We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Loved it"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barcelo Corralejo Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Barcelo Corralejo Bay
Ranked #6 of 46 Hotels in Corralejo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“"Loved it"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

First time in Fuerteventura and we thought this hotel was superb. Good location coupled with wonderful sunshine. Impressed on arrival with the general appearance and the spacious foyer. Easy check in and good sized room with a sea view of lanzarote. Not the Ritz but still a very nice room with a balcony with chairs and table taboot. The hotel interior is well laid out with trees and plants giving it almost an exotic feel and oh so relaxing. Buffet style restaurant with absolutely so much choice. We couldn't complain but suppose somebody will. The bar was nice and relaxing and entertainment was provided. The pool and gardens were superb with loads of loungers etc. The whole place was so clean and tidy and the our room was cleaned daily to a high standard. What's more it just off the main drag so to speak so you do not get noisy street crowds etc. As for Corralejo itself, well we loved it, lots of shops if you are in to that sort of thing. What you must do though is get down to the harbour area and visit one the many restaurants for a special meal or just a drink overlooking the sea. Didn't get to see the other end of Fuerteventura apart from the airport so cannot really comment on that. Booked a trip to lanzarote on the volcana tour and it was great. If that doesn't appeal why not just catch one the frequent ferries and pop over to lanzarote yourself. We thought our stay was great and have booked again for 2013. Can't wait!!

Room Tip: All rooms seem good but would suggest one with a sea view, then again as always it is down to person...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Barry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,491
    1,287
    306
    71
    46
See reviews for
406
3,161
97
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (754)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Merseyside, England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

Stayed for 11 nights in November. Great location in Corralejo. Very efficient hotel check-in and even thought quite late at night food had been arranged in the dining room. Hotel was well maintained with good facilities including gym. The rooms were quite spacious with mini fridge and tea/coffee included (not always available in Spain). We thought the food wasn't bad at all, with a good selection, considering some of the negative reviews not once during our stay did we have cause to grumble. A nice touch was that on the day of my daughters birthday a cake and bottle of cava was delivered to her room. Totally pleasant stay, very relaxing. The only negative comment would be that as half board guests paying for our drinks, we found that some of the bar waiters could be a little flippant about the measures.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank topranking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

Ha Ha Luna and Amanda will teach you Spanish while you are at this hotel. I cannot add much more than the review from ACOL_10 but to add we were totally relaxed from the time we eventually arrived at the hotel to the time we left a week later. I say eventually as we booked transfers with Resorthoppa/Viajes Urbis and waited an hour and a half before a coach came. On the return there were so many to be picked up they sent a double decker which took so long that we were the last passengers in the queue and had half an hour before take off. They seemed not able to cope and out of season too!
Staff were great at the Barcelo. If anything not enough of them but they did the best they could. Make friends with them and they will love you for it. Be prepared for the 9am scrum for sunbeds! They dont allow anyone to put towels down before this (a good thing) so all the Brits (yes the Brits) would be limbering up, towels under arm, ready for the off. Pity most didn't come to use them till after 11.00am!
Evening entertainment was poor which I put down to the time of year but hey - just walk to the end of the road and you have all the bars and restaurants. We had a great time in the "Rock Cafe" which is a short walk from the Barcelo. Go a bit further to the town square for really large drinks for the same price elsewhere (got a bit tipsy) and some whacky free entertainment.
If we return to Fuerteventura then we will definately stay at the Barcelo Corralejo again!

Room Tip: Top floor (3) for best sea views. Floor 2/3 for pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank bobsterkettering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

Arrived on 24th November and initial impressions were very good. As we booked (on a half board basis) partly because it was adults only, there was a pleasant aura of peace and relaxation to the place which made us feel immediately at home. The rooms are a really good size, they also have a mini fridge, full size plasma TV (only English channel is Sky News though); aircon, and tea/coffee facilities. (Bizarrely though no milk is provided!) The bathroom was also a good size with power shower, toiletries provided and 2 sinks. The location is of course a big plus; 5 min's walk from the start of 'The Strip' but tucked in a side street, so peaceful nights with no residual noise from pubs etc. I was quite surprised at some of the negative reviews of the food, we thought there was always a really good selection of courses with up to 4 choices of fish and at least 3 other meats on offer; salads/veggie courses were fantastic and the desserts also very varied. The food was consistently good throughout and always very hot. Staff in the hotel were all excellent, especially the PR girls Luna and Amanda who organised a variety of activities for those who were interested. Restaurant staff were also fantastic; very friendly and pleasant throughout. Negatives? The place does need a refurb as it looks tired in places; the beds are rock hard (as seems the norm in Spain), the aircon is dated, being the old fashioned ducted air system. Also the pool area would be totally inadequate if the place were more than half full with everyone wanting sunbeds, and the water was freezing despite the pool reputedly being heated! Theres also a particularly unpleasant female chef who seemingly scowls at guests at the most trivial indiscretion, so watch for a short mid 30s looking woman in a white chef hat and beware! In all though nowhere is perfect, and despite being overworked the staff were fantastic on the whole and the hotel is highly recommended; I'll definitely return.

Room Tip: Third floor mid section rooms retain the afternoon sun in a sheltered position but lack a pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ACOL_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

This conveniently situated hotel is a haven of peace and tranquility. The hotel building is attractive and well maintained and the bedrooms are of good size and comfortable and include a large flat screen TV and tea and coffee making facilities.
For those who are interested there is a Wellness Centre providing massage and aromatherapy.
The staff are helpful and professional particularly in the restaurant but unfortunately the food is definitely not to the standard of a good four star hotel. It is adequate but basic. The selection of cakes at breakfast is poor and hardly changed at all during our two week stay. There is a shortage of prepared fresh fruit in this hotel and during two weeks fresh pineapple and fresh grapefruit appeared once. Some mornings only tinned fruit was available. There was no fresh, prepared fruit available at the evening meals only whole oranges. Their presence was pointless because there appeared to be no knives sharp enough to peel them. There were apples and pears but again impossible to peel. The desserts each evening consisted of a selection of attractive, decorative cakes sliced into portions. These were of little nutritional value as they consisted of a very large amount of a kind of creamed sugar of various bright colours and a very small amount of sponge. There was a container of heated tinned fruit every night and sometimes there were even heated bananas. Every night there was a choice of three ice creams, most nights profiteroles and occasionally cream caramel or some other pudding. The menu appeared to be exactly the same the second week of our stay as the first.
The entertainment in this hotel is limited but pleasant. The two girls who are the animation team are very cheerful and pleasant and we enjoyed talking to them every day.
This was our first experience of the Barcelo hotel chain. The hotel has some very good points and we had an enjoyable holiday but feel that the quality of the food could be greatly improved.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank intel_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

Just returned from this hotel from 21/11 to 28/11 and really enjoyed the stay there.
The staff were excellent, and from the moment we arrived to the time we departed we were treated very well, all very professional, and the room chalet girls were super, as the rooms were spotless and faultless, the restaurant staff, again were courteous and very efficient.
Now onto the food, I read some reports on how bad the food is, well all can say is it is very difficult to please 500 guests, especially as this is not an English only hotel thankfully,as having been to several Thomson Gold hotels, were everyone is English the hotel can somewhat cater more for their needs, and even then you cannot please everyone, alas in this case there were several nationalities, from Spanish, Italian, German, Sweedish, American, Irish, and there were young and old there too, so I personally thought it was fine, not perfect, but I did go to dinner every night, and if I did not fancy what was on I would leave and eat out, that's my choice.
Now onto the pool area, the beds are fantastic, thankfully the blue back breakers, are virtually gone from here, but beware of the 9:00am rush for the beds,and this is not the Germans, believe me, it is all English, I am ashamed to admit it, in the end I joined in towards the end, shoot me please, but the pool area is very pleasant, and the waiters again very helpful.
Now my only gripe is the outside of the hotel, it is very peaceful indeed, this is not my complaint, it is when you go onto the main street, my god we got ambushed from every corner by people trying to drag you into their particular restaurants, honestly it is relentless, so be prepared for that.
The main street and the old town are as I said predominantly restaurants, in fact I have never seen so many, may I said they all seem to do a great trade, and the ones we used were very good, and a walk around by the harbor is very pleasant of an evening with a few nice bars to sit and have a beer and look out to the sea.

The beach is very close to the hotel just across the road and through the holiday villas path to a beach, there is a bigger one and a better one tha a bus from the hotel has a bus leaving twice a day, and also tow pick ups from the breach for a return journey at allocated times.

As for entertainment, well this is poor really, but it is what it is, but again you can always go out, there are a few bars that have live entertainment, with plenty of variety and all musical tastes.

So would I go again yes I would, and that is the only recommendation anyone can give, so enjoy the hotel, and all it has to offer, and there is a little Scottish bar at the end on the road on the left as you walk from the hotel to the main street, worth a shout nice people who will do anything to help you.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

Just returned from a week at this hotel, which didn’t start well. Arrived at 1.30 pm and the room was not ready. After repeated chasing we eventually got our room one and a half hours later. No free refreshment was offered at any time which is quite unusual for a 4 star hotel.
The room was excellent and of a good size as was the balcony area. Dual sinks in the bathroom are always a good point. The mattresses on the beds were quite new as was a flat screen TV. You don’t go on holiday to watch TV but my wife likes it on while applying war paint and it seemed odd that out of about 47 channels only one was in the English language. (Sky News) Other languages had multiple channels but I would estimate that about 60% of the guests are from the UK so they failed to cater for the majority of their guests.
The staff in general were very good in all areas with the exception of a “suit” in the cabaret area who I would have sacked on the spot if he had worked for me. (There’s always one)!
The usual sun bed reservation nonsense exists here and with the hotel being full we ended up having to join in before 10am to get a couple of beds for the morning.
The hotel has Wi-Fi. You can either have 30 minutes per day free in the reception area or you pay €25 for a week which is accessible everywhere. The free Wi-Fi is so slow that you would be lucky to down load half a dozen web pages in the free half hour. The paid for service is quite good though.
The hotel now boasts a “Wellness Centre”. We weren’t feeling rich so did not try it but the tour rep said that it was good.
Evening entertainment was the usual boring hotel offerings that you often get but we like some life and our main reason for staying at this hotel is its very close proximity to all the music bars. Had some great nights out which included The Rock Cafe, The Robins Nest & The Waikiki Bar but there are many others.
Now for the big negative. We stayed at this hotel about 3 years ago and the food was not good. Having now been taken over by the Barcelo group we would have thought that things may have improved but how wrong can you be. If anything it is now worse. Examples are where chops/steaks are cooked and then put onto hot trays. By the time anyone may pick them up they are only fit for shoe leather. Soon learnt only to have food that was in gravy but even that failed one night when we had veal stew. It looked good but on getting it back to the table we discovered that the veal was not actually meat but processed cubes of something like sausage meat. Occasionally chefs come into the serving area and unusually wear black chef’s hats. I can only assume that they are in mourning for the food.
There is one good food point. On a Wednesday and Saturday you can book to have a 6 course meal in the pool bar at no extra charge. This was very good so someone obviously knows how to cook. There is no choice but most people would find it acceptable unless they have special diets. You are entertained by a jazz saxophonist during the meal which made for a very pleasant evening.
Overall the hotel is very good. If only someone would sort out the food it would be excellent.

Room Tip: Pool view high floor rooms are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Dagetu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corralejo
0.8 mi away
Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real
0.4 mi away
Avanti Hotel Boutique Fuerteventura
1.7 mi away
Bahiazul Villas & Club
Bahiazul Villas & Club
#2 of 46 in Corralejo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.2 mi away
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
0.3 mi away
H10 Ocean Suites
H10 Ocean Suites
#10 of 46 in Corralejo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,017 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Tres Islas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Corralejo Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Corralejo Bay

Property: Barcelo Corralejo Bay
Address: Avenida Grandes Playas 12, 35660 Corralejo, La Oliva, Fuerteventura, Spain (Formerly BlueBay Palace Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > La Oliva > Corralejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Corralejo
#3 Green Hotel in Corralejo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Corralejo
#5 Luxury Hotel in Corralejo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Corralejo Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 231
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Barcelo so you can book your Barcelo Corralejo Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Corralejo Bay Hotel Corralejo
Bluebay Palace Corralejo
Bluebay Palace Hotel Corralejo
Barcelo Corralejo Bay Fuerteventura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing