We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but Brill!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
smartline Playa Park
Ranked #14 of 45 Hotels in Corralejo
Certificate of Excellence
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Basic but Brill!”
Reviewed May 12, 2010

We stayed at the Playa Park and were pleasantly suprised. We were used to staying in all in 4*+ hotels and just fancied a cheap week away. When we found out that the hotel was in fact a 2* not a 3* as it's quite often advertised we were a bit worried but like I said we were pleasantly suprised. We had a studio room with no balcony (no frills) and it was basic. Bed was comfy, room was clean, bathroom was in need of an update but again clean, kitchen...well there wasn't one its more like a fridge, microwave and hob in a cupboard. Adequate for making sandwiches/breakfast and keeping water cold but that was about it. But that was all we wanted. Pool area was nice, both pools satlwater which isnt great but all hotel pools in corralejo are the same. Hotel poolbar/resteraunt was nice...cheap food/drink. We got stuck in Fuerteventura with the whole volcano saga and the hotel staff were amazing...giving us reduced rates on extra nights, helping us on the internet to find spanish flights and even printing out travel info/bording cards etc for no fee at all. Hotel is only 10mins walk into town 3.20euros in taxi. We loved Corralejo and plan on going back in summer! Great resteraunts and bars/clubs...just enough for a young couple to enjoy! If your looking for a cheap and cheerful hotel Playa Park is great!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Traveler-Holmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,668 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    619
    745
    216
    48
    40
See reviews for
413
881
28
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (441)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2010

I don't know how we did it, but we booked this complex again and didn't realise it! Seriously! Not until the taxi arrived at the front door! Oops! We'd booked a studio room (again!) and the same problem still exists a couple of years later - the noisy corridor with tiled floor. It is quite long and even when someone shuts (slams, more like) their door at one end, the noise carries clearly to the other. EARPLUGS are essential! Reception staff - very friendly and mostly helpful, until it comes to talking about ash cloud options. Beware, as they WILL pass the buck on to the airline, which may be correct, but not overly helpful. Bar staff - excellent service with good understanding of English, even though I do try Spanish. A good pool bar/cafe area, showing live sports, etc, but not too loud. Pool area - EXCELLENT. There is a lifeguard on duty WEEKDAYS. He patrols around the 3 pools and keeps it tidy and organised. Don't take room towels, pillows, tables, etc to the pool, though, as he will tell you off, naughty boys and girls! Location - spot on. Wasy walk to town, beaches, supermarket, local shopping centre (new), etc. OK, you can get a taxi from the town for around 4 Euros. It cost us nearly 50 Euros for a taxi from the airport to the complex at around 10pm and about the same for the return trip about tea time. Having said that, no time-consuming stops at all the hotels! Room - Studio on 1st floor. Will listen to the other review next time and try an appartment. There is an (lockable) door between rooms, but this will let smells through, such as stale fag smoke. Not nice for non-smokers. A small balcony overlooking the pool. Only 1 room and the shower room. Clean, tidy and they've sorted the hot water problem we had before with solar-heated water! Kettle and toaster now free! Still a pokey little kitchenette, but who really cooks on beach holidays, anyway? Eat at the San Borondon Italian restaurant just off the Music Square in the town centre. Well worth it! Great menu and fantastic staff! Despite our initial misgivings, we had a great time and would go back, but as I said, try the appartments. Staff 9/10 Cleanliness (room) 9/10 Cleanliness (pool) 10/10

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mbond132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Playa Park from 7th - 14th April on a self catering basis. I cant really fault the hotel it was basic but clean and pleasant. We initially booked a self catering studio which i later learned did not have a balcony. i emailed the hotel direct and requested an upgrade to include a balcony and was told this would incur a fee of 5 euros per night, we wanted a balcony so didnt mind this extra cost. On arrival we were given a 1 bed apartment which would usally incur a 10 euro per night charge but was only charged 5 euros per night as we did not request an apartment. The apartment was really nice and had a pool view and i think it would have been better then the studios, although we didnt actually see the studios. The bedroom area is just big enough as was the kitchen area (as we only made snacks) and the living area was really comfortable.The only fault with the hotel is that the walls are quite thin and we could hear the man next door snoring!!! The apartment was very clean and provided all the essential self catering utilities. No sign of any unwanted bugs at all.

The pool at the hotel is saltwater and this is the first time we have had a saltwater pool however it didnt really bother us much as the water wasnt too salty and didnt hurt your eyes, however the pool was very cold! there were plenty of sunbeds all of which seemed new. the pool area was queit and there was not many kids around dispite it being half term. i think familys tend to stay in the larger AI hotels.

As for nightlife we found this as quiet or as lively as you wanted it. We had a few mad nights on the beer in flicks which was good fun and also a few quiet nights with a nice meal and some live music afterwards. The hotel is about a 20 min walk from the harbour/strip but if you dont mind the walk everything is within walking distance.

We went on the catlanza trip which was a good trip but if you have to pay for both of you its way overpriced if you book through thomas Cook at 56 euros each! We were lucky enough to win a trip for one person so we only paid for the other person. Look around for the best prices for trips as thomas cook are expensive.

If its beaches you want then Olivia beach is where you need to head for. This is a bit too far to walk in the hot weather and a taxi from the rank just by Playa Park cost 4-5 euros each way but is well worth the trip as the beach is beautifull.

The evenings were a little chilly so defo take a cardigan just to be on the safe side. I took skirts and linen trousers but it wasnt really warm enough for skirts in the evenings and on a couple of the nights i was glad i took my cardigan.

We would defo go back to the island and would stay at the Play Park again, its a really good base.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tanworshiper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2010

Myself and 4 other friends shared 2 apartments at Playa Park for a week. The apartments looked new and were very clean. Very quiet, comfy beds, plenty of wardrobe space and a good size lounge with a television and dining room table. The kitchen had everything we needed too. There were two balconies to each apartment and we brought chairs from the other apartment onto one balcony so we could all eat together. There was a small gym which we didn't use but I think you just need to ask for a key to get in. The pool was perfect. Always really clean - one large pool, one baby pool and one pool with a slide. Other reviews have complained about it being freezing but we didn't think that at all! And there were always plenty of sun beds with shade if needs be. Internet access was available if you paid too. The restaurant and bar was cheap and cheerful, good food, nothing amazing but nice if you don't want anything fancy.

I have to say the maids (one in particular was especially good) were all really friendly and got anything you needed! They always did an amazing job leaving the apartments shiny! All the staff were really nice. The only thing I would say is DON'T leave the washing up until the next day or any food out as I have never seen so many ants. Not the fault of the hotel at all as they did everything they could but it wasn't nice coming back to that at 2 in the morning to clean up!

In a perfect location taking about 10/15 minutes to walk to the beach and the centre of town. You don't need a taxi but they're available if you're tired! Most of the clubs and bars are together - Flicks is one to go to for a laugh if you like karaoke! The sand dunes are also nearby and very beautiful. There is a lovely Italian place near the beach and quite a good range of other restaurants nearby. The nearest beach is lovely, not huge but big enough with sun beds etc. The little restaurants on the beach are yummy too - they do great ice cream! A great water park is nearby and a reasonable price for the day (Baku water park). It has an animal park too but more expensive for that. Plenty of touristy shops for souvenirs.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SenoritaLucia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2010

Just back from a week at at the Playa Park. We were pleased to be given a ground floor apartment even though we had booked a studio. Bedroom was a bit small & bathroom was in need of a refurb but was clean. Kitchen was fine & living area was spacious & looked like it had new furniture. The pool area & gardens were very spacious & pretty with beautiful flowering shrubs & trees. New blue mesh sunbeds had just been delivered, which were much comfier than the hard plastic ones. The pool bar was ok and had an extensive menu. We didn't eat in the restaurant. We found all the staff to be plesant and polite and a special thanks goes to Bob the receptionist who acted as our interpreter with the Guardia Civil when Ihad my bag stolen. Corralejo is about a 15 to 20 mins walk but nearby is the Campanario shopping centre, with bars & live music. We found the Playa Park a good base for a relaxing break.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Missy-moo-19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banchory, Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2010

We paid just over £200 per person for 10 nights flying from Glasgow with Thomas Cook, booked 10 days before we flew. We took our folding bikes, which were extremely useful as Corralejo town is a good 20 minute walk from the hotel. Corralejo is very cycle friendly which was great.

The pool area was attractive and well kept with a reasonable number of sun loungers, but there was a shortage of the ones with adjustable backs. Despite notices forbidding reserving sun loungers, they were reserved with towels and many were dragged into the terraces of the occupants.

The staff at reception were delightful and extremely helpful.

The studio apartment (ground floor) was spacious, but definitely in need of refurbishment. We had to deal with 2 cockroaches, but there was insect spray, so after the initial shock, dealt with them effectively.

The kitchen was better equipped than we'd anticipated, with kettle, toaster microwave, fridge with small freezer compartment, and 4 ring hotplate. The work surfaces were broken and burnt and definitely needed replacing.

We had one meal in the hotel, which was cheap, but very disappointing.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank paulandmeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2010

Just back from a 7 nite stay at the Playa Park Club.

To be honest wasn't sure what to expect. The apartments are 15 mins stroll to the centre of Corralejo. We were near a new shopping centre, not all the units taken but there are a few shops and a good supermarket. A few bars & restaurants and nightly music.

We had a studio on the 2nd floor basic but clean, bathroom needed a refurb and kitchette small, but ok for the week,,,had a kettle , toaster and microwave/grill and 2 hobs.. Pool area nice and enough beds and a nice pool side bar and restaurant. Corralejo is the best wee town in the Canaries ( we think) fab choice of restaurants try El Sombreo, Castaways and Amber ( look up the review for these retaurants on Trip advisor) Fab views of Los Lobus and Play Blanca as you walk in. Enough to do for a week, really relaxing place and would stay at the Play Park again. only one grip I wish the had more comfy sunbeds !!!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jojomillar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Corralejo hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Arena
Hotel Arena
#21 of 45 in Corralejo
1,779 reviews
0.5 mi away
Barcelo Corralejo Bay
Barcelo Corralejo Bay
#6 of 45 in Corralejo
4,774 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Arena Beach Fuerteventura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real
0.7 mi away
H10 Ocean Suites
H10 Ocean Suites
#9 of 45 in Corralejo
1,290 reviews
0.8 mi away
Avanti Hotel Boutique Fuerteventura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to smartline Playa Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about smartline Playa Park

Property: smartline Playa Park
Address: Calle Lanzarote 4 | Urb de Corralejo, La Oliva, 35660 Corralejo, La Oliva, Fuerteventura, Spain (Formerly Playa Park Club)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > La Oliva > Corralejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Corralejo
#12 Romantic Hotel in Corralejo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — smartline Playa Park 2*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The smartline Playa Park is located on the beautiful island Fuerteventura and is approximately 1,5 km away from the sandy beach. The city center is nearly 20 min. away from the smartline Playa Park. Moreover, the airport is around 40 km away from the hotel. In the restaurant of the smartline Playa Park you can find to each meal a fresh buffet. In the afternoon the hotel offers small snacks. At the pool bar you can enjoy fresh drinks with snacks. In the city center you can find many traditional restaurants and typical bars. The smartline Playa Park offers a gym which is inclusive. You can also play billiard, squash and tennis. Moreover, you have got the possibility to rent a bike at a local rent-shop to discover the island. In the evening you can enjoy the shows in the smartline Playa Park which are performed three days in the week. To receive a massage or use the sauna, you've got to pay a small fee. Moreover, besides the pool the smartline Playa Park offers a separate children pool and a playground. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your smartline Playa Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Park Club Hotel Corralejo
Playa Park Hotel
Playa Park Corralejo
Smartline Playa Park Fuerteventura/Corralejo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing