We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One the beach”
Review of Caleta Del Mar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Caleta Del Mar
Ranked #40 of 45 Hotels in Corralejo
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“One the beach”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

My wife & I booked this week holiday to Caleta del Mar, my wife is a sun worshipper so the setting was ideal.
The hotel is mainly used by surfers, we are not, but we had a superb time walked every day along the beach and my wife enjoyed her swims in the sea during our return walks.
All being equal we will return next year, as it is our kind of holiday.
We were on accommodation only as we like to walk and choose what we want to eat on a nightly basis.
Accommodation was basic, clean and room well looked after on a daily basis.

Room Tip: A nice quiet hotel not many children due to being mainly a surfer's place, poolside excellent it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Auldtimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    53
    33
    18
    15
See reviews for
20
72
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sheffield
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

This was a very cheap winter break for us went on January 10/2013. So was not expecting a lot but have to say I have stayed in a awful lot worse for a lot more money.I would say this place is more for the surfers and beach guys very laid back no need to get dressed up shorts & beach dress all the time. Our room was one of the old ones and was very clean the kitchen area was spotless and the kitchen equipment was like new, they had a coffee machine, microwave, toasty sandwich maker, two ring stove, and fridge. I managed to cook 5 meals each of 2 course easy. The room had a separate lounge/kitchen area with tv (you have to get the remote from reception)away from the bedroom,but no hair dyer and I don't recall the air con we did not need it the room was just right.The beds pillows and bedding where spotless. But the bathroom was a little tired and could have done with a extra deep clean but was cleanish.The balcony was very big and had a side view on the sea and the beach we did not use it as we was out very early and came back after the sun had gone down ( fishing was our aim).The beach is a mix of rock and sand but walk just 5 mins to your right and you have miles of sandy beach. There is two swimming pools a beach bar that makes tasty snacks and serves a good choice of drinks with a very friendly helpful young man but it closes at 6pm it may stay open later in summer months. We had a very nice few early evenings here watching the sun go down and ships passing by. The reception closers at 7pm opens at 9am so your on your own between them hours we had one bad night with a group of young ones partying till very early and very loud. And the room walls are thin. Now it is a good 30 mins walk away from anything so you really need a car,unless you enjoy walking but they do hire bikes out, once in the town you have more than you could wish for you are spoilt for choice on everything Its spread over quite a large area the harbour is quite pretty. I would say its ok only as base to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flufffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Corralejo hotels

Romford, UK
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Stayed at the Caleta del Mar from 17 March for two weeks and it was a difficult place to tolerate. Our first room had a chipped, rusting bath and we asked for a move. The second room had ceiling plaster falling onto the floor, the microwave was rusted and smelly and the storage in the bathroom was dirty and rotting. The room was near the road and seemed to have noisy deliveries at 5 am every day. We didn't ask to move immediately as we thought another room would be no better but finally asked for another room after seeing a cockroach the size of a mouse and being kept up all night by neighbours (the walls were very thin). The female receptionist was quite unhelpful and kept telling us they were fully booked but finally, after begging, we were moved to a room when people moved out the next day. Our third room had plaster reasonably well attached to the walls and ceiling but had less storage and, again, the fixtures in the bathroom were rotten; part of the basin marble surround was broken, attached only by rubber sealant. Half of the patio door was filthy, it was a struggle to open/close it and we had to keep the plug in the bath as otherwise, the stench from the drains was stomach-turning. The twin beds were tiny, sagging and with uncomfortable springs. The toaster was full of burned material and the microwave was rusting and smelly. You will need mosquito repellent although it is quite cheap to buy plug-in repellent in Corralejo, which worked well. The breakfast is very poor and 'The Wind Bar'/poolside area, which serves it, is dirty, untidy and open to the elements. There are three pools - one behind a wall which divides some 'premium' rooms off from the rest of the rooms - and two by the Wind Bar; one is very small and held very cloudy water most days. The main poolside seemed very dirty and we never saw it cleaned in 2 weeks. The sun-loungers were extremely uncomfortable with the surface material sagging onto the plastic framework. The loungers in the premium area are better maintained and more comfortable but that pool was freezing. Some of the staff were very helpful, friendly and welcoming; most of them weren't (with the exception of the cleaners who were all lovely). A big disadvantage (if I haven't already put you off) is the distance to Corralejo: we are quite fit but the walk to the upper part of the main shopping area was 30 minutes and in excess of 40 minutes to get to the old part of the town. It was very hot and quite uncomfortable walking with trip hazards on many of the pavements; the coast walk, although more pleasant, is hard work on soft sand - watch out for rocks and slippery areas. I hate sounding like a troll but it really was very poor. The only plus side to the accommodation was the lovely cat who lives in the area.

Having said that, I think the positive recommendations could be for the 'premium' rooms with separate bedrooms. They seem to have a small number of these and they might be better maintained. If you have a car, the distance from everywhere might not bother you.

Corralejo was nice, the beaches in town were lovely and the people were terrific. The weather was absolutely glorious. I don't recommend the Caleta del Mar, however.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NikkiMansfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed there only one night just before leaving Fuerteventura, but during our winter vacation we visit hotel Wind Bar each day in a short walk to the beach. As a big advantage we find that hotel is situated just by the beach and the ocean, far from noise which guarantees relax and peace. Hotel is combined with two parts - older, which is quite tired and the new one which offers well-decorated and equipped apartments with a view on the ocean and the pool (water temperature was about 20C, so we didn't swimm). Staff is friendly and useful, but notice that is present from 9am to 7 pm. Some inconvenience is that in the close area there is no shop area and you have to go to the Corralejo center for shopping. Remember Wind Bar, which is Mekka for kitesurvers. Every time you can meet interesting people. We recommend hotel for those who look for quiet area. We didn't notice any activities for children.

Room Tip: Choose apartment with a view to the ocean - very spacious, well - equipped with the view to the ocea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hendrikoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

The Hotel from Hell! The bus dropped us off in the dark on the main road in the middle of nowhere. After adjusting our eyes we found the reception which was all dark and closed. We began to wander around and a nice German helped us saying the reception closed at 7pm -its now 8pm-but there is an emergency number to ring on the door. Luckily for us, not Him He had a torch to read the number. He had a torch as He explained that He had stairs to and from His room but no light bulb. This had been reported for 3 days to no avail, hence the torch! After 10 minutes a girl arrived, YES we thought now we can get in! No, she rang someone else. On asking if there was a bar or anything she said yes 30 minutes walk away! At 9pm, finally a nice guy came and took us to our room. We were so pleased we had a room on the left as the German man said the ones on the right were discusting! We left the luggage and walked straight out to a taxi to find somewhere to eat.

We got in at 1am and went straight to bed. There was a musty smell but we were too tired to check. Next morning the horror unfolded, everywhere was built in greese and dirt. You could have scrapped it off with a knife. The floor was sticky and never been washed. The bathroom, well the bin was caked in grime so was the bath tiles shower curtain and floor. My husband found a handprint on the wall with heavens knows what on it! The bedroom wardrobe was thick dirt and grease, couldnt even touch it. the front door had so many spills and dirt on it you couldnt tell what colour it was! The balcony was empty, no chairs or table and thick with sand ,dust and debris.

By now I was so horrified that Id actually slept in the bed! I went to reception and spoke to the receptionist. He came out to speak to the cleaner who grumbled and moaned. The receptionist asked us to come back in a few hours and it would be cleaned. In the meantiome we walked to the Fuentepark hotel (which was our 2nd choice). There was no comparison. I knew I could not stay in Calleta. We hadn't even had a drink or eaten by now.

Once back at Calleta the receptionist took us back to the room with the cleaner and explained that this is what you get and what to expect!!!!

In all the years of travelling, I have never encountered such dirt....We moved Hotels with the friendliest help of Travel Republic staff and the receptionist at Fuentepark to continue our holiday there.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Very good location ie beautiful beach, nice walk to little supermarket 5 euros to town,Dont pay extra for studio there are only studios or appartments some agents charge for upgrade from basic to studios all the same weather CAN BE VERY WET in Feb/march

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bost1on
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

This is a great location on the beach and nature reserve. The staff are very helpful and friendly, the rooms are basic but clean. For me the best thing is being able to walk on the beach in the early morning. The supermarket is about a 20 minute walk away

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank yyvonnec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Corralejo hotels
1.8 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Tres Islas
0.4 mi away
Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real
0.7 mi away
Avanti Hotel Boutique Fuerteventura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Oasis Royal
Oasis Royal
#34 of 45 in Corralejo
71 reviews
0.4 mi away
Barcelo Corralejo Bay
Barcelo Corralejo Bay
#6 of 45 in Corralejo
4,788 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel  Dunas Club
Hotel Dunas Club
#18 of 45 in Corralejo
1,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caleta Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caleta Del Mar

Property: Caleta Del Mar
Address: Avenida Grandes Playas 131, 35660 Corralejo, La Oliva, Fuerteventura, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > La Oliva > Corralejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 45 Hotels in Corralejo
Hotel Class:3 star — Caleta Del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Caleta Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caleta Del Mar Corralejo
Caleta Del Mar Hotel Corralejo
Caleta Del Mar Fuerteventura/Corralejo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing