We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely just a shame no security”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Hesperia Bristol Playa
Ranked #21 of 45 Hotels in Corralejo
Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 10 nights, lovely little apartments with everything you could ask for, very good onsite supermarket , gorgeous pool with loads of beds so never a problem getting one. This place is very clean and there were no crawling bugs at all inside the complex .lots of steps

However
No shutters on the windows meant you could not open them safely at night (no air con ) and they had no security guard which I found astounding especially as someone tried to break into our apt whilst we were inside. I had to call reception for help and he came running but the next night it was a girl alone which is why the complex only gets an average score.

Distance.
Really not as far as shown on some maps , stick to the beach road its actually a nice walk. 10 mins to harbour which is where everything is .

Terrible parking disabled spaces were ignored .

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank fluffypinkmonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,975)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

762 - 768 of 1,975 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2013

Just got back from Hesperia Bristol playa in September 2013 with boyfriend. Staff were very polite on arrival, allocated our room which was basic but nice. Our room 117, was very close to the main road and was noisy at night. The pools were nice but salt water, so is a tad uncomfortable but helps you tan better! (u no)The food in the hotels restaurant wasn't good, we just tried breakfast and knew not to try dinner. Just ate out every night in nice restaurants along the main strip & harbour. The pool bar is only open from 12:30-4:30 which isn't long enough so not really ideal.
The main strip is about a 15 minute walk along the sea front which is nice but can be chilly at night and take a while in the dark streets with not many people around. We found a quicker route but still dark and lonely streets!
The maid come 5 times out of 7, but only changed towels 3 times, which is quite annoying.
The weather was gorgeous in September, I worshiped the sun.
We also got the ferry from the harbour to Lanzarote which was only 23 euros per person for return trip.
We would recommended this hotel for a cheap holiday to a beautiful island, good value for money but wouldn't return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jessie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

just come back from here, I was pleasantly surprise to find this hotel was not as bad as the reviews had made out. The room was clean and tidy and the staff was more than friendly and willing to help. when needing a toaster for the room to make breakfast asked at reception and they sorted me one out the same day. There is a short distance to the bars and restaurants, within walking distance about 5 - 10 minutes. The best beach is a short bus ride away costing 1 euro 20. Bus stop just 5 minutes walk around corner from hotel.
Would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to all ages and I would go back myself. I agree with Becky s "don't know why people are moaning "

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claire s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

I live on the island, but a 30 minute drive from Corralejo and there are occasions when we like to stay overnight so we can have a drink and not worry about driving. I stay in the Bristol Playa at least twice a year and cannot fault the place. We first stayed there in 2001 on holiday when it was all inclusive and enjoyed it so much we returned the following year when it had changed to self catering only. It was refurbished in 2003. It is in a great location if you like to be away from the centre of town. I particularly like the walk along the beach front to get to the harbour and old town. The rooms are clean and spacious, if looking a little dated again and the beds are not the most comfortable. I love the shower gel you get free. We usually pay 28 euros a night for the 2 of us for the room which is an excellent deal. I like the pool area, never a problem to get a sun bed. The reception staff are always friendly and helpful. There is no evening entertainment so it is not ideal if you are not the sort of person who likes to get out and about. But since Corralejo has brilliant restaurants and bars why would you want to stay in your hotel? Overall it is what it is, good value accommodation, clean, tidy and in a good spot.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TerpsisQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Arrived late at night and we were allocateda room on the 3rd floor. There are no lifts in this hotel so I had to struggle up 3 flights of stairs with our suitcases. The room was clean and reasonably equipped with 2 single beds and a very large roof terrace. However the terrace was overlooked by the opposite apartment. The first night we left the bedroom window open and found it extremely noisy as the main road was close to our room. After that we slept with the windows closed, we found it a bit hot but better than the traffic noise. Other than the daily climb up 3 flights of stairs we found the room OK for the rest of the holiday. The supermarket is well stocked but a little on the expensive side, OK for convenience things. Free WIFI was available, but only in reception. The hotel is a little isolated with a 15 min walk to the restaurants and bars of the town, however there were some restaurants closer but we did not use them.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Colin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

After reading some bad reviews, we were worried about this hotel! But we shouldn't have worried at all, me and my boyfriend are both 22 and just got back from a week at the Hesperia Bristol playa. When arriving at the hotel we were told we had to wait 30 mins because our room wasn't ready but we just went for a walk down the coast and looked at the lovely views and by the time we got back we were shown to our room. It was on the bottom floor with a pool view and we were next to the pool bar (a previous review mentioned the bar was loud etc but being right next to it I can honestly say that it isn't!) basic rooms, kitchen and living area and a spacious bedroom, the bathroom was nice and clean also. The pool was gorgeous, plenty of sunbeds always available! You can see two wind turbines from the front of the hotel to the left but you turn right out of the hotel reception and down the coastal path towards town, about a 10 minute, easy walk. Then you meet the restaurants along the sea front with amazing views, my boyfriend loves seafood and was spoilt for choice. If you head down one of the little streets away from the sea front you are met with more bars and restaurants (a bit more loud and busy). There is a lovely beach about 20 mins away from the hotel. Cleaners came 5 out of 7 days. I would stay here again, it is brilliant for what you pay!!

Room Tip: A restaurant along the coast with bluey green table cloths, green lights and cactus's served ama...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Becky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

I read some scathing reviews about this place before travelling (there were also a scattering of good ones).

Yep its a bit disheveled around the edges but thats only expected from a hotel which faces the ocean where rust and erosion can occur from the moist salt air. They were replacing the rusted fencing around the perimeter when we were there so they are trying to keep on top of such issues.

If you're going to stay in your're apartment for long periods of time then yes I guess you will have more time to notice the little things like "rust on the fridge doors", "cracked tiles", "Condensation on the windows", however whilst looking for such things you are missing out on the spectacular scenery that surrounds the hotel and the beautiful resort of Corralejo.

Our room in block F was clean, spacious and airy with a nice view of the pool area. The maid came 5 times in the week and the towels were changed 3 times in the week. What more do you need!!
Pool nice (salt water) but cools you down in the heat.

The reception staff were friendly the few times we had to talk to them as to be honest were out of the hotel for most of the day.

The walk from the hotel to the marina was lovely with the views of Lanzarote and Lobos. The walk through the back streets to the town was also quaint through the locals area and square. Either way 10 mins walk or longer if strolling and admiring the scenery or fish in the marina.

Plenty of restaurants in the marina, square and town and lots of bars at the Atlantico commercial centre and along the main high street.

What more can I say fab weather, fab hotel, fab resort, amazing holiday.

Room Tip: Dont listen to the bad reviews. The place is great but the location even better! Probably not ideal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 634Paul1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Corralejo hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel  Dunas Club
Hotel Dunas Club
#18 of 45 in Corralejo
1,197 reviews
0.1 mi away
Surfing Colors Apartments
Surfing Colors Apartments
#15 of 45 in Corralejo
1,048 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fuentepark Apartamentos
Fuentepark Apartamentos
#10 of 45 in Corralejo
1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Oasis Duna Hotel
Oasis Duna Hotel
#29 of 45 in Corralejo
2,511 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Arena Beach Fuerteventura
0.8 mi away
Barcelo Corralejo Sands
Barcelo Corralejo Sands
#7 of 45 in Corralejo
1,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hesperia Bristol Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hesperia Bristol Playa

Address: Urbanizacion Lago de Bristol, 1 | Paseo Bristol, 35660 Corralejo, La Oliva, Fuerteventura, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > La Oliva > Corralejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Corralejo
Price Range: $59 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hesperia Bristol Playa 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is 7 minutes walk from the beach. The Hesperia Bristol Playa apartment has a great beachfront setting in Fuerteventura's Corralejo Beach, with views of Lanzarote and Isla de Lobos. It offers free WiFi throughout and 3 outdoor swimming pools. Set within gardens, the complex has an entertainment programme. Each apartment features a seating area with satellite TV and a private balcony or terrace. The kitchenette is equipped with a fridge, hob, and microwave. Bristol Playa offers a seasonal pool bar, lounge where barbecues are organised, and a restaurant serving buffet breakfast and dinner. There is also a supermarket and bicycle and sports equipment rental. Corralejo Port is 700 m away and regular ferries to Isla de Lobos and Lanzarote leave from here. The property is just 5 minutes' drive from Las Dunas National Park, and you can find the Corralejo Marina after a 5-minute walk. Parking is free on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Hesperia Bristol Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hesperia Bristol Playa Corralejo
Bristol Playa
Hotel Hesperia Bristol Playa Fuerteventura/Corralejo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing