We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“under staffed 3 star” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barcelo Corralejo Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Barcelo Corralejo Bay
Ranked #6 of 46 Hotels in Corralejo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“under staffed 3 star”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

We found the rooms were ok. We slept at the rear on the ground floor,we had several problems that did get on our nerves. the tennis courts where certain guest tried to mimick Wimbledon with OOHHS ,AARS, OUT, FAULT,This also annoyed other guests as they shouted out for FOR GOD SAKE SHUT UP. The metal gates that let the staff and deliveries in would open and close up to midnight and,this would set the local dogs barking off at all times that were in the residential area. There was only one member of staff on in the mornings until lunch time to serve coffees,drinks etc from the main bar, This person was running around the pool area and bar area taking orders then going back upstairs to the bar to produce the drinks and then hand them to the guests again around the pool. If only one of the 3 staff behind reception would help out it would give better service. The only part of the food that was hot was that was being produced by the chef on the griddle ,eggs,pancakes at breakfast and fish,pork chops and steaks in the evening, must say i did get fed up with seeing the same breakfast menu day in and day out for our 11 night stay, luke warm beans, spanish style sausage, brussels ,yes you heard right brussels.All this was luke warm to cold. One evening a pork joint was on the servery being carved with blood coming out as it was being served. I know pork can be a pink in the middle but this was not water it was blood. this was removed and replaced after an other guest complained or it would have been served. It a shame they have all the ingredients to make the food great, but it was just tepid or cold.It was sitting in bain maries but they had no lids and their overhead canopies were lights not heaters I gave up after 3 days and eat out mostly. However, the sweets were excellent as was the cheese board (but then they are meant to be cold).The salad bar was good but repetative.The poor staff can only work with the tools they are given from their head office and they tried their best. Come on Barcelo head office wake up and help your poor staff.Our experience was very disappointing overall as you did not feel like a special guest. Yes we had a nice room but it was only "top cleaned" daily. The beds were comfy but the pillows stank.The bathroom was tired which possibly was due to no ventilation in there. The pool area was fine and thoroughly cleaned everyday. We certainly will never return to the hotel or resort ever again.

Room Tip: Rear of the hotel for all day sun,lh side of the building as you look from the front for larger room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank orrid422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,491
    1,287
    306
    71
    46
See reviews for
406
3,161
97
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (754)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Crewkerne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Although you could tell that the hotel was a 4* not a 5*, the service, food, pool area, spa and room were very good. We stayed in a wellness room which was well worth the little extra. We enjoyed every meal. The hotel lays on free daily activities which were surprisingly good and unexpected. The complimentary uses of the spa were glorious and the location is perfect. It takes about 5 mins to stroll into town either by pavement or along the shore. The whole atmosphere was very friendly and comfortable which some 5*'s seem to lack. I will definitely visit again.

Room Tip: Splash out and get a Wellness room. Our room faced away from the pool and felt very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank theyurtretreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

We have just returned from a week at this hotel and found it to be a really nice, comfortable place to stay. The rooms are very spacious, light and airy with lovely balcony furniture; we were facing the residential area at the back which we found to be very quiet and peaceful. I had seven blissful nights sleep as the beds are soooo comfortable, with huge mattresses and sumptuous pillows. It was lovely to have tea making facilities as well and saved having to take my own kettle, tea bags and coffee.
Sun loungers at the pool are comfortable and there are plenty of them, and the pool restaurant serves lovely food, very reasonably priced. We saw "The Four Tops" in the lounge bar; it was a great night and very cheap as a bottle of wine only costs 8 Euros! In fact all the drinks were just the same price as the bars outside and there is always some sort of entertainment either downstairs or in the lobby area which has a really good atmosphere and plenty of people about. The hotel itself is in a good location, just a short walk to the town and beach.
The only thing that put a bit of a damper on the holiday was the food. Most of it was cold and unappetizing; I'm not a fussy eater but I stuck to salads and the gorgeous breads available. The deserts were lovely though and the restaurant also was very warm and welcoming with a nice vibe about it. They could do with pots of coffee on the tables at breakfast as there was always a long queue for half a cup.
Apart from that it is a lovely hotel and one of the nicest we have stayed in over the years. The staff are very friendly and the maids keep the rooms very clean.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tessbelle98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanzarote, Spain
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

after reading the review for this property i was really expecting more ...its not bad by any means ...its just not that great.....reception staff were lovely as was the very lively lady who came round poolside with fruit every afternoon ( great touch)......it felt like there were too many people for the available space so poolside was kinda cramped to say the least....the room itself was ok...again not great just ok..bathroom was absolutely average and felt in need of a re-do...overall to me it felt like a 3 rather than a 4star property and considering what we paid for it which wasnt cheap i didn´t feel it delivered and i certainly dont understand the rave reviews.....i wont be recommending it

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

This was our first visit to Corrallejo. The hotel has pretty much everthing you'd want from a holiday hotel. Lovely rooms complete with nice touches including kettle, fridge, large flat screen TV, loads of drawers & cupboards, and excellent outdoor furniture on the balcony. It's in a fabulous location a few minutes walk from beach/harbour/shops/restaurants/bars. But the pool area is a fab quiet oasis protected from the wind. (It does seem to get breezy in Corralejo).
Difficult to find anything to complain about. Maybe the bed was a bit hard - but it didn't stop us from getting 11 very peaceful nights sleep. The food in the restaurant could be better - but that applies equally to lots of mass-catering holiday hotels. We had plenty to eat each night so it can't have been so bad.
Would definitely choose this hotel again if we were returning to Corralejo.

Room Tip: Ask for top floor with a pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jonasurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful two week's holiday here. The hotel is very central, so a short stroll to a lovely golden, sandy beach and also into town. Despite this - very quiet, which we appreciated. Excellent food - so much choice for breakfast and for dinner in the evening. Amanda (the social hostess) and her assistant always greeted you with a welcome and a smile and provided excellent entertainment. During the day we particularly enjoyed Silk Painting, an Aloe Vera session and a walk through Corralejo. In the evening, the high spots were a Celtic Dance and a Flamenco evening. We also took advantage of eating on a Wednesday night in the Pool Bar - an excellent meal (where it was nice to be served for a change) accompanied by a saxophonist. The hotel was really clean and all the staff worked hard - from gardeners to chamber maids to waiters and chefs. Loved relaxing by the pools and never had a problem finding sun loungers, whatever time of day we went there. We very much hope to return for some more 'winter sunshine' here another year.

Room Tip: We liked our room which overlooked the pool - it was sunny from mid afternoon onwards and we could w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Caroline A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

Excellent break here - hotel located in a quiet area near the beach and a short walk to the old town. Very peaceful atmosphere with good accommodation. The staff were professional and the housekeeping good. As for the food, a wide selection every day. On offer over a week,english breakfast, omelettes, continental style breakfast bar, chopped fruit and yoghourts, roast beef, roast pork, chicken, prawns, rabbit, veal, pork chops, pasta, pizza, sole, mackerel, chips, rice, pasta, salads of every kind, kebabs, paella, chicken madras, couscous, selection of pastries, desserts, rice pudding, creme caramel, ice cream, cheese and biscuits, dried apricots figs and dates, walnuts. What I am saying is the food was great!
Only little niggle is the coffee machines as there always seem to be a queue, you dont get a full cup and it isn't that good. Could do with a cafetiere on the table.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
12 Thank Goldenoldies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corralejo
0.8 mi away
Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real
0.4 mi away
Avanti Hotel Boutique Fuerteventura
1.7 mi away
Bahiazul Villas & Club
Bahiazul Villas & Club
#2 of 46 in Corralejo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.2 mi away
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
0.3 mi away
H10 Ocean Suites
H10 Ocean Suites
#10 of 46 in Corralejo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,017 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Tres Islas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Corralejo Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Corralejo Bay

Property: Barcelo Corralejo Bay
Address: Avenida Grandes Playas 12, 35660 Corralejo, La Oliva, Fuerteventura, Spain (Formerly BlueBay Palace Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > La Oliva > Corralejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Corralejo
#3 Green Hotel in Corralejo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Corralejo
#5 Luxury Hotel in Corralejo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Corralejo Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 231
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Barcelo so you can book your Barcelo Corralejo Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Corralejo Bay Hotel Corralejo
Bluebay Palace Corralejo
Bluebay Palace Hotel Corralejo
Barcelo Corralejo Bay Fuerteventura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing