We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maintains its High Standards”
Review of An Caisteal

An Caisteal
Ranked #8 of 384 Restaurants in Corralejo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $16
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: An Caisteal is a small homely Cafe/ Bar offering a wee flavour of Scotland in the heart of Corralejo. Open at 1000 for a full Scottish breakfast served until 3pm. We also serve snacks and home cooked evening meals until 9pm. Join us for a cold beer, spirit or choose from our selection of over 30 Scottish Malt Whiskies. We are also pleased to serve freshly brewed Gimoka coffee and individual pots of Tetley tea with a fruit scone or Chocolate eclair. We also serve delicious melt in the middle chocolate Fondants. Open daily 10 am until 2300 except Sunday close at 6 pm.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

We ate a couple of times for late breakfast/early lunch as we have done since An Caisteal opened.

The service is second to none - the family who run An Caisteal work hard to maintain service and quality in the breakfasts and snacks they provide. They dont pretend to be a top end steak house/fish resteraunt.

A simple delight that we have not found elsewhere in Corralejo - if you are a tea drinker you are asked do you want your tea now or fresh brewed when your breakfast is cooked - I for one dont like luke warm over brewed tea with my egg/bacon.

Great value for money also.
We would recommend a visit at any time (we will be back in June)

Thank PandJ66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross G, Owner at An Caisteal, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2014

Hi

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us at An Caisteal.

We are pleased you enjoyed your visits with us and our food.

We look forward to welcoming you back

Kind Regards


Ross and Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (623)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

418 - 422 of 623 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2014

We found this cafe/bar/restaurant by accident when looking for somewhere to watch the 6 nations Rugby., but we ended up returning several times. Scottish owners were so friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them. Simple fare with a very Scottish theme if desired was very well presented and tasty (Just like mum would have made), and great value for money. The place was immaculate, atmosphere good and a real home from home.
A must to visit if in Corralejo.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Justtoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross G, Owner at An Caisteal, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2014

Hi

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us at An Caisteal. We are pleased you enjoyed your visits with us and our food.

We look forward to welcoming you back

Kind Regards

Ross

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

This is our second year of visiting Ross and family and recommend it to friends. Let me make one thing clear to some reviewers. My ratings are not skewed by how posh or expensive a place is. Two of my worst reviews have been a Gordon ramsays in vegas and the number 2 restaurant in Toronto so I consider myself a fairly well travelled and experienced. "clientele!"

I base my rating on the food and value for money, how I am treated and the acid test, would I go back. The fact the breakfasts are one of the freshest and best I've ever had, is an added bonus.

What I will add for the ladies is don't think this is a sports bar full of blaring tellys, football tops and lads on the lash. Yes they show big games but low key (unless it's a real biggie) but are as much about a blether and a cocktail or two so don't be put off going.

Hopefully see you next year guys.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Nanoo_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saucyrossy, Owner at An Caisteal, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Hi

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us in response to the review left by truth99.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your visits with us and we look forward to welcoming you back

Kind regards

Ross

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

as a regular customer to An Caisteal and a lover of malt whisky there is no better choice anywhere in the canaries if u want cocktails u should go to a cocktail bar the food and kitchen are of a very high standard Ross Maureen Bobbey Laura treat customers like friends I suggest truth99 is a stranger to the truth he should not comment on food he did not even sample hope to see you all soon Andy Jeanette

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saucyrossy, Owner at An Caisteal, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Hi Andy

Thank you for taking the time to respond to truthh99.

We look forward to welcoming you and Jeanette back

Kind regard

Ross

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

For two years running we've become regulars at this lovely family run bar whilst on holiday. Breakfast is fab, loads to choose from and we always walk away very happy.
We tend to go to this bar each night before going into town. It's got such a wonderful/relaxing atmosphere plus my mum loves malt whiskey :)
I think the bar, kitchen area and ladies toilets are immaculate. Lovely touch with the extra female toiletries. Thankyou. It's all decorated so nice (I love purple).
My mum and dad own a guest house in Whitby and I believe their standards are high and they both say that this bar/cafe just gets better and better. They wouldn't go anywhere else on the island for brekkie.
Keep up the good work guys. See you in January :)
Whoever wrote that comment about the greasy kitchen must blind!!!! Can't believe what you've done to the place from taking it over to present day. You should be really proud of yourselves xxx

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank toni526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saucyrossy, Owner at An Caisteal, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Hi

Thank you for taking the time to respond to truth99.

We look forward to welcoming you and your husband(hope all went well), mum and dad back

See you January

Kind regards

Ross

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed An Caisteal also viewed

 
Corralejo, La Oliva
Corralejo, La Oliva
 
Corralejo, La Oliva
Corralejo, La Oliva
 

Been to An Caisteal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing