We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,228)
Filter reviews
2,228 results
Traveler rating
393
860
557
237
181
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
393
860
557
237
181
Show reviews that mention
All reviews club bar salt water water park great holiday plenty of sunbeds min walk sun loungers animation team plenty of choice water polo oasis park fussy eater there is no air conditioning apartment was clean main town fresh towels flag beach
Filter
Updating list...
666 - 671 of 2,228 reviews
Reviewed February 2, 2016

This is going to sound like a negative review but it is not.

After our stay here in May 2015, we followed and read other peoples' negative Trip Advisor reviews, and upon our return in September 2015, these are some of the observations we made concerning/in reference to comments made in these negative reviews.

Untidiness of grounds
Cigarette butts and litter thrown down despite the fact that there are bins and ashtrays everywhere you look and they are emptied daily, starting about 5:30 a.m. On two separate occasions we noticed empty cigarette packs with a U.K. Duty Paid stamp that were thrown on the grounds. One was near the large Oasis Papagayo mosaic at the entrance. Then you have the audacity to complain about the cleanliness of the grounds.

All Inclusive guests
Nicknamed by us as "wristbanders". Some were the rudest people ever. Thinking that due to being A.I. they had the right to queue jump or totally ignore the fact that there were others in line for food and drink at the pool and bowling alley snack bar. Some that may be reading this might have noticed me glaring at or making a remark to you about your behaviour. I didn't treat you as if you were lower class, so why should we be treated in this manner just because we chose to go Self-Catering?

Pool area
We have seen many complaints about broken and dangerous tiles in the pool area and other places.
Tiles get broken due to travel cases being taken/rolled through. Impact of wheels over divisions between tiles causes the cracks and breaks. Especially when bumped up and down the steps to and from pool area.
We saw that many took room towels to pool area when clearly stated not to on a placard in the apartment bathrooms and also on the same large signs that say "No suitcases to be taken through pool area". But people have complained that there are no provided pool/beach towels. No hotel that I have ever stayed at provides beach/pool towels. Bring your own or buy a souvenir one!
Even though it is also posted on the same signs for guests not to, people are out at sun up putting towels on loungers to reserve them.
The pool and cleaners/maintenance are out at 5 a.m.

Food Variety
Even though we went Self-Catering, we ate in the restaurant a few times during both of our stays. There was always a nice selection of different food on offer at every meal we had there. If it seems repetitious, select different side dishes to go with the main entree. Easy enough to do.

Entertainment
This was as good as expected. If you don't join in and experience it, you have nothing to complain about.

Sport and Family
It is on the Oasis Papagayo website that the time of year when major sports events are happening and that the resort will be occupied with sports enthusiasts. It was when we were there on the past two occasions and it was of no inconvenience, nor did it hinder or disrupt our enjoyment of the hotel facilities. The bicycle hire is really good and we hired them on both occasions.

Housekeeping
Our apartment was spotless clean upon arrival and was cleaned in less than 24 hours after arrival. We were out to the pool or the town from around 10 a.m. almost every day of our 14 night stay there. Upon our return about 4 p.m., housekeeping appeared to have been in nearly every day during our 2 week stay there. Except for their well earned and deserved days off.

Towels and Bedding
Bath towels were changed often, whether needed or not. We NEVER left the used ones on the floor.
Even if it IS common practice to do so. To us, this is a slovenly act.
Who needs bedding changed every other day? Does anybody change theirs at home this often? Don't think so.
Read the sign in the bathroom concerning the unnecessary washing.

Distance from town centre
Do people not check this and other details out prior to booking their holidays? It is not that far and is a nice walk with interesting stone and marble carvings to look at along the way. These of which, I can't see why, have never been mentioned in any reviews.

Lap Dance Club
Just across from the roundabout on the way into town. Never open and good to see that it isn't. Would be nice to see the signage removed.

All in all, it is a very satisfying and comfortable place to stay and we have booked again for May 2016.

I could say more to the positive side of Oasis Papagayo, but this is long enough already. Another review will be posted after our return in May 2016.

Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
8  Thank William_n_Jackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OasisFue, Director General at Oasis Papagayo Sport & Family, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2016

Dear William_n_Jackie

Your compliments are greatly appreciated. We work diligently to offer the best service and a great stay for each guest. It is nice to know when this succeeded. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking time to write a wonderful review.

We look forward to your return. Kind regards, the management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2016

Good choice of food, but does need to be hot drinks available at all meal times in the restaurant. As the only other places were the noisy bar upstairs, or having to go to the pool bar. On last day ensure if you go out of your apartment before 12, and leave things, put your do not disturb sign on. Entertainment music way too loud, and barman kept disappearing, leaving a queue. Even when the animal shows were on, the noise was still way too loud. Needs a separate bar in the evening for guests who don't want the loud noise. Bar was not even half full any night of the week. People were coming in, then going due to it being too loud. Receptionists and people collecting plates etc in the restaurant were helpful and friendly. cleaner didn't know how to tell the time on Saturday, my mom was so upset about her things being removed from her room before 12, The lady on reception did her very best to help, and let Mom have a lunch time meal, to replace the food ,that was removed from her apartment. The buffet food was good, but you need to get into the restaurant early, as sometimes it was cold. Everywhere was clean, but the sun loungers by the main pool are in desperate need of replacing. The ones by the other pool were a lot better. Bowling alley needs a dam good uplift too please. Also people on bikes need to push them around the path ways, as they shouldn't be riding them within the resort. Elderly and young children could easily be knocked over. Overall the holiday was good. If the above points were sorted, then the place would be a lot better. I would go there again, Thanks to all the staff who were helpful, and friendly.

Room tip: The rooms are scattered, if you are fit enough have the ones further away from the noisy entertainment.
Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank harleygirl1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2016

Beautiful site. Comfortable spacious apartment which was well equipped. Unfortunately it was let down by some areas: food was often cold.
After lunch and dinner hot drinks were only available in the bar. In the evening this bar played extremely loud music which was totally unnecessary. There was no alternative quiet drinking area.
The reception and restaurant staff were very helpful.

Room tip: If you have mobility problems, or young children chose downstairs apartment near to reception and dining area.
Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Patricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OasisFue, Director General at Oasis Papagayo Sport & Family, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2016

Dear Guest.

Many thanks for taking your time to post your comments Your feedback is a vital part of our business and it is through your constructive comments that we are able to improve the service we offer guests in our hotel. We appreciated very much again for taking the time to inform your valuable thoughts and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you again at Oaisis Papagayo.

Faithfully yours, Melanie Aranda, Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2016

My husband and I stayed here the first week in October. We had a very relaxing week with lovely weather.
We found that there was a nice, friendly atmosphere at the resort, and quite enjoyed the entertainment at night. Some nights were not to our liking but then we went back to our apartment and enjoyed sitting out reading a book. We didn't join the day time activities but there was always something to do every day as an option. The staff were really nice and the entertainers were very energetic and easy to get along with.
We did find that there needs to be a bit of tlc on site but nothing major to spoil our trip.
We went all inclusive which neither of us had done before and the choice of food was decent. Really enjoyed the options for breakfast, the cake was delicious and the little pots of ice cream. But we did get some drink and snacks in from the shop right next to the resort for the apartment at night time.
We spent most of our time on site but there is stuff to do outside that we found out about and there are leaflets in the reception area to give ideas. Included in our deal was a free game at the bowling alley that is on site, and that was fun one night. Also, included in our deal was unlimited entrance into the aqua park that was just down the road. This was a fun day out, but we only got to go once as it was shut on some days.
We were glad that we went on holiday in October as I wouldn't have been able to cope with the heat in the height of summer, especially at night. We were in a ground floor apartment and I wasn't always comfy having the window open at night.
The only thing we probably had a problem with was the pool was salt water. We knew that before we went but towards the end of the week we decided that we would try and avoid a salt water pool in future as everything started feeling horrible.
Overall, we really enjoyed our week there.

Date of stay: October 2015
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank mrsmidge88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OasisFue, Director General at Oasis Papagayo Sport & Family, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2016

Dear mrsmidge88,

Many thanks for taking your time to share your review. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your holidays with us.

We are sorry to read that you did not like the salted pools. We have salt water pools in our complexes because the levels of chlorine and chemicals in the water are much lower while still being effective. Also salt is softer on the skin, chlorine has the tendency to cause red eyes, itchy skin, and discolored hair.

Kindest regards,

The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2016 via mobile

The rooms are ok and clean, we was originally at the oasis Dunas but as soon as we arrived we was told that they had no rooms available so we would have to stay at this resort, so with all our gear we had to walk 15 minutes up the road, this made walking to town a half hour walk!. Another issue we had were cockroaches! We found 2 in our room, 1 was on our kitchen worktop.. I complained about this but nothing was done.. The other issue was the iron we rented from them, my partner was ironing one evening and got a electric shock from the iron! The cable was worn and you could see the live wire.. Not good!

Date of stay: January 2016
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank tftog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OasisFue, Director General at Oasis Papagayo Sport & Family, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2016

Dear tftog,

We would like to offer a sincere apology for any inconvenience caused as a result of this reallocation upon your arrival. A property sometimes needs to  reallocate guests for operational reasons. This is an unlikely occurrence however if it does occur it is usually for reasons outside of our control.

Please accept our most sincere apologies for the issue with the iron, your experience does not reflect the hotel usual standards of service. Let us take this opportunity to inform you that we will look into the matter and ensure that action is taken to prevent similar situations from occurring again.

Sincerely yours,

Melanie Aranda - Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews