We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,228)
Filter reviews
2,228 results
Traveler rating
393
860
557
237
181
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
393
860
557
237
181
Show reviews that mention
All reviews club bar salt water water park great holiday plenty of sunbeds min walk sun loungers animation team plenty of choice water polo oasis park fussy eater there is no air conditioning apartment was clean main town fresh towels flag beach
Filter
Updating list...
667 - 672 of 2,228 reviews
Reviewed January 26, 2016

Good choice of food, but does need to be hot drinks available at all meal times in the restaurant. As the only other places were the noisy bar upstairs, or having to go to the pool bar. On last day ensure if you go out of your apartment before 12, and leave things, put your do not disturb sign on. Entertainment music way too loud, and barman kept disappearing, leaving a queue. Even when the animal shows were on, the noise was still way too loud. Needs a separate bar in the evening for guests who don't want the loud noise. Bar was not even half full any night of the week. People were coming in, then going due to it being too loud. Receptionists and people collecting plates etc in the restaurant were helpful and friendly. cleaner didn't know how to tell the time on Saturday, my mom was so upset about her things being removed from her room before 12, The lady on reception did her very best to help, and let Mom have a lunch time meal, to replace the food ,that was removed from her apartment. The buffet food was good, but you need to get into the restaurant early, as sometimes it was cold. Everywhere was clean, but the sun loungers by the main pool are in desperate need of replacing. The ones by the other pool were a lot better. Bowling alley needs a dam good uplift too please. Also people on bikes need to push them around the path ways, as they shouldn't be riding them within the resort. Elderly and young children could easily be knocked over. Overall the holiday was good. If the above points were sorted, then the place would be a lot better. I would go there again, Thanks to all the staff who were helpful, and friendly.

Room tip: The rooms are scattered, if you are fit enough have the ones further away from the noisy entertainment.
Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank harleygirl1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2016

Beautiful site. Comfortable spacious apartment which was well equipped. Unfortunately it was let down by some areas: food was often cold.
After lunch and dinner hot drinks were only available in the bar. In the evening this bar played extremely loud music which was totally unnecessary. There was no alternative quiet drinking area.
The reception and restaurant staff were very helpful.

Room tip: If you have mobility problems, or young children chose downstairs apartment near to reception and dining area.
Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Patricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OasisFue, Director General at Oasis Papagayo Sport & Family, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2016

Dear Guest.

Many thanks for taking your time to post your comments Your feedback is a vital part of our business and it is through your constructive comments that we are able to improve the service we offer guests in our hotel. We appreciated very much again for taking the time to inform your valuable thoughts and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you again at Oaisis Papagayo.

Faithfully yours, Melanie Aranda, Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2016

My husband and I stayed here the first week in October. We had a very relaxing week with lovely weather.
We found that there was a nice, friendly atmosphere at the resort, and quite enjoyed the entertainment at night. Some nights were not to our liking but then we went back to our apartment and enjoyed sitting out reading a book. We didn't join the day time activities but there was always something to do every day as an option. The staff were really nice and the entertainers were very energetic and easy to get along with.
We did find that there needs to be a bit of tlc on site but nothing major to spoil our trip.
We went all inclusive which neither of us had done before and the choice of food was decent. Really enjoyed the options for breakfast, the cake was delicious and the little pots of ice cream. But we did get some drink and snacks in from the shop right next to the resort for the apartment at night time.
We spent most of our time on site but there is stuff to do outside that we found out about and there are leaflets in the reception area to give ideas. Included in our deal was a free game at the bowling alley that is on site, and that was fun one night. Also, included in our deal was unlimited entrance into the aqua park that was just down the road. This was a fun day out, but we only got to go once as it was shut on some days.
We were glad that we went on holiday in October as I wouldn't have been able to cope with the heat in the height of summer, especially at night. We were in a ground floor apartment and I wasn't always comfy having the window open at night.
The only thing we probably had a problem with was the pool was salt water. We knew that before we went but towards the end of the week we decided that we would try and avoid a salt water pool in future as everything started feeling horrible.
Overall, we really enjoyed our week there.

Date of stay: October 2015
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank mrsmidge88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OasisFue, Director General at Oasis Papagayo Sport & Family, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2016

Dear mrsmidge88,

Many thanks for taking your time to share your review. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your holidays with us.

We are sorry to read that you did not like the salted pools. We have salt water pools in our complexes because the levels of chlorine and chemicals in the water are much lower while still being effective. Also salt is softer on the skin, chlorine has the tendency to cause red eyes, itchy skin, and discolored hair.

Kindest regards,

The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2016 via mobile

The rooms are ok and clean, we was originally at the oasis Dunas but as soon as we arrived we was told that they had no rooms available so we would have to stay at this resort, so with all our gear we had to walk 15 minutes up the road, this made walking to town a half hour walk!. Another issue we had were cockroaches! We found 2 in our room, 1 was on our kitchen worktop.. I complained about this but nothing was done.. The other issue was the iron we rented from them, my partner was ironing one evening and got a electric shock from the iron! The cable was worn and you could see the live wire.. Not good!

Date of stay: January 2016
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank tftog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OasisFue, Director General at Oasis Papagayo Sport & Family, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2016

Dear tftog,

We would like to offer a sincere apology for any inconvenience caused as a result of this reallocation upon your arrival. A property sometimes needs to  reallocate guests for operational reasons. This is an unlikely occurrence however if it does occur it is usually for reasons outside of our control.

Please accept our most sincere apologies for the issue with the iron, your experience does not reflect the hotel usual standards of service. Let us take this opportunity to inform you that we will look into the matter and ensure that action is taken to prevent similar situations from occurring again.

Sincerely yours,

Melanie Aranda - Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2016

We only booked this holiday 8 days beforehand so were a bit limited as to choice of hotels. We needn't have worried as Oasis Papagayo turned out to be a great choice for us. Plus points - 4 pools including children's pool, loads of sun loungers, wide range of activities from Zumba to Pilates, apartment was spacious (2 bedrooms) and clean with good kitchen facilities for self-catering. The animation staff were brilliant especially Fernando and Soca who seemed to have boundless energy! Snacks from the pool bar (chips, pasta etc) were good and reasonably priced.

The hotel is quite a distance from the main town (about 25 minutes walk) but the advantage of this was it was quiet at night time. A taxi back from the top of the main strip to the hotel was 4 euros so no big deal.

The supermarket next to the hotel is overpriced and had a very limited range of items. The best place to get shopping if your self catering is the large Spar supermarket in the Las Palmas shopping centre about half way along the strip (some items half the price and a far better choice).

Overall this was a great place to stay, good value and we would go back again.

Room tip: Rooms at the back of the complex away from the bar quieter but no views to speak of.
Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sb2511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OasisFue, Director General at Oasis Papagayo Sport & Family, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2016

Dear sb2511,

Many thanks for sharing your holiday experience, your opinion is very important to us, as it is only on the receipt of information such as this we can assess and improve the services that we offer.

We are glad to hear that you did like our rooms, pool areas and the activities and many thanks for your kind mention of our entrtainment staff.

We hope to see you again ina near future,

Best regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews