We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Restaurant ”
Review of The Ugly Duckling

The Ugly Duckling
Ranked #1 of 430 Restaurants in Corralejo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $28
Cuisines: Danish, Scandinavian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: The Ugly Duckling is a small, intimate, scandinavian inspired restaurant in Corralejo. Our love for the food, and highest quality ingredients shine through in our dishes.
Reviewed December 24, 2018 via mobile

We managed to get in here on the last night of our holiday in Corralejo. Advance booking is essential, I managed to get an early slot ( sit down at 5:45) as the only availability a week ahead - so book as early as you can to get the time you want. Henrik is a super attentive host, very welcoming and clearly and justifiably proud of his restaurant. The menu is fairly simple, there are only about 5 choices of main (including the wonderfully flavoursome Danish stew)and 4 of dessert and that is doubtless part of the reason for the consistently good food reviews for the food at this place, it does what it does very well. The decor is simple and stylish with the subtle nod to approaching Christmas period with some low key decorations. The location is unusual, it is outside of the main town in a series of new developments with a couple of unfinished ‘ghost’ estates close by ( I would imagine victims of the 2008 housing crash). We walked up from the old town which took about 50 minutes but we, more sensibly, took a taxi back! The prices are very reasonable for the quality of food and service, we both had 3 courses plus wine and water and the bill was less than €70 and of course, as others have noted, Henrik also provides free sparkling wine on arrival and a liquor to finish the meal. All in all this is a wonderful restaurant with a superb host and great food and it thoroughly deserves the high markings it consistently attracts.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Wesley1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,084)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

107 - 111 of 1,084 reviews

Reviewed December 24, 2018

We visited the Ugly Duckling twice during our holiday in November, once with our son and daughter and once on our own we they had returned home. On both occasions the experience we had was exceptional. From a warm and friendly welcome from Henrick to the excellent quality of the food in a no rush, relaxed environment - the way a real restaurant should be! The place is faultless, it is an extremely well looked after and delightful facility for which the owners should be rightly proud. It is, in our opinion, the best restaurant in the Canary Islands with the friendliest host we have ever met. If you ever travel to Corralejo make sure you visit the Ugly Duckling you will not be disappointed! We are looking forward to returning in June to have some of their wonderful Danish stew!
Frank and Patricia

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Frank D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2018 via mobile

What can I say except excellence was achieved Henrik was a top host the food was out of this world the overall experience was 10 out of 10 and I wish I had found this exceptional place before. You MUST go best meal we have ever had and we eat out a lot all over Europe. Well done and thank you for a superb evening.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank hamble66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2018

After reading all the reviews , we booked a table for 3 , It was a taxi ride away from town, in the middle of nowhere. On arriving we were greeted by Henrick, with a glass of Cava which was a really nice touch. He was very attentive and went through the menu with us. Then it all went down hill from there! Bread and oil and olives arrived, the bread was pretty dry, and the olive oil was bitter. For starters we had the prawns, the Spanish specialties and the tomatoes and mozzarella. The prawns were good, but were over powered by the cream sauce. the dressing on the tomatoes took over the plate, a plate that should of been very simple and delicious. Mains were chicken and pork both over cooked , the duck was pink but the skin was not crispy, all the plates were way too big with the raw, garnish taking over , you had to push it to the side to find the potatoes and spinach which were bland and had no seasoning or herbs added. the choice of sauces for the duck failed to complement the duck. We skipped deserts as the choices were box standard . All in all we were highly disappointed , with the quality of the food. We didn't complain or send the food back, as I feel if you can't get it right the first time then it won't be right the second. Also it was so quiet in there, we didn't want to spoil the atmosphere for the other dinners. We were looking forward to sexy plates of good tasting food, from the number 1 restaurant , you failed to deliver !

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Chuddyman65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henrik Urup S, Owner at The Ugly Duckling, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2018

Hello

We are always sorry to hear when guests leave our restaurant disappointed.
The hype is only what you make of it. We dont add more to it, than keeping doing what we have doing the last five years.
To be honest, we fail to understand and see the points of your critism.
And we do not understand that you do not complain to me, when I came. And checked if everytjing was ok.

It does seem though, that all the things we ourselves, and most of our other guests are thrilled about, is exactly what you didnt enjoy.
The garlic fried prawns with sour cream is by far our most poular starter. We find that the combination with the warm garlic prawns and the fresh sour cream works amazingly.
Similar, our dijon vinagrette dressing we use with our Bufalo Mozarella is extremely popular, and we find the combination to work brilliantly. As well as the touch with finely cut fresh greens on top of the plate, that gives an excellent bite and freshness to the dishes in general.

You also complain about the meat to be over cooked. As per usual, if your read our other replies to poor reviews, we can only reply back that you did not complaint, so you did not give us the chance to check the quality, and hence we have no way of knowing if you are right or not.
But we do always check temperature on all meats being served, and as you visited us two nights ago. We remember you, and know that the meats were cooked to the correct degree to eliminate any health risc for salmonella, but nothing more than that. And that is exactly what we aim to do.
If you find that overcooked, that is just us following health regulations and legal standards.
We do know other places doesnt care, and happily serve pink pork and chicken cooked less than it should.
But we are not a place like that, and our guests health is of more concern to us, than your personal preference.

We cant win them all. Maybe you came with expectations, that did not match what we aim to do. A burger joint can be no 1 in an area, if they serve bloody good burgers. So judge the establishment for what it is, rather than what you expect it to be.
We are currently no 1 in the resort on tripadvisor because we make the majority of guests happy. That doesn't mean every single guest understand and appreciate what we do.
We look forward to follow your reviews of other establishments in Corralejo and see if any suits your taste, or if you are a lost cause. But you seem to be very hard to please judging on your other reviews ypu have made in the past on your profile.
We serve well cooked food, from high quality products, in an relaxed yet stylish atmosphere. And we do it at a price which is an average for the resort.
We are not located in the center with its hassle, but up the hill overlooking the town and looking over Lobos and Lanzarote. Which we are very proud of.
Where we are located should be irrelevant in your review, as you found us, and our adress on tripadvisor, and you chose to book and come, when knowing where we were. If we fail by default by our location, then dont bother to come in the first place.
You may have found the area less interesting, as you failed to see the taxi parked and waited for you. The driver even came in madly and asked where you were, as you had left our premises and waited for the taxi somewhere else. So you waited significantly longer outside, than would have been expected, as you had to come back and ask me to call for another taxi.
We have been doing this for five years now, and petty reviews like this doesn't affect us amymore, as it drowns in the wast sea of positive critique.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2018

We were a bit dubious when we arrived outside, it wasn't in an area we expected however the decor inside looked more promising. It wasn't long before we were warmly welcomed by Henrick who introduced himself and provided a personalised service for the whole meal.

He is obviously passionate about what they do as it comes across. We were poured a glass of Cava and got down to the menu. Henrick asked if we had any questions and recommended the traditional beef stew (not traditional to Spain!). We decided on this for our main.

All the food, and we unusually had a dessert too, was very tasty indeed. It was the best meal of the 4 nights were in Fuerteventura. Service was very good, although one person managing about 20 covers isn't that easy, hence I think they were very careful not to have too many turning up at the same time and one table wasn't used at all. A few people were even turned away once, I guess, he judged they had enough in the restaurant to provide good service to.

This is a small, intimate restaurant, modern decor, good food and feels very 'local' even though the food is anything but that. Really glad we decided to go here and we booked well in advance to make sure, which I suggest is sensible if you want to make sure you get in.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ugly Duckling also viewed

 
Puerto del Rosario, Fuerteventura
 
Corralejo, La Oliva
Corralejo, La Oliva
 

Been to The Ugly Duckling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing