We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and well placed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Barcelo Corralejo Bay
Ranked #6 of 45 Hotels in Corralejo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed 2 weeks at the Barcelo Corralejo Bay and found that it was ideally situated only 5 minutes walk from the beach and main shopping area. The staff were extremely welcoming and there was a general relaxing atmosphere. The rooms were well furnished with a very comfortable beds and tea and coffee making facilities. All areas were clean and well kept. The pool area was quite busy at times and it was not always possible to get a sun bed but we spent most days hopping onto the free bus and going along to the sand dunes. Anyone who spent most of their time around the pool were missing out on the beautiful beaches which went on forever. These were not crowded but had a few beach bars all reasonably priced. In fact we found that all prices for dinks and snacks remained the same whether in the hotel or surrounding bars.I would definately reccommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jacci o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,007)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,089 - 3,095 of 5,007 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2013

The hotel is set back away from the beach in a residential road, but it is only a very short stroll to the nearest beach. The beach is not great to be honest but the great Corralejo dune beach is only about an hour away on foot- the hotel does run courtesy coaches twice in the morning and afternoon to this fabulous beach.

After a disastrous start to the holiday ( more about that later) we were looking forward to a good nights rest on our first night ( we had been up since 2am with no sleep). However there was a singer singing in the foyer until 10.30 and she sounded so loud she could have been in our room! As we had asked for a quiet room this was massively disappointing and a couple of rather irate phone calls were made to reception. They said the music would be turned down but it was not. The next morning we let our feelings be known to the hotel who said the hotel was almost full and the only room available was on the ground floor- not what we wanted. So we kept our room and fingers crossed it would not be so noisy the following nights. They certainly have a problem with accoustics and rooms too close to the foyer.

The food was generally pretty good and we did not go hungry. The service at the tables was good but the choice of sweets was the most disappointing aspect. Why do they think guests want a choice of about 10 or 12 different (looking) gateaux? Yes there was ice cream but little else. One night there was stewed pears and one night there was rice pudding. Go there if you like gateaux!

The early morning scrum for the sunbeds was a bit annoying. The lifeguards put a chain across the entrance to the pool area and at 9am on the dot they take it away and all hell is let loose! Very undignified but necessary if you wanted a premium site by the pool. Quite a few of the Brits just unhooked the chain and bagged their beds whilst those decent folk quietly fumed and muttered under their breathe! The pool area was clean but there is far too much shade for us "sunnies" and only a few beds seemed to get uninterrupted sun. Otherwise it meant constantly moving your bed, which in a smallish pool area is not that easy.

The animation team did try hard to drum up some support for the activities and they were very friendly. The entertainment was ok but have seen better.. an ABBA tribute band and a traditional flamenco were the best attended.

Back to the start... we booked with Cosmos for the first time in many years. We landed at around 12.40pm and whisked through customs etc and started queueing at just on 13.00. We had been told that Cosmos now use a scheduled bus service (Viajes Urbis) to take guests to their hotels. We are told there can be up to an hours wait for the bus, but at 14.15 the bus turned up. We had been waiting an hour and a quarter in the early afternoon sun... no shade available. The guests on the TUI flight that landed 20 minutes after us left 20 minutes before we did. We were amongst the first in the queue but it was obvious that not all those waiting would get on, so there was a mad scaramble to get on the bus and people were pushing in front of others, and there was some unpleasantness. Some just gave up and hired a taxi at their own cost. BE WARNED!! We then took a tortuous route to every hotel-it seemed- in Corralejo until we arrived at 15.40..... THREE hours after landing. We hired our own bus with other guests on the way back as we could not bear the idea of that happening on the return trip. It took us 40 minutes from door to Departure Lounge. The hotel arranged the mini bus for us and everyone was delighted despite having to pay 18 euros per couple!!

Overall a good holiday spoilt by the bad start we had. Make sure you know about your airport to hotel transfer!

Room Tip: Keep away from rooms near reception!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Petjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed here in February. The weather was lovely, around 23/24 degrees. Pool area is great as are the staff. We stayed in a superior room with sea view. I have to say the sea view wasn't much, it was more scruffy buildings from surrounding streets with dogs barking. Would suggest a room overlooking the pool instead. 95% of the Rooms have twin beds not double which was quite annoying for us as a couple. Location is great. You are right by a small bay beach with a few beach cafes, a very touristy strip of all sorts of bars or restaurants catered for English people and past there is the lovely old town which is much more Spanish with views over the sea. Our towels and bedding were not changed all week which wasn't ideal for us. The food (evening buffet) wasn't great. Lots of choice but dried out meats and fish. No atmosphere. We ate out every night despite being half board. Would still reccommend but can't give it full marks.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank melissaselwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Just arrived back from a weeks holiday in this hotel. We were really pleased with our choice - a short walk from both the beach and the shopping area. The staff were lovely, the pool area beautifully laid out and the bar spacious and refined. We booked B&B and the breakfast choice was as good as I've seen anywhere. There are hundreds of restaurants to choose from within a few minutes walk. We loved La Cantina - a Mexican Restaurant not on Trip Advisor - my husband thought their steaks were great. We paid 28 euros for drinks, meals, an Irish Coffee and then had complimentary Tequila and sweets! We'd been to another resort in FV a couple of years ago and I didn't enjoy it. This fine hotel changed my mind about holidaying on the island. And the weather was fabulous!

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank shipsatsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from the Barcelo in Corralejo and we both loved it. The staff are so friendly and efficient, and always helpful. We never heard any complaints from any of the other guests. The food was good with plenty of choice, nice pool area with plenty of loungers. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dinxie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We booked this hotel because we liked the look of it and all the reviews seem very positive.
We returned last week.
Well I have to say we were not disappointed, as they say you get what you pay for.
Yes it is a little more expensive than most all-inclusive.
But what you get is good food and premier drinks and good service.
Also unlike most all-inclusive drinks are served in glasses not those horrible plastic cups and are
all Waiter service, so no need to cue.
Not all are on AL
Yes if you had a drink by the pool this was served in plastic glasses but this is for safety reasons.

We asked for a room overlooking the pool to which is what we got, this was recommended in the reviews as the rooms
on the outside look over the roads.
Breakfast and dinner are served in the main restaurant a very good choice of food all well marked so you know what it is,
we find this so lacking in lots of hotels.
Lunch is served in the pool bar not your normal pool bar much better than most.
Food is from the A la Carte menu.
The rooms are of a very good standard well decorated and in good condition with large bathrooms and A/C with good chairs on the balcony not your usual white plastic.
There was no towels on the sunbeds at 6am in the morning because no one was allowed in the pool area until 9am.
I did see some towels early but they were removed great to see, well done to the hotel.
This was a first for me.
The beach is only about 100 meters away not the best on the Island and the strip with all the shops bars and restaurants is about 5 mins away.
The only down side I would say is lack of entertainment in the evenings.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KoiSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

General comments
Returned home 23/11/2013. We are two adults forming part of a group of five friends. Have stayed in this hotel on four previous occasions but this was the first time while owned by the Barcelo Group. Still a very nice and modern hotel but has not been updated since it was built which I think was about year 2000, however they do seem to be working on the bedrooms with a view to updating.

Cleanliness
Spotless in all the public areas, corridors and bedrooms. An army of cleaning staff seemed to be always on the go and nothing was too much trouble. There seemed to be an older supervisor lady who was armed with a clipboard and all was done and kept to perfection at all times, 10 out of 10.

Food
Always plenty of choice at breakfast and dinner with the exception of what appeared to be a Mexican night when all in the group struggled a little. Some of the food could have been hotter however I understand it is difficult to maintain high temperature in a buffet situation. The fish dishes were always spot on and very enjoyable and a lot of detail seemed to have been devoted to ensuring the absence of bones. However a major down side was the meats. The pork, chicken, lamb, rabbit and beef were all so tough that they were almost impossible to eat and certainly did not add anything to the dining experience. Mr Barcelo you need to look very carefully at your meat supplier as he or she is not doing you any favours and if you continue to ignore comments such as mine I fear the hotel will slip in popularity. I never experienced food issues at this hotel before and the problem does not seem to be the way the meat is cooked. Many of the meats were cooked at the server and I could not see any issues with the methods used so the problem does seem to be with product.

VIP Package
The hotel offers a so called VIP package for a cost of 19.90 Euros per day for a minimum of three consecutive days.( ie. 19.90 X 3 = 59.90Euros) For this you will get eight drinks per day free of charge which in real terms works out at less than 2.50 Euros per drink, you should also note that a gin and tonic etc is one drink and not two, If only the bars at home would adapt this attitude. You will also receive 20% discount on a variety of items such as bottles of wine, pool side food and Spa treatments to mention just a few. You will also receive a robe and slippers for your personal use during your stay, the slippers you may take home. When I first enquired about the VIP package at reception I was told that because there was two in the room I would have to buy two packages. I explained that sixteen drinks per day would have been far beyond what I wanted so she quickly checked with her manager and I was allowed to purchase my one pack. Some of the staff struggled with what was included in the VIP package so keep your entitlement sheet handy. The food at the poolside bar was well below the standard that I expected although others in the group did not agree with me.

Finally would I go back to this hotel, the answer to that is yes and tomorrow if I could get the flights. The only change I would make is I would go on a bed and breakfast basis as there are some very good places to eat in Corralejo.

Room Tip: All rooms are of a high standard and very clean, our room was upgraded to a a sea view which was ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bargainhunter52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corralejo
0.2 mi away
Barcelo Corralejo Sands
Barcelo Corralejo Sands
#7 of 45 in Corralejo
1,025 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real
0.4 mi away
Avanti Hotel Boutique Fuerteventura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
H10 Ocean Suites
H10 Ocean Suites
#9 of 45 in Corralejo
1,435 reviews
0.3 mi away
H10 Ocean Dreams
H10 Ocean Dreams
#4 of 45 in Corralejo
739 reviews
23.2 mi away
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Corralejo Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Corralejo Bay

Address: Avenida Grandes Playas 12, 35660 Corralejo, La Oliva, Fuerteventura, Spain (Formerly BlueBay Palace Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > La Oliva > Corralejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Corralejo
#3 Green Hotel in Corralejo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Corralejo
Price Range: $144 - $335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Barcelo Corralejo Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 231
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Barcelo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Barcelo Corralejo Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Corralejo Bay Hotel Corralejo
Bluebay Palace Corralejo
Bluebay Palace Hotel Corralejo
Barcelo Corralejo Bay Fuerteventura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing