
5.5 mi away
Cordial Mogan Playa
Cordial Mogan Playa
#1 of 2 in Puerto de Mogan
4,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Resort, Gran Canaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Resort, Gran Canaria

Property: Radisson Blu Resort, Gran Canaria
Address: Barranco de la Verga S/N | GC-500, 35120 Arguineguin, Mogan, Gran Canaria, Spain (Formerly Dunas La Canaria)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Mogan > Arguineguin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Arguineguin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Resort, Gran Canaria 5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the Radisson Blu Resort, Gran Canaria. Perfectly situated on the southern coast of the Spanish island, Gran Canaria. This stunning waterfront resort offers ocean views and sandy beaches along three sides. The island itself provides a wealth of opportunities for enjoyment with picturesque towns, idyllic beaches and 32 Protected Natural Areas. Not far from the resort lies the quaint fi shing villageof Arguineguin, and the well-known Dunes of Maspalomas are located only 10 km. away.The island’s airport, Las Palmas Airport, is a 30-minute drive from the resort and popular tourist attractions like Palmitos Park, LasPalmas and Puerto de Mogán and can be easily accessed via the island’s high-quality road network. At the resort, guests can relax in oneof the 189 rooms and suites and indulge in extensive leisure facilities that include water sports, swimming pools, a garden, a tennis court, a paddle tennis court, a beach tennis court, a gym, a kids club and a full service spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Rezidor, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Radisson Blu Resort, Gran Canaria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunas La Canaria Hotel Arguineguin
Dunas La Canaria Arguineguin
Radisson Blu Resort, Gran Canaria Arguineguin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing