We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome! Clean, great location, good price!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Caleta Playa Apartments
Oxford
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Awesome! Clean, great location, good price!”
Reviewed September 14, 2011

Me and my husband stayed here for 10 nights in September and we loved it. We requested sea view apartment and got it. The apartments are little houses (duplex) downstairs kitchen with fridge, sofa and garden. Upstairs bathroom and bedroom with balcony. Everything was very clean compared to the horror stories we heard from guest staying elsewhere. Our last holiday was in Dubai in a 5star award winning hotel, so we knew this was gonna be different. You get what you pay for, that's it. But the location is priceless. It's right on the beach and only 2min walk from all the shops. We loved it!!! Also the freedom of not being attached to a half board or worse all-iclusive was great! It's a safe place to stay (we read some safety issues on tripadvisor before, that freaked us out a little) but no needs for that at all, just lock up when you leave - easy! Although we both were very apprehensive on going to Fuerteventura, we had one of the best holidays.

Room Tip: request seaview when you book
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoelleOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    122
    56
    18
    14
See reviews for
71
170
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2011

We travelled to Fuerteventura for one week to join a group of friends who had rented a villa for two weeks. We were looking for something close to their villa (Caleta Playa was pretty much just across the road) and something that wouldn't break the bank. We arrived at about 8pm on a Friday and according to previous information, the reception would be open until 10pm. This was not so. We eventually figured out that we had to call to the beachside restaurant to collect our key. I had requested sea-view but instead got a roadside apartment. This was no big deal as I assume most guests request sea view, and not everyone can be accommodated with same. The apartment was alright - NOT suitable for small kids! As soon as you open the main door, you are at the top of a steep staircase, so I imagine this would be a bit of a hazard for kids (or indeed adults after a few glasses of wine!). The apartment itself is quite dated and not the cleanest place I have ever stayed - the bath was a bit grotty and the cupboards in the kitchen had a horrible smell. The patio furniture has seen better days also. The first night, we were kept awake to a group of people playing the bongos and singing. I went to reception the next day and was "greeted" by a man who barely lifted his head from whatever he was reading and was told that he knows nothing about anything to do with the apartments (what are you doing sitting behind the reception desk then, buddy??) and was told with a snotty tone that it was "just as well" I didnt visit during the festival. Obviously this man believes I was asking too much to get a decent night's sleep. The pool area was ok, not much atmosphere, didn't seem very busy, I assume most people availed of the beach around the corner. None of this mattered much to us as we spent most of our time at our friends villa. So, in summary, I wouldn't return to La Caleta Playa. Had it been a bit cheaper, I might consider it, but it definitely wasn't worth the money we paid for it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmsieBubbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshunt, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2011

we really loved these apartments,couldn't believe the 2 bedroom we stayed in had the most amazing views across the sea,and was right on the beach front.considering these are only 2 star you certainly get more than you'd expect from these cheap basic and spotlessly clean apartments.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank debbie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2011

Spent a week here and I must say the accomadation is the best location I have ever stayed in. Although the accomadation was basic, it was spacious and comfortable. We did have some rain whilst there and the sky light in the bathroom began to leak, but not an issue we mopped it up with a towel. The balcony was very large and we had a brilliant sea view. Although close to the beach bars we were pleasantly surprised that we were not disturbed by any noise.
The water park was only a short walk away and was worth a visit, although I think we was lucky the day we went as it was quite cloudy and we were almost the only ones there, so no queues!
The town, harbour, bars were only a maximum of 15 minutes away (harbour being the furthest away) some bars as close as a minute.
The sand sculptures were fantastic and well worth a few euros of anyones money.
All in all a very relaxing and lovely holiday.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank michelle171270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2011

Not long returned from Fuerteventura and the Caleta Playa apartments. This is around about the 12th time we have stayed and have been returning at least twice a year since 2006. The apartments are very basic and simple but have all you need for a budget holiday. We have apartment 18 around the pool. It is on two floors and it a good size for two people. The staff are always very helpful and friendly. Peter who runs the pool bar is also helpful and friendly and a good laugh. We have never had any problems with break ins and there is now a large gate that is closed at night to stop intruders wandering around. The apartments are in a superb location, right on the beach, they are basic but very clean and very pleasant. If you are looking for budget accommodation then the Caleta Playa apartments are just the place. We would recommend.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Fuertebabe8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2011

We fell in love with our apartment on the beach by the sea. We love sea and beaches so it was ideal for us. The apartment has all the basic amenities. We're not looking at 'time share' luxury just a roof over our heads, minimal cooking facilities, a decent bed and good standards of cleanliness. We were assured it would be quiet and it was. We liked the enclosed sitting out area and the small balcony overlooking the beach, set back from others for privacy.

We congratulated ourselves on our choice for four days, the first two idyllic with clear, blue skies and no cloud. Then a perceptible change in the weather more wind, and though mainly sunny, the odd threatening cloud alerted us to the possibility of rain. And boy, when it came, did it rain! We'd done quite a strenuous walk up one of the calderas and were relaxing with books on the beds when the heavens opened. We're campers and we've experienced a few horrific storms in Europe, so maybe didn't take too much notice
until a steady drip coming from the bathroom insisted on being investigated. When I dropped my book to the side of the bed it splashed and we discovered an inch of water on the floor which had come under the door from the balcony. It was Sunday and our rep assured us that nothing could be done till the following morning - best to blot up with all the towels we had and keep fingers crossed we'd have no more rain in the night.

We dined well at the Indian that night. There was no choice as water was teaming down the road like a river and we couldn't cross over. Early next morning we made our problem known to reception and were given the opportunity to move to another more modern apartment (not a sea view) or stay put with extra towels provided. We were loath to move with only two days' holiday remaining so opted for the towels. It rained again that night. We used towels and pillow cases to blot it up. We'd moved our things downstairs but discovered the lower floor also flooded and a hole had appeared in the ceiling over the cooker!

Of course, at this stage we had no choice but to move our stuff to a smarter, more modern and most probably waterproof accommodation. Fortunately it wasn't tested but had it been I'm sure it would have been ok.

I'd put it down to just bad luck and fairly exceptional circumstances, though I know from the accumulated rain on the tennis court at a hotel last year in late February when we arrived, that these downpours do happen! Probably 95% of the time we'd have been ok and allowed for the apartment's shortcomings because of it's wonderful location which suited us well. People faired worse than we did. The sandcastle architect and builder saw his patiently crafted work of art totally destroyed as the water cut away large swathes of the beach!

So, if you're planning a trip more in season then maybe you'll be fine. Though, for the more cautious the more modern apartments round the pool would be a safer bet!
You'll find the staff at Caleta Playa friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank limeandginger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2010

Before we booked the hotel/apartments i had read reviews regarding the security of the place and it did worry me but i thought with extra care we'd be 'ok' and i booked - WE WERE NOT DISSAPOINTED !
We arrived around 6pm and shown to the small reception area by the taxi driver (only cost £10 extra for private taxi than shuttle transfers - hint hint), the manager was polite and booked us in without delay, he then took us to our room ( D03) which overlooked the beach and was a 2 bedroomed apartment - we could not have asked for a better view, 2nd floor over looking the beach right over to the ferry and across to Lanzarote - FANTASTIC - well apart from a couple of topless OAP's but thats another story, not a prity sight.
On entering the room the manager warned us about security and local thieves and showed us how to open & lock security doors (barred type doors) which were outside the glass patio door - this allowed you to lock the security door and leave the patio door open for fresh air (no air con ! ) and asked us to make sure that this security door was always locked when we were out; he then showed us where the safe was and said that this was free also to aide security - a simple geasture but very welcome considering most other hotels charge around £5 a night. The rooms were cleaned twice in the week we were there
The accomadation is self catering but a V nice resteraunt / Bistro is attached and faces the beach. Being a beach view and no nearby bars facing you the rooms are peaceful at nice and you are not disturbed by drunken yobs or loud disco's - if you want these the the town centre is only a very short walk - personnaly i'd reccomend the Talk of the Town and Dave's quiz nights
The pool area is simple and again is entered through a locked security gate (all keys supplied free), it is well kept and tidy but can get VERY warm due to it being surrounded by apartments and has no breeze .

All in All the security problems seem to have been addressed but as with anywhere you need to maintain some responsibility and take care to lock doors and use the safe etc

people always ask would we return ? our answer - an emphatic YES

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jon_n_Jackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Corralejo hotels
0.1 mi away
Barcelo Corralejo Bay
Barcelo Corralejo Bay
#6 of 45 in Corralejo
4,697 reviews
0.3 mi away
Avanti Hotel Boutique Fuerteventura
0.7 mi away
Hotel  Dunas Club
Hotel Dunas Club
#18 of 45 in Corralejo
1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Barcelo Corralejo Sands
Barcelo Corralejo Sands
#7 of 45 in Corralejo
837 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real
0.7 mi away
Surfing Colors Apartments
Surfing Colors Apartments
#15 of 45 in Corralejo
935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caleta Playa Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caleta Playa Apartments

Property: Caleta Playa Apartments
Address: Grandes Playas, 35660 Corralejo, La Oliva, Fuerteventura, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > La Oliva > Corralejo
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 60 Specialty Lodging in Corralejo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Caleta Playa Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Caleta Playa Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caleta Playa Apartments Hotel Corralejo
Caleta Playa Apartments Fuerteventura/Corralejo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing