We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic restaurant”

Rompeolas Restaurante
Reserve a Table
2
Sat, 7/20
8:00 PM
Ranked #53 of 430 Restaurants in Corralejo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $56
Cuisines: Seafood, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Rompeolas is a sea food restaurant with a cosy atmosphere. The basis of our simple cooking is in using fresh food of high quality. It is an essential part of the Avanti Hotel, in the old town of Corralejo. Completely refurbished in 2013, the "Rompeolas" was originally opened in 1975, being one of the first to do so in this locality. With an atmosphere which is clearly relaxed we aim to give our guests the good taste of simple, delicious food. We are open to the general public: The restaurant is suitable for children as we provide smaller portions for them. There are spectacular views across the sea. The terrace is especially warm and agreeable in the mornings. The beach is only about 3 metres away. The restaurant has been described as "marine" with "Basque specialities", "grilled meat" and sea food. Rompeloas Restaurante is situated on the Avenida Marítima of this small town.
Reviewed June 10, 2019 via mobile

Have just returned from a week staying in Corralejo, Fuerteventura.
This restaurant is attached to the hotel where we were staying, and is where we were served breakfast.
We chose to eat here most nights too, as the food is just fabulous.
The menu is very mixed, with something for everyone, although we pretty much had fish or seafood every evening. It was consistently very fresh and very well cooked.
Highly recommend Rompeolas Restaurant.

Date of visit: June 2019
2  Thank Tracey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,628)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8 - 12 of 1,628 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2019

We're not hard-to-please and we're certainly not looking for trouble. But we've had the same let-down on each of our three visits.

The food and dining concept is superb. The service isn't.

The problem that we've had, three times now, is that one person gets served and the others have to wait. This time is was our starter; why did they not hold back my cold starter until my wife's hot one was ready and serve them to us at the same time?

We saw it happening all around us.

A poor lady with her sizzling prawns waited a good five minutes for her family's' paella to arrive and then, because paella's presented then taken away to be plated, she had to wait another five. Cold oily prawns can't be pleasant. Some time after this their pre-starter amuse-bouche turned up!

And on the next table two people were finishing their main courses as the third person's meal arrived.

There are plenty of waiters, and they work hard and bustle around, but they're always 'en route' to somewhere and don't have time to look around and see what's going on. It's impossible to catch an eye. Nobody asks whether the food is OK, or whether you want more drinks. We'd have ordered more wine but after a while gave up the idea. We saw that people were going to the waiter station to ask for things.

I accept that at Mcdonalds they give you what's ready and you wait around until the rest arrives. This doesn't work with fine dining.

I wish they had added an optional service charge because I could have discussed it with the manager - although the chaotic service suggests that there is no manager actually overseeing service.

Tipping is for good service, so the staff got nothing, and actually our dissatisfaction wasn't their fault. But I expect they were too harrassed to notice.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Two_Tankertonians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2019 via mobile

Visited this restaurant on the 31-5-19, my wifes birthday. Had e mailed Kati and Natalie to book and to make the evening a bit special, and the staff certainly did that, and provided all the trimmings to make this a special evening. The service and food was excellent. Could not praise the staff, the food, or the venue enough. The location of this restaurant is right on the sea front, overlooking the artists creating the sand sculptures, all in all a very romantic and beautifully decorated venue to go. No problem rating this restaurant at a 100% or recommending it to anyone.
Kevin

Date of visit: June 2019
1  Thank Sightsee74862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2019 via mobile

We went there on our first night after our airbnb host recommended the place
To us. The restaurant is nicely located next to the beach and the harbor. The staff was friendly (we had no booking), gave us a table quickly and a free freebies including welcoming drinks and appetizers as well as rhum and honey shots at the end of the meals. We ordered the squids and the seafood paella which were both good (the squids much nicer than the paella though). The wine was on point, the prices are a bit higher than in other places but it was nice kicking off the holidays with a good restaurant. Would go back.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank LOU75002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2019

We've been to this restaurant many many times, and recommended it to all of our friends. we found our last visit very disappointing. we booked for 7.30 and already found they had already run out of two of our fav dishes. I then opted for the salmon which although delicious was one portion with a bit of side salad on a very large stone tray. No veg or potatoes, it cost 15 Euros which I thought was a tad dear. The pannacota was tried and discarded as a serving of silicone topped with gluppy forest fruit compote would have tasted better. Not one to complain we asked for the bill and reflected that its was perhaps a one off and would give it one more chance, however the last straw was when we discovered we were being charged 7 euros for two complimentary glasses of Cava which had been placed on our table as soon as we had arrived. we complained and this was deducted with an apology, but do wonder how many do not check their bill considering the restaurant is always full.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ConcessaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario S, Propietario at Rompeolas Restaurante, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2019

Dear Concessa,

I wrote to you a private e-mail trying to understand it better, but I had not answer yet.

Please know that since 2 years now, we offer all our dinner guests a complimentary glass of cava! We thought that this was a great start of a lovely dinner.

Being complimentary, we do not charge for it. If any of our waiters charge you, it has obviously been a mistake and I would like to compensate you for it.

I kindly ask you to give me a private answer, as it is important for us to apologies and compensate you for this. Specially knowing that you are a client from a long time ago .

Yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rompeolas Restaurante also viewed

Corralejo, La Oliva
 
Corralejo, La Oliva
 
Corralejo, La Oliva
Corralejo, La Oliva
 

Been to Rompeolas Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing