We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service”
Review of The Ugly Duckling

The Ugly Duckling
Ranked #1 of 373 Restaurants in Corralejo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $28
Cuisines: Danish, Scandinavian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Ugly Duckling is a small, intimate, scandinavian inspired restaurant in Corralejo.Our love for the food, and highest quality ingredients shine through in our dishes.We serve simple, yet delicious food.Our menu is limited, but offers you a wide range of combinations you decide yourself. We aim to have something for everybodies taste.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great service”
Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

We had seen this place recommended on trip advisor before going away and after stumbling upon it one evening we decided we must give it a go. The service was fantastic. One guy running the floor who could speak every language going it seemed! Food was tasty. We apparently experienced a wait when ordering our pudding (we didn't notice this!!) But we agreed to the complimentary drinks anyway. An enjoyable evening!

Helpful?
Thank Sophie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    611
    75
    22
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Small and perfect !”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Had a second visit to this small intimate restaurant run by two hard working guys with enthusiasm for simple good quality food. The menu of four choices of meat plus your own choice of vegetables and sauce is a perfect combination with also the offer of the Danish dish of the day. The chicken and steak perfectly cooked wine choice is good and at a reasonable price. The dessert menu again is limited but delicious especially the chocolate cake with raspberries. We have added this restaurant to our favourites, along with the other small intimate restaurants in corralejo who do not advertise as the best or the greatest or even five star but just offer the best available produce along with good service.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank philnlil1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corralejo, Spain
Level Contributor
87 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“For something special !”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Visited this small restaurant and we were very impressed. The decor is very stylish and you are greeted with a complimentary glass of cava , which sets the tone. The menu is simple ( 4 starters, 4 mains and 4 desserts ) The buffalo mozzarella starter is particularly recommended as is the steak main course ( one of the best steaks I have eaten ) Service is attentive and the whole experience an enjoyable one. Three courses cost 25 euros ( although you don't have to have all three courses ). Small wine list with sensibly priced wines. Worth visiting and supporting thee two young Scandinavians !

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tmphillips07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Just ok”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Booked this restaurant for the second night of my week in Corralejo as it was highly rated. While I don't want to dampen the enthusiasm shown by Henrik but this restaurant is pretty poor. The menu is very basic, of average quality. Decor is nice but it's more like a couple of lads trying to make a living by tapping into the relatively poor standard of restaurants generally available in the town. Having said that I am sure there are those who don't eat out very often will find it to their liking

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank PETER W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Went here on the strength of previous trip advisor reviews and are delighted we did so. We have been in town for 3 nights so far and this was streets ahead of anything else we've had to date. We had the Iberico ham salad to start. very fresh. we then both had beef tenderloin with bernaise butter. As good as any great steak house in London. Menu choice is a little limited but what they serve is great so don't go if you like to see endless lists of food with pictures of each as per usual restaurants in the area. We got a complimentary small glass of cava on arrival and a liquorice shot to finish. Very nice touch.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RMGKJL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ugly Duckling also viewed

 
Corralejo, La Oliva
Corralejo, La Oliva
 

Been to The Ugly Duckling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing