We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location but apartments pretty basic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Caleta Playa Apartments
St Helens, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Location but apartments pretty basic”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed at the Caleta playa from 1 to 8th November, we was very pleased with the location as they are literally on the beach and 1 minutes walk from the Main Street. The apartments are very basic but you get what you pay for and make an ideal base for a low cost self catering holiday as there are plenty or restaurants, cafés and supermarkets nearby

The apartments are clean and contain a very basic kitchen but to be honest the restaurants are so cheap it we decided to eat out all the time

Some of the apartments are located on the road so can be a bit noisey sometimes with coaches and taxis pulling up and the hotel across the road

I would recommend these apartments to people looking for a cheap holiday and just a base to stay who plan on spending most of there time out and about as there isn't much of an entertainment programme at the apartments.

I would recommend paying for the safe as I have a that a few of the apartments have been broken into in the past

Overall I would rate the apartments at 6/10 and will Probably stay at the Dunas apartments next year

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BazHaz29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    121
    56
    18
    14
See reviews for
71
168
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prestwick, Scotland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

Arrived home recently after a two centre holiday on Fuerteventura, staying the first week at the Caleta Playa Apartments in Corralejo. The 2 bedroom apartment we had was well position with excellent views of the beach and the mountains of Lanzarote in the distance. We literally could step from our apartment onto the sand.

The apartments are quite dated and could do with a refurbishment, basic cooking utensils and no air conditioning were reflected in the reasonable price. No wifi connecting or television signal in our apartment. However the apartments were clean and the cleaning lady was friendly and helpful.

If you want accommodation that is very close to the beach, restaurants and bars and is of a fairly basic but clean and very well priced these will do fine. Some very well priced restaurants nearby including the beach bar opposite the apartments.

Room Tip: 2 bedroom apartments are away from the pool with good views of the beach,sea and mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank richards521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stayed here in October in a 2 bed apartment d10 in was right next to a restaurant and about 15 steps to the beach . Lovely clean apartments but did not like the layout of the bedrooms you have to go into 1 bedroom to get to the other and the bathroom is off the first bedroom not ideal for 2 couples but ok for family's . The swimming pool was lovely and clean and Chris at the bar was lovely. The rooms were very hot so you need to ask for a fan . The kitchen had plenty plates glasses etc fridge microwave 2 ring for cooking .the gentleman on reception was very helpful when we went back to enquire about booking again next year. They are ideally located and worth the money you pay . We only used them to eat breakfast shower and sleep. The towels in the bathroom are not great and need changing .on the whole we had a great time and will be returning

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank heather2025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

Love this place, Ideal location. Staff are very helpful and Fernando can't do enough to help you. We usually have a 1 bed apt overlooking the pool, but this year we had a 2 bed apt overlooking the beach. I must say the view was breathtakingly beautiful from our balcony, but didn't quite understand the layout of the bedrooms. I bedroom is accessible via a small courtyard which isn't a problem for a family with youngsters but for 2 couples or family with older teenagers it could cause problems as you have to walk through 1 bedroom to get to the bathroom. There is plenty of room on the courtyard maybe someone should look into maybe adding an ensuite which would make these apts a lot better. Still, saying that we will be back again and again, Thankyou for an enjoyable holiday x

Room Tip: If there's only 3 of you go for the 1 bed overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed here on the 14th Sept for one week only, following the major fiasco with Monarch Airlines we were two days late getting here. However once we arrived at the apartment there was no one there to greet us, Reception closes for the weekend and we were left stranded by the pool with our suitcases, you cannot imagine how we felt after being delayed from 1545 on Saturday to finally getting there at 1700 on Sunday.

Eventually Peter the bar man arrived and told us to try the Restaurant Balatino on the beach as we may find our keys there, fortunately we finally got the keys at 1730.

Upon entering the apartments I was struck by how large they were, we were in No 6 Montera, they were immaculately clean, fully stocked with dinner service, kitchen utensils etc: a nice little LGTV we found out how to get the English language on several programmes, so we saw some good films in the evening. The pool area is very nice and the pool was quite warm, the general area was lovely and peaceful which is what both my husband and myself wanted, and of course with direct access to the beach what more could you want.

Sun beds around the pool were plentiful although some people put their towels out in the morning, Fernando the manager told them they couldn't reserve the beds, that they were for everyone. The entire complex was immaculately clean. There is an abundance of restaurants to suit all tastes, most restaurants do lovely steaks and fresh seafood and you are really spoilt for choice. We asked for a quit room away from the beach and No 6 fitted our requirements.

Now for the againsts:

We never had our bed linen changed at all for the whole week, yet the bath towels were changed three times ! We were plagued by mosquitoes and I strongly recommend that you get an electric zapper from the local supermarket roughly 6 euros, we were asked to leave the apartment no later than 1200 on day of departure even though I offered 30 euro to stay for a few more hours as our flight wasn't till 2105 that evening the answer was no which I thought was pretty poor. Furniture dated and stained by tea rings

There is no air-conditioning so I recommend buying or hiring a fan this does help to keep the Mosquitoes at bay a little. Other than that a thoroughly enjoyable holiday, fantastic beaches, restaurants, etc; just a hop on the ferry to Lanzarote. I would definitely come back to these apartments but I would certainly arrange a different flight time to coincide with our departure from the apartments. Word of warning those apartments nearest the beach have been fitted with bars up the doors and windows as there have been several break ins, ALWAYS lock doors and windows when you leave your apartment.

Room Tip: Low numbers 1 to 8 are pretty quiet, the ones nearest the beach are more prone to noise and music
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maggie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Well appointed apartments in excellent location, Pete the barman was great and very helpful. Fernando wasn't much use to be honest when we needed him. The reception was closed on the Saturday morning when it was supposed to be open so nowhere to leave bags ,Pete sorted us out when he arrived and looked after them for us so we could go out to eat. The cleaners are really nice ladies too. Vey quiet place, sometimes seemed a bit too quiet so you had to go out. Nice walk to harbour and loads of nice places to eat.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MandyDel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed here from 6th September for a week......

What an amazing place to stay!! Very clean, own private split level apartments (all the apartments are laid out like this!), own terrace with table and chairs and upstairs have a balcony off bedroom overlooking the beach (but just far enough for peace)....

Beach is not noisy, very mature, mellow place....Apartment pool area is spotlessly clean, staff are excellent. Fernando (hotel reception) is the most helpful man, he help me arrange transfers etc.

We were located 5 mins from the main road (strip) with a lovely indian restaurant called Jaipur just 2 mins away....a safe comes as standard (no extra costs)the apartment was cleaned 3 times a week, spotless, its a split level, living area,patio terrace and kitchentette on ground floor (with direct access to beach) and upstairs is one bedroom (with balcony and chairs overlooking sea/beach) and a bathroom (with shower).....

There are a fair few of "hyper dino" supermarkets for basic needs (teabags,bread & milk etc), I found them quite expensive, if you go to the shopping centre (5 mins from this place) there is a spar and its half the price!!

we will definitely book this place again, very private setting.......Thank you caleta playa, I couldn't have wish for a better place!!

Room Tip: Ask for the apartments with sea view (although the pool area ones area still very peaceful) as it c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 78JessH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Corralejo hotels
0.1 mi away
Barcelo Corralejo Bay
Barcelo Corralejo Bay
#6 of 46 in Corralejo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,344 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel  Dunas Club
Hotel Dunas Club
#18 of 46 in Corralejo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fuentepark Apartamentos
Fuentepark Apartamentos
#9 of 46 in Corralejo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Barcelo Corralejo Sands
Barcelo Corralejo Sands
#7 of 46 in Corralejo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real
0.3 mi away
Avanti Hotel Boutique Fuerteventura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caleta Playa Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caleta Playa Apartments

Property: Caleta Playa Apartments
Address: Grandes Playas, 35660 Corralejo, La Oliva, Fuerteventura, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > La Oliva > Corralejo
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Corralejo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Caleta Playa Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Caleta Playa Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caleta Playa Apartments Hotel Corralejo
Caleta Playa Apartments Fuerteventura/Corralejo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing