We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
A personal touch to sailing.

I booked a combined Day Skipper theory and practical course in August. Alex was amazing at... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
MartynM118
The fun side of sailing

I had a great week, it's a nice sailing area and Johnny is a good instructor who really shows how... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
cjordans75
via mobile
Read all 141 reviews
  
Reviews (141)
Filter reviews
141 results
Traveler rating
138
3
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
138
3
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews coastal skipper competent crew course fantastic week comp crew excellent instruction patient instructor great instructor rubicon marina organising things initial enquiries warm climate behind the scenes great communication great character lovely boat complete novice spent a week
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 141 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I booked a combined Day Skipper theory and practical course in August. Alex was amazing at answering any of my questions before booking and afterwards too. Nothing was too much to make my experience the best it could be. The hospitality was outstanding and the food delicious whilst studying for the theory and fully stocked for the sailing (also delicious). Veronica was wonderful to sail and both instructors for the theory and the practical were excellent. Clive and Alex made my holiday/course a great experience and I would highly recommend booking with them. Martyn.

Thank MartynM118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I had a great week, it's a nice sailing area and Johnny is a good instructor who really shows how to enjoy your sailing. Fully recommend for anyone looking to gain a sailing qualification or sailing experience

Thank cjordans75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex M, Owner at Sail the Canaries, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks so much for taking the time out to review us. It was lovely to meet you all and we do hope to welcome you back again one day. Many thanks again for joining us. Best wishes, Alex, Clive & Johnny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What a great week! All the communications with Alex were first class, and being a nervous complete sailing novice, she put me at ease right from the first contact we had with her. With my husband and son (Both Day Skippers) this week was about me getting my confidence and a general understanding of the basics of sailing, and thanks to Johnny this was achieved. I'm a total convert! Johnny was brilliant - kind, patient, reassuring and really great fun - pushed me when I needed it, calmed me when I needed it, made me laugh when I needed it (Force 5 on day 4!!) and I've now proudly got my Competent Crew certificate! Thank you to all the team for everything, it was a great week in a beautiful place on a lovely yacht.

Thank GlobeTrotting818080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex M, Owner at Sail the Canaries, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your review and we are so pleased that you had a great time and feel confident to venture out more! It was a real pleasure to meet you all and I do hope we get to see you again one day. Thank you again for joining us. With very best wishes, Alex, Clive & Johnny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

One week sailing around the Canaries to get out Day Skipper qualification. What a great way to do it! A lot learned, a lot of laughs, good friends made and stories told.

Thank Anne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex M, Owner at Sail the Canaries, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much Anne, it was great to meet you both and thank you for joining us. I do hope we get to see you again one day. Take care and best regards, Alex, Clive & Johnny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was recommended Sail The Canaries by a friend who had been very happy with his Dayskipper course. I felt I belonged to the sailing community in Corralejo. Alex's patient and personal touch in answering e mails made me feel I knew her before I arrived. She even met me from my hotel on arrival. The yacht Veronica, a Bavaria 37, was well maintained by Clive. It was clean and generously equipped with a fridge of fresh food. Our skipper Johnny was kind, skilful and a good instructor. He developed my confidence by discreetly sorting out sailing problems!. He was certainly a maestro of the sea and music and I enjoyed the evenings at Rock Island. I was very proud to achieve RYA Dayskipper. The week was professional, relaxed and fun. I already have plans to return for another week's sailing consolidation. Can't speak highly enough of the Sail The Canaries team. Thank you Alex, Clive, Johnny and crew mates.

Thank Mondrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex M, Owner at Sail the Canaries, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your wonderful review - we are so pleased that you had a great time and it truly was an absolute pleasure to meet you and spend time with you - we very much look forward to seeing you again next year! Thank you again for choosing to join us and see you soon! Very best wishes, Alex, Clive & Johnny x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2018

From the initial, helpful and friendly communications with Alex to the course, expertly skippered by Clive, and Veronica (the yacht), we had an excellent week. As a group of relative novices, Clive tailored our course/experiences to our needs; not so easy given that my wife and I had expectations that occasionally differed from our 14 year-old daughter and 16 year-old niece. He ensured that the days were broken up with plenty of swimming, good food and relaxation time, along with the sailing and teaching of the core skills needed to fulfil the 'Competent Crew' qualification. Clive ensured that there were plenty of opportunities for everyone to take part in all aspects of the sailing and was entirely considerate of all our needs.
Sailing out of Corralejo, the Canaries offer wonderful conditions for learning to sail. It takes immense skill to balance the teaching and learning that goes with getting novices like us to start understanding how to sail whilst allowing us to feel we have relaxed and had a proper family holiday; Sail The Canaries certainly succeeded in this respect. Clive and Alex should be justly proud for what they have achieved with their company; I can't imagine we could have had a better introduction to sailing. We all left with some fantastic memories and the strong likelihood that we will explore other sailing holidays in the near future.

Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex M, Owner at Sail the Canaries, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2018

Thank you so much for your review Chris and for choosing us for your family holiday! It really was lovely to meet you all and we are so pleased that you all had a great holiday - thanks so much for the photos too!! The one from the mast is brilliant!! Thank you. I do hope that we may get to see you all again one day. Take care and thanks again. Best wishes, Alex & Clive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2018

So I'm going to break this down into 3 sections: 1) The company as a whole. 2) Equipment and agenda 3) Staff and instruction.
I attended a week sailing to take my competent crew certificate with a bit of dinghy sailing experience and a lot of enthusiasm!
From the start 'Sail the Canaries' were excellent to deal with, every e mail was answered and they have a very personal touch that you just don't get with larger companies. Alex is extremely helpful and you can tell she really cares for her customers. The price for the trip was good and I was guaranteed a private berth, a different company wanted to charge me double for this! A great company all round, helpful, knowledgeable and great fun.
The boat, a Bavaria 37 was excellent, highly maintained, spotlessly clean and well equipped with great touches such as colour coordinated towels for each crew member. Food on board was plentiful, healthy and a nice variety. The sailing agenda was spot on with visits to various harbours and bays but with plenty of sea time. Just the right balance.
The staff were without exception fantastic, all memorable, from a very warm welcome by Nicky upon my arrival to welcome drinks with Alex, Clive and Johnny.....and talking of Johnny, he was our skipper for the week, a unique character, picture the love child of Capt Jack Sparrow and Ronnie Wood then add the sailing skills of Ellen McArthur and you get a rough idea of him, at night he was entertaining us at the Rock Island Bar with his singing and guitar skills and by day he was guiding us through the task of sailing a yacht. His laid back style belied his skill as as skipper and he never missed a trick, I felt 100% safe in his hands and this combined with all aspects of the trip made it one of the best courses I have ever been on!
Cannot recommend this company enough, i will be back for more courses...

Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex M, Owner at Sail the Canaries, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2018

Thank you Paul for taking so much time out to give us such a fantastic review, we really appreciate it - thank you. It was wonderful to meet you and we really did have a lot of fun meeting up with you in the evenings! Thank you. I hope that we can welcome you back again one day. Take care and very best wishes, Alex, Clive, Johnny & Nicky

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2018

A fantastic week sailing in the Canaries. From booking the holiday to leaving for the airport at the end of the week, Alex ensured we were looked after.
Our skipper Johnny kept us entertained throughout the week, his unique style made the week unforgettable.
Highly recommend Sail the Canaries, the whole team provided a holiday experience few companies could live up to.
Thank you all for a memorable week
Lynne and Paul

Thank lynnes84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex M, Owner at Sail the Canaries, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2018

Thank you so much for your review Lynne - it was so lovely to meet you and what a wonderful week!!! :o) Thank you again for joining us and I really do hope that we get to see you again one day. Take huge care of yourselves, with very best wishes, Alex, Clive, Johnny & Nicky x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2018

Having left the booking of our holiday to Fuerteventura, including a weeks sailing with Sail the canaries, to my partner. I hadn't dealt wiith Alex until meeting her and Clive in a bar, she recommended to us before joining the boat. Her willingness to accommodate our every need was second to none. Collecting us from our hotel, storing our luggage and returning us to our hotel, after the sailing, most welcome and far more than expected! Then at the get together drinks in the Blue Rock, we first met the eclectic Johnny Dale, skippering our boat the next day. Arrangements were made to go and see his performance at the Rock Island Bar, that night, a Joy to behold! The week's Day skipper course, was most pleasurable. "Veronica" was well prepared and wonderfully victualled and with Johnny's constant reassurance and heartfelt praise, when my partner and i did well, was most gratifying and appreciated, especially when coming from Johnny! A true professional, at sea, both well qualified and experienced, with a touch of "genius", an asset to have on the boat. Both he and all at Sail the Canaries should to be proud of their organisation! we look forward to returning!

Thank RobSimmonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex M, Owner at Sail the Canaries, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2018

Thank you Rob so much for your wonderful review and for taking the time out to do this for us - hugely appreciated. It was great to meet you both and we really enjoyed having you both - thank you. I do hope that we can welcome you back again one day and thank you again for joining us. With very best wishes, Alex, Clive, Johnny & Nicky

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2018 via mobile

We had an amazing week with Sail the Canaries and skipper Johnny, a very well organised company. From the first communications with Alex to being dropped off at our hotel at the end of the week, nothing was too much trouble.

Johnny is a true professional with a great character, he really made our week, he was calm in all situations and patient even though I was a bit of a challenge at the beginning! My partner Rob got his day skipper licence and I achieved competent crew, we would not hesitate to return to Sail the Canaries to continue our training with Johnny, a yachtmaster ‘genius’ and an all round great guy.

Thank you Alex, Clive and Johnny for making our week such a memorable one, we both hope to see you all again soon.

Thank JenfromTelford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex M, Owner at Sail the Canaries, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2018

Thank you so much Jen for your lovely review. We are so pleased that you both had a lovely time with us and we really do hope to see you both again one day! Take huge care of yourselves and very best wishes, Alex, Clive, Johnny & Nicky

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews