We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Service and excellent food”

Rompeolas Restaurante
Reserve a Table
2
Today
8:00 PM
Ranked #53 of 430 Restaurants in Corralejo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $56
Cuisines: Seafood, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Rompeolas is a sea food restaurant with a cosy atmosphere. The basis of our simple cooking is in using fresh food of high quality. It is an essential part of the Avanti Hotel, in the old town of Corralejo. Completely refurbished in 2013, the "Rompeolas" was originally opened in 1975, being one of the first to do so in this locality. With an atmosphere which is clearly relaxed we aim to give our guests the good taste of simple, delicious food. We are open to the general public: The restaurant is suitable for children as we provide smaller portions for them. There are spectacular views across the sea. The terrace is especially warm and agreeable in the mornings. The beach is only about 3 metres away. The restaurant has been described as "marine" with "Basque specialities", "grilled meat" and sea food. Rompeloas Restaurante is situated on the Avenida Marítima of this small town.
Reviewed June 1, 2019 via mobile

Visited this restaurant on the 31-5-19, my wifes birthday. Had e mailed Kati and Natalie to book and to make the evening a bit special, and the staff certainly did that, and provided all the trimmings to make this a special evening. The service and food was excellent. Could not praise the staff, the food, or the venue enough. The location of this restaurant is right on the sea front, overlooking the artists creating the sand sculptures, all in all a very romantic and beautifully decorated venue to go. No problem rating this restaurant at a 100% or recommending it to anyone.
Kevin

Date of visit: June 2019
1  Thank Sightsee74862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,628)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10 - 14 of 1,628 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2019 via mobile

We went there on our first night after our airbnb host recommended the place
To us. The restaurant is nicely located next to the beach and the harbor. The staff was friendly (we had no booking), gave us a table quickly and a free freebies including welcoming drinks and appetizers as well as rhum and honey shots at the end of the meals. We ordered the squids and the seafood paella which were both good (the squids much nicer than the paella though). The wine was on point, the prices are a bit higher than in other places but it was nice kicking off the holidays with a good restaurant. Would go back.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank LOU75002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2019

We've been to this restaurant many many times, and recommended it to all of our friends. we found our last visit very disappointing. we booked for 7.30 and already found they had already run out of two of our fav dishes. I then opted for the salmon which although delicious was one portion with a bit of side salad on a very large stone tray. No veg or potatoes, it cost 15 Euros which I thought was a tad dear. The pannacota was tried and discarded as a serving of silicone topped with gluppy forest fruit compote would have tasted better. Not one to complain we asked for the bill and reflected that its was perhaps a one off and would give it one more chance, however the last straw was when we discovered we were being charged 7 euros for two complimentary glasses of Cava which had been placed on our table as soon as we had arrived. we complained and this was deducted with an apology, but do wonder how many do not check their bill considering the restaurant is always full.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ConcessaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario S, Propietario at Rompeolas Restaurante, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2019

Dear Concessa,

I wrote to you a private e-mail trying to understand it better, but I had not answer yet.

Please know that since 2 years now, we offer all our dinner guests a complimentary glass of cava! We thought that this was a great start of a lovely dinner.

Being complimentary, we do not charge for it. If any of our waiters charge you, it has obviously been a mistake and I would like to compensate you for it.

I kindly ask you to give me a private answer, as it is important for us to apologies and compensate you for this. Specially knowing that you are a client from a long time ago .

Yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2019 via mobile

Walking the seaside looking for fresh grilled fish we happened upon this lovely restaurant. As we entered with no reservation we were hoping for a table on the patio. We were greeted warmly and with the amazing aroma of the wood grill. Lucky for us an outside table was available. The menu is wonderful with several choices of shellfish, fish and meats from the area. We were treated to a lovely complimentary glass of rose cava and grilled bread as we studied the menu. Grilled vegetables for my wife and octopus for me were 5+ and presented beautifully as a starter. Fresh Dorado grilled perfectly and roasted goat were wonderful main courses. The attentive multilingual staff could not have been nicer and the food was great. A well priced wine list as well. A lovely evening of dining looking at the sea. Super!

Date of visit: May 2019
1  Thank Gators-on-the-go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2019 via mobile

We had two visits to the restaurant as we were staying at the hotel. Both times had the sirloin pieces in port wine.

Staff are very friendly and the restaurant has a great view of the sea also.

Date of visit: May 2019
1  Thank Flying_Irish_Man18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rompeolas Restaurante also viewed

Corralejo, La Oliva
 
Corralejo, La Oliva
 
Corralejo, La Oliva
Corralejo, La Oliva
 

Been to Rompeolas Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing