We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for a relaxing week”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Barcelo Corralejo Bay
Ranked #6 of 45 Hotels in Corralejo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We spent a week here for my husbands 65th birthday and really enjoyed it. The wellness room was big and very bright and airy. The restaurant food was delicious and the waiters/waitresses mostly quick and attentive. The Spa was definitely worth it, for the water circuit alone, just weren't brave enough to try the toning pool, freezing water aint our thing so we stuck to the hot water pool and Jacuzzi. Treatments weren't that much more expensive than over here and very well done. The hotel itself is ideally situated just off the main strip and is a short walk down into the harbour, an even shorter walk to the beach.An even bigger plus for the hotel is that it's adults only, which is important as our own kids are now off hand and we have had our fair share of screaming and crying!! The pool area is lovely and clean, and there is also a courtyard with wicker chairs and tables for just chilling. The bar area has a great atmosphere and is ideal at any time of the day to chill out with a drink or coffee.
Only a couple of minor gripes, the maid(s) kept forgetting milk for the tea, (very important when you drink as much tea as us), and could have swept the floor more frequently.The the air con kept going off for no reason; then the maintainance man pointed us to a dial on the wall by the bedlight(looking like part of an ordinary light switch) which needs to be on for the main control to work. Oh and we tried to follow the instructions for the in room safe, but with no luck, on asking at reception, we hadnt paid the 3 euro per day charge, which we assumed was in with cost and wasnt mentioned on checking in.
Overall though this is a great place to stay and we would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Its well worth paying the extra for a wellness room, as they overlook the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mamagill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,007)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,085 - 3,091 of 5,007 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2013

3 of us arrived but room was set only for 2. It took the rest of the day going back and forward to the reception to get things put right. The Air Con was not working and each day the Hotel said it was under repair and would be fixed the next day, We were told that for 5days. The food was not up to the standard for a very nice large hotel. It seemed that it was under staffed. The pool was very good and loungers were comfortable Overall we were disappointed with the 7 days we were there. we will not be returning although we have booked a Thomson hotel in July as we have found ok in the past . Ted Linda & Amanda

Room Tip: Make sure the Air Con is working.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EdwardWarder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We spent 11 nights at the hotel in February. The food was excellent, staff welcoming and friendly and rooms clean and tidy. The whole ambience of the place was one of total relaxation . We used both the spa and the gym.If you wanted something to do there were daily activities in the hotel but these were not in your face. Whilst there, it was my partner's birthday and we came back to the room to find birthday cake and a bottle of bubbly from the hotel, totally unprompted. If you want help they are there but by the same token if your aim is just to chill out they will leave you to do this in comfort. Our first adults only hotel but something that now is a must for us.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TennysonTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

As a first visit we were very lucky, the weather was wonderful and the hotel was as good as the brochure said. Food was very good and we really enjoyed the meal on Saturday in the pool side restaurant. If we return we would prefer more al la carte meals if possible. My only criticism of the food was the lack of peeled fresh fruit for breakfast, I did not expect tinned fruit! After reading Trip Advisor we requested a corner room and were fortunate to have room 1217 (I think) it was a corner one overlooking the pool bar and the Veranda so very handy for using the Veranda which was lovely and quiet and very comfortable sun beds! The bonus being we had sun all day as the balcony went round the corner, however you do hear some traffic noise from the road but it was not too intrusive. Our only criticism was the furniture as several people have said it is in need of refurbishment. The staff could not have been more helpful and the activities available were very good although I only did the Silk Painting and it was excellent, Sue was a very knowledgeable teacher and very patient too! Hope to return in the not too distant future.

Room Tip: The corner rooms are very good with the bigger balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Callybal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed 2 weeks at the Barcelo Corralejo Bay and found that it was ideally situated only 5 minutes walk from the beach and main shopping area. The staff were extremely welcoming and there was a general relaxing atmosphere. The rooms were well furnished with a very comfortable beds and tea and coffee making facilities. All areas were clean and well kept. The pool area was quite busy at times and it was not always possible to get a sun bed but we spent most days hopping onto the free bus and going along to the sand dunes. Anyone who spent most of their time around the pool were missing out on the beautiful beaches which went on forever. These were not crowded but had a few beach bars all reasonably priced. In fact we found that all prices for dinks and snacks remained the same whether in the hotel or surrounding bars.I would definately reccommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jacci o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

The hotel is set back away from the beach in a residential road, but it is only a very short stroll to the nearest beach. The beach is not great to be honest but the great Corralejo dune beach is only about an hour away on foot- the hotel does run courtesy coaches twice in the morning and afternoon to this fabulous beach.

After a disastrous start to the holiday ( more about that later) we were looking forward to a good nights rest on our first night ( we had been up since 2am with no sleep). However there was a singer singing in the foyer until 10.30 and she sounded so loud she could have been in our room! As we had asked for a quiet room this was massively disappointing and a couple of rather irate phone calls were made to reception. They said the music would be turned down but it was not. The next morning we let our feelings be known to the hotel who said the hotel was almost full and the only room available was on the ground floor- not what we wanted. So we kept our room and fingers crossed it would not be so noisy the following nights. They certainly have a problem with accoustics and rooms too close to the foyer.

The food was generally pretty good and we did not go hungry. The service at the tables was good but the choice of sweets was the most disappointing aspect. Why do they think guests want a choice of about 10 or 12 different (looking) gateaux? Yes there was ice cream but little else. One night there was stewed pears and one night there was rice pudding. Go there if you like gateaux!

The early morning scrum for the sunbeds was a bit annoying. The lifeguards put a chain across the entrance to the pool area and at 9am on the dot they take it away and all hell is let loose! Very undignified but necessary if you wanted a premium site by the pool. Quite a few of the Brits just unhooked the chain and bagged their beds whilst those decent folk quietly fumed and muttered under their breathe! The pool area was clean but there is far too much shade for us "sunnies" and only a few beds seemed to get uninterrupted sun. Otherwise it meant constantly moving your bed, which in a smallish pool area is not that easy.

The animation team did try hard to drum up some support for the activities and they were very friendly. The entertainment was ok but have seen better.. an ABBA tribute band and a traditional flamenco were the best attended.

Back to the start... we booked with Cosmos for the first time in many years. We landed at around 12.40pm and whisked through customs etc and started queueing at just on 13.00. We had been told that Cosmos now use a scheduled bus service (Viajes Urbis) to take guests to their hotels. We are told there can be up to an hours wait for the bus, but at 14.15 the bus turned up. We had been waiting an hour and a quarter in the early afternoon sun... no shade available. The guests on the TUI flight that landed 20 minutes after us left 20 minutes before we did. We were amongst the first in the queue but it was obvious that not all those waiting would get on, so there was a mad scaramble to get on the bus and people were pushing in front of others, and there was some unpleasantness. Some just gave up and hired a taxi at their own cost. BE WARNED!! We then took a tortuous route to every hotel-it seemed- in Corralejo until we arrived at 15.40..... THREE hours after landing. We hired our own bus with other guests on the way back as we could not bear the idea of that happening on the return trip. It took us 40 minutes from door to Departure Lounge. The hotel arranged the mini bus for us and everyone was delighted despite having to pay 18 euros per couple!!

Overall a good holiday spoilt by the bad start we had. Make sure you know about your airport to hotel transfer!

Room Tip: Keep away from rooms near reception!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Petjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed here in February. The weather was lovely, around 23/24 degrees. Pool area is great as are the staff. We stayed in a superior room with sea view. I have to say the sea view wasn't much, it was more scruffy buildings from surrounding streets with dogs barking. Would suggest a room overlooking the pool instead. 95% of the Rooms have twin beds not double which was quite annoying for us as a couple. Location is great. You are right by a small bay beach with a few beach cafes, a very touristy strip of all sorts of bars or restaurants catered for English people and past there is the lovely old town which is much more Spanish with views over the sea. Our towels and bedding were not changed all week which wasn't ideal for us. The food (evening buffet) wasn't great. Lots of choice but dried out meats and fish. No atmosphere. We ate out every night despite being half board. Would still reccommend but can't give it full marks.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank melissaselwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corralejo
0.2 mi away
Barcelo Corralejo Sands
Barcelo Corralejo Sands
#7 of 45 in Corralejo
1,028 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real
0.4 mi away
Avanti Hotel Boutique Fuerteventura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
H10 Ocean Suites
H10 Ocean Suites
#9 of 45 in Corralejo
1,435 reviews
0.3 mi away
H10 Ocean Dreams
H10 Ocean Dreams
#4 of 45 in Corralejo
740 reviews
23.2 mi away
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Corralejo Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Corralejo Bay

Address: Avenida Grandes Playas 12, 35660 Corralejo, La Oliva, Fuerteventura, Spain (Formerly BlueBay Palace Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > La Oliva > Corralejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Corralejo
#3 Green Hotel in Corralejo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Corralejo
Price Range: $143 - $335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Barcelo Corralejo Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 231
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Barcelo, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Barcelo Corralejo Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Corralejo Bay Hotel Corralejo
Bluebay Palace Corralejo
Bluebay Palace Hotel Corralejo
Barcelo Corralejo Bay Fuerteventura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing