We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total relaxation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Barcelo Corralejo Bay
Ranked #6 of 45 Hotels in Corralejo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 23, 2013

After returning over a week ago it's seems a distant memory already, back to the cold , grey skies and political point scoring on the Tv and papers, good old Britain.
After making the mistake last year of booking in the resort of calle de fuste, what a dump, we searched for better feedback on Correlejo.
This brought us to the Barcelo hotel, it is without doubt in our opinion probably the best hotel on the Island, from the moment we arrived the quality, cleanliness and helpful staff made such an impact on us.
We booked in on half board and into a Wellness room which was decorated very tastefully with additional robes and slippers plus a free mini bar on the initial items.
The food was very good for a tourist hotel, plenty of choices, inc lots of fruit, freshly cooked while you wait dishes, and reasonably priced drinks on order.
As it is a adults only hotel now ( changed May 2012) it is a delight to sit around the hotel and be free from kids noise and trantrums. We are in our mid 50s so been there done that so it's now our time for a relaxing holiday.
The activities are ok, good choice for those wanted to try something different like crafts, Spanish lessons, patance, meditation, etc plus the live music acts in the evening.
The hotel is spotlessly clean everywhere , in fact we saw the cleaners virtually empty a room of all it's furniture when you vacate your room so there's no wonder it's so clean, they are a credit to the hotel ( only wished they smiled a bit more )
So to sum up if you are looking for a child free, clean, professionally run hotel where they provide the relaxing environment for a good rest, look no further.
We do not normally consider going back to a resort let alone the same hotel, but we shall definitely book again.
Good points:
Very clean, friendly,relaxing,good food, quality bedding, quite, good decor, quality furnishings, spa experience available,etc
Not so good:
Housekeeping staff need to engage more and smile
Hotel still allowing people to put towels around the pool and then turn up noon or later ( note to Oscar the manager, you will see lots of people commenting on this please change this as it is taking the shine off peoples stay )

Room Tip: Wellness rooms are nicely decorated or upgrade to deluxe for jacuzzi either in your room or balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fez_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,089)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,959 - 2,965 of 5,089 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

We went here for Christmas as it would be a change from staying at home in the rain.
On arrival we had booked a private taxi which I would recommend as the hotel is quite a distance from the airport. When we arrived the check in process was a little dis organised and the porter dragged the trolley over my foot with no apology when I yelped in pain.
However, the room was very nice with plenty of room and an adequate balcony. Everything was clean and well laid out so I was quite pleased.
We had bed and breakfast and there was plenty of choice at the breakfast. I am vegetarian and had loads of choice which is not always the case. The staff were very friendly and the atmosphere when dining was relaxed.
One problem we found was people reserving sun beds non stop which the hotel should put a stop to because people would be gone all morning with their towels on the beds.
We went into the spa for a massage which were quite pricey for what you got and were not the best massages we have had. However, when your on holiday it's nice to treat yourself
Hotel is nicely located and quite central but not so much so that it's really noisy.

Stayed: December 2012
1  Thank Sarah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We liked from this hotel that food was varied and you can walk to bars and restaurants easily, also to a local beach, we loved the spa and we had one jazz dinner night without extra charges.

Things we did NOT like about this hotel:

People in reception were not very accommodating, we got torn towels twice, stains in the mattress base and the beds were far too soft to be comfortable, one had to pay for the safe daily and also for the internet if you had more than one wifi device (i.e. two mobiles, ipads, etc)
Our room had views to a garden, poky terrace and not private. We had to put up with music every night till 11pm.

We asked for information on the Barcelo reward card, but the receptionist told us it wasn't his department and we should check online. Surely, you should have information about it at reception.

We paid extra for the wellness superior room, but still felt that the quality of the room was not worth it.

This place is targeted more towards the senior clientèle.

Room Tip: The fact of choosing a wellness superior room doesn't mean that the room is going to be better a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JLLSLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Just back from a 10 day stay at this hotel, it would have been a five star rating but for a few things.
Check-in: Quick and easy, we were given info on the all-inclusive and plenty of info in the room about the hotel.
Rooms: we were in a corner room with a balcony view of the wellness rooms sunbed area, which was a bit uncomfortable as we felt we intruding by being on the balcony. The bedroom itself was fine, very comfy bed, didn't mind it being a twin (no kicking from hubby lol) The bathroom was ok too, except the bath which looked like it could do with updating. Room very quiet heard no noise through night.
Bars/restaurants: service fantastic, all staff without exception were pleasant, service was quick and we were never kept waiting even at busy times. Cocktails and most drinks available on AI and were clearly marked on menu. Meals very good even me been a fussy eater managed to get plenty of chose each day.
Night Entertainment, wasn't so good, seemed aimed at older generation, us in our early 40s didn't find anything to our taste.
Daytime Entertainment: Fantastic, the two girls did a great job, they gave you a list of activities each morning at breakfast, but never pushed you to take part, we did the auqafit, cocktail tasting, quiz, rooftop photos and walk into town, enjoying them all.
Pool area: Lovely clean quiet relaxing pool area, only gripe as others have said was the mad 9am rush for sunbeds, people putting towels on beds then not returning until late afternoon and other guests not being able to get beds. Choice of three lovely pools and they were never overcrowded.
Spa: spent a lovely relaxing day in the water circuits.
In conclusion an all round fantastic holiday in a fab hotel. Just the small things of the bath, view and fight for a sunbed let it down slightly. But these didn't spoil our overall experience at this hotel. A big thank you to all the staff for making our Holiday great, We loved it :)

Room Tip: Pool view would be better, our room looked right onto wellness room sunbeds, which wasn't ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank susan t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We have recently returned from a seven day holiday at this hotel and resort, booked through Thomson's. We chose it because of our experience on a previous visit to this resort and hotel.group. The hotel location is ideal, being only a few minutes easy walk to the main part of Corralejo, either via the road or sea front. The lovely sandy beaches are just across the road from the hotel entrance. The service and facilities at the hotel are really good and this was our first experience of an adult only venue. We were not disappointed, it did make a difference, in particular around the pool area which was very quiet. There is still the usual morning rush to reserve a sunbed, but there were plenty of them and even when they were all in use, the pool attendant would provide one on request. The hotel also provides towels at no charge.
The rooms were very comfortable and spacious and would recommend the third floor overlooking the pool area. The entertainment, daytime and evening is varied and good. Would recommend the short guided walk into Corralejo and the photo opportunity provided by a visit to the hotel roof. The service in the buffet restaurant is good but well worth taking advantage of the free supper evening provided twice a week at the terrace restaurant. Seven courses, waiter service, excellent!. Make sure to book your place when you check in. A super place for a holiday

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank AntMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Couldn't fault the hotel, all the staff from checking to bar we're very friendly. We booked a wellness deluxe which had a Balinese bed and jacuzzi on the roof terrace, we felt we were in a goldfish bowl as the rooms overlooked the area. We only used bed once. Food overall very good plenty of choice, but some food was lukewarm. Great that it's adult only, l reckon the average age was 60+.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chippenham_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Recently this hotel has become an "adults only" hotel and what a relief this is. No screeming children around the swimming pool, in the lounge and/or bar area. Just pleasant rest and quietness. We enjoyed it every day. Not that we have anything against children , it is more the parents that cannot control them. There is a time and a place for everything and we enjoy a couples/adults only hotel. The hotel itself provides good clean rooms and a very good service. The staff is efficient and customer friendly. Fuertaventura is not all that interesting but Corralejo is a lot of fun with a wide choice of restaurants and cafes. One or two things more about the hotel Wifi at 7 euro a day is quite steep. The parking garage is very difficult to park in. Downstairs in the hotel there is a wonderful shady terrace but no service what so ever. I do not understand that . Concluding Barcelo is worth a visit

Room Tip: the so called side sea view rooms, do not bother. In most cases there is big building blocking the v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank henk v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corralejo
0.2 mi away
Barcelo Corralejo Sands
Barcelo Corralejo Sands
#7 of 45 in Corralejo
1,102 reviews
0.4 mi away
Avanti Hotel Boutique Fuerteventura
0.8 mi away
Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
H10 Ocean Dreams
H10 Ocean Dreams
#4 of 45 in Corralejo
773 reviews
0.3 mi away
H10 Ocean Suites
H10 Ocean Suites
#9 of 45 in Corralejo
1,480 reviews
23.2 mi away
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Corralejo Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Corralejo Bay

Address: Avenida Grandes Playas 12, 35660 Corralejo, La Oliva, Fuerteventura, Spain (Formerly BlueBay Palace Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > La Oliva > Corralejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Corralejo
#3 Green Hotel in Corralejo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Corralejo
#5 Luxury Hotel in Corralejo
Price Range: $135 - $338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Corralejo Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 231
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Barcelo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Barcelo Corralejo Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Corralejo Bay Hotel Corralejo
Bluebay Palace Corralejo
Bluebay Palace Hotel Corralejo
Barcelo Corralejo Bay Fuerteventura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing