We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Resort”
Review of Oasis Duna Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Oasis Duna Hotel
Ranked #30 of 45 Hotels in Corralejo
Reviewed May 12, 2009

Me and my boyfriend stayed in this hotel from the 31st Jan for 1week, Got a really good late deal on the internet from Thomas Cook. When we arrived we were given directions to our room (was still hard to find it though) the resort was bigger than it looked! We did request a pool view unfortuantly we didnt get it our room was facing a road and didnt really have a view from the balcony either :-( Although its not the end of the world as you dont want to spend much time in your room.
The rooms were spacious and cleaned everyday, had the essientails kettle, 2 hobs etc,
The pool area was clean and very spacious always plenty of sun loungers as we went in early Feb though was a bit windy but still nice enough to sunbathe. went home with a tan so what more can you ask?!
We did have a couple of days when it did rain, (one afternoon in particular where it was thrashing it down and upto your ankles!, again it was only Feb though) apart from the odd few rainfalls we had a lovely time.
We went self catering but did eat in the pool side snack bar once which was nice and reasonably priced.
Would definatley recommentd Tony Romas restaurant which is just about 2 mins away from the resort gorgeous food there, well worth the price!!
The location was good everything was along the main strip less than a couple of mins away, huge Netto supermarket which is again reasonably priced.
Lots of lovely restaurants and bars.
The waterpark is directly opposite the resort although again because it was Feb it was closed but very goog location for families in high season.
The harbour was lovely and did have some nice little restaurants there really nice and peaceful in the evenings.
We also went on the 5* Catlanza which i think was 50euros each but well worth it what a great day out it included all drinks fresh fruit and your lunch.Also got to go on the jet ski again included in the price!!! (it didnt rain that day thankfully it was a lovely day bit nippy on the way back though so take a jumper or jacket)
We did walk to the sand dunes once which is a good hour or so away but they were lovely. (there isnt any shops or anything there so we took a picnic) it was a lovely day.
The entertainment was nothing to shout about although it wasnt really holiday season.
All in all i thought it was a lovely resort, however not sure i'd return there, as a couple i imagine it would get very busy in the holiday seasons (school holidays etc) as there are over 700 rooms or something like that so i reckon it would get very busy especially with the price its a bargain.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam-Vicky-Carol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,416)
There are newer reviews for Oasis Duna Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,803 - 1,809 of 2,416 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2009

I stayed here half board as a single traveller for 10 days in Nov 08. The hotel was really nice, huge pools and as the hotel wasn't very full there were load of empty sunbeds by the pool as you will see from my photos. The water was VERY cold but always is in the Canaries at this time of year, the odd thing was that the pools were salt water which took a bit of getting used to. Food was good and sufficient choice each morning/evening. The room I was in was very spacious, I was given a two bedroom apartment even though I was travelling alone! Very clean, nice balcony. Hotel is in a great location, very central for shops, restaurants beaches etc but just off the main street so there is no noise.

The entertainment was really poor - the reps put on shows every night singing and dancing but some of them really should not be doing that as they could not sing in tune, it was embarrasing. They were very hard working all day and then doing the show at night so I am not complaining, it was just that the team was too small and they were expected to do everythin themselves. The bar/stage/entertainment area is outside but it was cold at night so you have to be prepared to wear your coat and huddle up into it! I dont know if it was the cold nights or the terrible singing that put people off, but most nights there were about 6 - 10 people in the audience! There was also a mini-disco for the little ones early in he evening.

The water park was closed at this time of year but it is right opposite the hotel so would be good in summer if you were taking kids.

There is a lovely shopping centre close to the hotel, turn left out of the gate and walk along the road for a couple of hundred yards. The Christmas lights were switched on whilst I was there and they had live music, a fireworks display and loads of things going on. There are loads of great shops there and a little market, much nicer shops than on the main street and a nicer, smaller market than the main sunday market by the water park. The bus stop for the sand dunes/flag beach is a bit further on from the shopping centre. There is an annual kite flying festival on the flag beach in early November, I just missed it but I saw some photos and it looked amazing.

Good value for money and lovely place to stay.


The

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SnoopyFan53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2009

Overall would recommend these apartments, lovely pool area, no problem getting a sun bed and went over the easter holidays. Weather was mixed but consistently windy, and it was cold at night. Entertainment was good during the day kept my 11 year old occupied, can't comment on the evening. The food in the hotel was very good and I consider myself to be a really fussy eater, they had a chinese, italian and mexican night during our stay, there was always loads of choices and the food was always hot, if it wasn't hot enough there was a microwave. Breakfast again was very good with fresh pancakes and fried eggs, bacon, beans etc and the uncut fresh bread was a must!! We will be going back and will stay half board again.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChesterfieldCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2009

Having been to Fuerteventura and Correlejo before I was really looking forward to this trip. Have to say I was disappointed with Oasis Duna. Our patio didn't get a single ray of sunshine all day long.
The entertainment reps did my head in to be honest. Not my scene at all...found it a real pain to be asked every 5 minutes if I wanted to play water volleyball or something as I sat by the pool. They were pleasant enough and very enthusiastic but just not my cup of tea.
The pool itself was peeling away at the bottom and looked like it needed a complete makeover.
The food at the pool bar was disgusting, and the pizza place wasn't much better.

Compared to other places I've stayed I found the apt itself very small. On our last night we suddenly found ourselves infested with cockroaches in the apt and on the patio....I nearly lost my life!!

It was grand. I wouldn't rave about it and I wouldn't recommend it to any of my friends.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank and_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2009

Just had a restful week at this hotel. By far the biggest we have stayed in as we tend to go for much smaller complexes. The accommodation was basic but as we were half board it had all we needed. A bit of paint and DIY wouldn't have gone amiss but nothing major was needed. We were in the outermost ring of apartments which was fine as it was quiet, and were on the top floor so the balcony was private. I don't think i would have liked a ground floor place paticularly facing the main road. Upstairs was great.
The food in the restaurant was first class. plenty of choice even if you were a fussy eater. The waiting staff were very friendly even when they were run off their feet on the busy changeover day. More staff on those days would be helpful to their overworkied staff.
No problem with getting sunbeds, perhaps because it was the week before Easter. The place was filling up as we were leaving. Beautiful pool surroundings, well laid out. Not normally a fan of on-site entertainers but the crew here were fun and not really intrusive. Afternoon quizzes while sunning yourself were a diversion.

All in all we loved the Oasis Duna and would certainly go back.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terrinphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2009

We decided to get some sun, and chose Fuerteventura, as we had never been there before. Thomas Cook had the Oasis Dunas apartments available on a self catering and half board basis. The half board basis was £20 each more expensive, so we thought we have got to give this a go, with the exchange rate being as bad as it is. It was a decision well made, as the food both at breakfast and dinner was really good.
After checking in at Reception we were given our room key and shown on the map where to go.....We were in B block which is a long way from Reception, and difficult to find (if anyone from Thomas Cook reads theses reviews - it would be a great idea if you could organise members of your team to show guests to their apartment as it is confusing!!!) The apartment was very basic but extremely clean, normally we wash all the cutlery etc before use, but this was gleaming. The housekeeper also gave us 2 mosquito repellant plug ins - though I must say we didn't get 1 bite the whole holiday, and didn't actually see a mosquito - or a cockroach! The pool area was beautiful, with sunbeds always available. If you are self catering be warned, the food to buy in the supermarkets - or should i say Netto (who seem to own every supermarket going) is expensive. We always self cater and are so glad we chose not to this year, food and wine and drinks prices seem to have doubled - it's crazy. You were talking similar prices to uk for alcohol, both in the bars and at the shops. We did however find a gorgeous sparkling wine, for sale in the hotels shop for around 2.50 called Dubois, so that was what we drank the whole week, keeping our fridge well stocked! Also the local beer Tropical is gorgeous. As you turn left out of the apartment block and head toward the nearest shopping complex, and Netto, there is a bar close to a fountain, well the Tropical beer there is the best, you get an iced glass, and believe me that tastes like heaven. The weather was beautiful, getting to 26'c each day, but the wind is chilly, at this time of year you will need to take a lightweight jacket for mornig and evening... Oh for all you who take their laptops with them there is free wireless connection in Reception, who will give you their password to access. Oh and also the rooms are not cleaned every day so remember to hang your towels on the bacony to get dry!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank juliebabes33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2009

After being at this complex previously I thought it would be a pleasant return to familar ground with the resort of Corralejo being so handy and relaxing. I was to be bitterly disappointed, partly because of the accomodation but mainly down to the tour operators lack of interest in their customers.

The hotel externally, ie the garden areas and paths, are all fine and maintained. The pool is in need of a major lick of paint to clean it's appearance up, as it is starting to look shabby. Reception and the little store aren't too bad either. In fact all the areas you don't really use are fine.

When it comes down to the apartments that's when it gets worse. I had alot of issues ranging from poor housekeeping to a rusty old fridge that worked part of the time, cutlery that you wouldn't want to feed the dog with, wiring exposed behind the bed, TV and living room and a light fitting above the bed hanging off. Paint peeling off the ceiling around the extremely small bathroom and various other annoyances.

With Thomas Cook being the Tour Operator I approached the rep on my first day only to get the brush off that they could do nothing for us at that moment and they would see what they could do!!! Suffice to say that a couple of days later when we met up again I was told that as 'I DIDN'T COME BACK TO HIM, TO REMIND HIM about it that there was nothing else he could do'. Incidently there were 3 other families arriving the same day who also complained about their accomodation. Don't know how that turned out for them.

The resort of Corralejo is great and if your are intending on going there you will have a good relaxing time. Go to Flag beach rather than the public beach in the resort, as the residents walk their dogs along there - no more needs said. Look out for the Rock Cafe and the Old Square with the majority of the Restaurants being good. There are a few 'salesmen' on the road but they are not pushy.

Take a drive around the island, you can do it all in a day if not two.

As a summary there are better hotels and apartments in the resort and you should certainly go with one of them. Finally try to book someone else rather than Thomas Cook, if they haven't monopolised the resort.

Enjoy !!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveCoDown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Corralejo hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel  Dunas Club
Hotel Dunas Club
#18 of 45 in Corralejo
1,161 reviews
0.9 mi away
Surfing Colors Apartments
Surfing Colors Apartments
#15 of 45 in Corralejo
990 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oasis Village
Oasis Village
#28 of 45 in Corralejo
2,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Bristol Playa
0.6 mi away
Hotel Arena
Hotel Arena
#23 of 45 in Corralejo
1,807 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Ananda Resort Fuerteventura Hotel Mirador de Lobos Golf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oasis Duna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oasis Duna Hotel

Address: Avda. Maxorata 2, 35660 Corralejo, La Oliva, Fuerteventura, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > La Oliva > Corralejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 45 Hotels in Corralejo
Price Range: $61 - $576 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oasis Duna Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oasis Duna apartments - Hotel is located in Corralejo (Fuerteventura). With an extension of 60.000m2, is a large tropical garden with a massive pool area and an expansive sun terrace. The large common areas with bars, restaurants, recreation areas, theater and beautiful gardens are ideal for relaxing and enjoying the holidays. The complex has 340 apartments, all equipped with kitchennette and bathroom, as well as furnished balcony or terrace. Its location is ideal, located just 50m from the main street and 900m from Corralejo beach. The Natural Park of the Dunes of Corralejo is located at 2km and the airport at 38km. It also has other touristic attractions around it, such as ACUA water park at 200m, El Campanario Shopping Center and Las Plameras Shopping Center, wich are 400m away. The one and two bedroom apartments, and especially the children's pools and slides, make this complex an ideal place to spend the holidays with your family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Idiso Digital, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Oasis Duna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fuerteventura Oasis Dunas
Oasis Duna Corralejo
Hotel Oasis Duna
Dunas Fuerteventura Oasis
Oasis Dunas Fuerteventura
Oasis Duna Hotel Fuerteventura/Corralejo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing