We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Barcelo Corralejo Bay
Nearby Hotels
$217
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$149
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Arena Suite(Corralejo)
$96
$75
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$197
$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$167
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Fuentepark Apartamentos(Corralejo)(Great Value!)
$83
$64
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$160
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$162
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$171
$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$96
HotelsClick
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (5,505)
Filter reviews
5,505 results
Traveler rating
3,362
1,644
370
82
47
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,362
1,644
370
82
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool areadeluxe roomwellness centrehalf boardexcellent hotelevening entertainmentbreakfast and dinnerrelaxing holidayplenty of choicean adultbottle of cavafree busbars and restaurantsthe main streetsand duneshotel entertainmentplenty of sunbeds
Filter
Updating list...
3,558 - 3,563 of 5,505 reviews
Reviewed January 10, 2013

This is the fourth time my husband and I have stayed at this hotel over the last 10 years, but this is the first time since Barcelo took over and turned it into an adults only hotel.
The Hotel is very clean, smart and comfortable, the beds especially are some of the comfiest I have ever slept in at a holiday hotel. when we came here before the sauna, steam room and hot tub were available to all, but now they are part of the Spa and have to be paid for, which is a shame as it was a great part of coming to this hotel, so much for progress.
This time we asked for a partial sea view, which in fairness was a nice view looking over the sea and the island of Lanzarote. The down side is you get the morning sun (nice) instead of the afternoon sun, but the worst part of this room is you are overlooking the service bay to the hotel, which means that when the dustmen call, everyday at 4am you will hear them along with all the delivery vans who start arriving around 6am. I am an early riser (around 6am ) anyway so it didn't really bother me too much but if you are looking forward to a nice lay in then beware.
Now to the food. Oh dear, most of the cooked food was almost inedible, you couldn't cut the sausages at breakfast on the first couple of days and the meat cooked in the evening was dry and over cooked. My husband complained to out Rep (TUI) who spoke to the management and I have to say that it did improve after that though by then we had eaten out a few nights. I would still return to this hotel as the location and staff where excellent but perhaps would't choose to go half board.

Room Tip: pool view or rooms looking west will give you the best afternoon sunshine. Would avoid Sea View rooms.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bab5y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Stayed over Christmas and New Year. The hotel itself is very well situated for the beach, town and harbour. Walking across the beach to the harbour on New Year's Day was a new experience for us never to be forgotten. Our room was clean and well appointed. We had trouble the first night with the twin beds that were pushed together supposedly to form a double as we both kept slipping donw the gap that kept appearing in the middle. Within minutes of mentioning this at reception next day a handyman appeared and sorted it all out. Fine from then on. We appreciated the bottle of cava and cake left in the room free of charge on my husband's birthday. the spa is worth checking out. We had a 'Wellness' room, which gives you three free entries to the water circuit including jacuzzi, sauna etc. All of the staff were helpful and courteous. Very peaceful with no children around, which made a nice change for us.

The only downside to this hotel as per other reviews is the food, which is not of top quality and not what you would expect at a good hotel. Food was often lukewarm and not terribly imaginative. The New Year Gala Dinner that promised much turned out to be a bit of a shambles as it was difficult to identify what the promised 6 courses were and where they were. And really, does anyone eat brussel sprouts for breakfast? They were on offer almost every day, more often than mushrooms, which I only saw once. We were on half board but ate out most evenings as we hadn't paid much more than B&B and there are so many good restaurants in Corralejo.

I would go again but would opt for B&B. Would give it five stars but for the food.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank auntieh22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

the Barcelona a lovely hotel my critic is that the out door pools where to cold to swim in and the was no option to use the indoor pool as it is part of the fitness suit the resteraunt is well organised and the food was of a high standard are room overlooked the pool and are topped mattess was poor slipped of the main mattess are Thomas cook rep Lisa? was very good thanks barcelo overall one one of the best hotels we have stopped at Rob&Sue Bruce

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tuppennce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

The hotel itself is really nice but this was by far the worst buffet food and so called gala Xmas dinner we have had in a Spanish hotel rated 4 stars or more. We don’t say dismiss the hotel out of hand, and even though it will inevitably be more expensive, we would definitely recommend downgrading to B&B. There are very many good cafes and restaurants only a short walk from the hotel.

The hotel is only 3 stories high, plus a lower ground level, with about 220+ rooms and is shaped like 3 sides of a rectangle. The 2 longer bedroom blocks run north to south and comprise about 100 rooms each, so the majority of rooms face east or west. In December, all of these rooms have at least 5 hours of morning or afternoon sun apart from a few shaded by palm trees. As stated by other reviewers, the extra cost sea view rooms face east and only get morning sun. There are 20 rooms on floors 2 and 3 above reception that face south and get sun for much longer. The down side is that these rooms are right below generators, air conditioning units, and/or extractors from the kitchens that drone all day long from 7am until the kitchens close down at night. If like us your room is towards the back of the hotel in the east block you’ll also experience this noise in your room but most noticeably when you’re on your balcony. Instead of dark and narrow corridors, rooms are accessed via open walkways with a glass atrium above letting in natural light, which was very pleasant.

The Barcelo website claims that standard “superior” rooms are supposed to be 35 sq mtrs plus balcony, but the standard rooms on floors 2 and 3 are nowhere near as large as claimed. The main part of the room is only 17.5 sq mtrs plus another 7 for the entrance and bathroom, making less than 25 in total plus 6 or 7 more for the balcony. The rooms on floor 1 are larger, about 32 sq mtrs, as they deeper than the floors above. We had a six foot super king size bed that was firm and supportive without being hard. The springs were starting to go on one side and it creaked quite a lot as you turned over during the night. The sound insulation between rooms was better than in lots of hotels we’ve stayed it but the sound of springs in the bed next door did manage to get through the wall sometimes. It may have been because we were on floor 3 but we didn’t experience noisy bathroom plumbing from adjacent rooms – hooray. There was a 32 inch LCD TV with a really good picture but, as usual, even with a high proportion of British guests, the hotel couldn’t be bothered to pay for English language entertainment channels and only provided Sky News. The in room safe costs a hefty 3€ a day, which means it probably pays for itself many times over every year even with the insurance premiums. The mini bar isn’t stocked automatically so you can use it as you wish. A kettle and cups are provided with a few teas, coffees and sugars. Fine if you like it black, but you can always get your own milk. The bathroom had twin sinks with pretty good lighting above. A rainshower head has obviously been added above the bath recently, which provided a great shower without having to limbo backwards towards the taps like in many other places. The large towels were very good quality. Room cleaning couldn’t be faulted.

We remember this hotel being built by Altantis Group and in particular, we recall seeing a huge south facing hole between the bedroom blocks that became the lower level pool area and surrounding terraces. Because the hotel doesn’t have masses of external space they’ve designed the pool area to get the best possible sun but it does mean that one side of the sunbathing terraces are in shade for quite a long time on winter mornings, while the other side goes into shade in the afternoons. To stop “bed baggers” the hotel hangs chains across the terrace access paths until about 9am. This does stop the worst excesses but you will frequently see unused beds with towels in full sun during the morning that might mean you are forced to choose beds in the shade. Being adults only, it was bliss around the pool as well as everywhere else in the public areas.

What lets this hotel down is the food. At breakfast, while the plates could be lovely and hot, the hot food was, invariably, just about cold. Even after being refilled it still wasn’t hot food. If you wanted it, the only way to get something hot for breakfast was to have an omelette specially made for you. In most Mediterranean places you’d expect fresh breads to be pretty crusty but here the hard dry bread always tended towards staleness. You don’t get jars of nice local preserves like you do in other hotels, you get small plastic pots of cheap nasty jams, just like you might get in a British “greasy spoon” café.
But the evening main course buffets were worse, being mediocre in choice and quality. If hotels are going to offer an “international buffet” they need to employ chefs who know how to cook international food and what might come together to make a decent plate of food. On Xmas day, even though they offered turkey, they didn’t even bother to roast any turkeys. They only offered pressed turkey roll made up of dark meat, which was almost stone cold and less then pleasing. Then what to have with it? Little or no thought had been given to what people might eat with the almost cold turkey. We wonder how much extra we paid for that “gala meal”. There were a couple of casseroles every night which looked like they had been made with leftovers or else the worst cuts of meat you could ever imagine. And griddling bits of meat or fish at the buffet doesn’t much count as cooking in our minds. When the meat then turns out to be tough, you wonder why bother? We ate little of what we put on our plates most days and plenty of people seemed to be looking at the offerings with little enthusiasm. If this was a restaurant and you used our “plate test” to look at what you’ve chosen or been forced to choose to eat, we doubt anyone would be back. My employer has a training campus, which has a tiny daily budget per head for staff meals, but the “international” food they turn out is well thought out and presented. So it can be done even by a typical penny pinching employer. You wonder why Thomsons pulled out from this hotel to leave Thomas Cook as the main UK tour operator – we suspect it was the food scores on the completed questionnaires. The Thomas Cook Rep, Kirsty, was friendly and enthusiastic.

The dining rooms in particular seems to run on limited staff numbers so it may take some while for drinks to be served. Bar prices weren’t too bad for a hotel and entertainment was not the worst we have had. If you want something more there’s plenty of choice in town.

As we say, nice hotel, but only stay here B&B if you like good food. On our last night we ate out overlooking the harbour and had an excellent meal.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the noisy extractors
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MandH-eurotrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

The hotel is very close to beach and to shops, restaurants...
Rooms are comfortable and very clean.
Lavazza capsules are available for breakfast but the coffee that you pay 2 Euros at the bar is of low quality.
At the restaurant, the quality of raw products is low.
It is possible to get better food in the surrounding area.

Room Tip: Because the floor is not insulated, the first floor rooms are more comfortable during the summer than during the winter.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Max M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews